Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 990
 

4 stars
Based on 55 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

40 reviews of this school


Fordham Preparatory School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
My son spent a miserable few years at the Prep till we pulled him out. Very negative and demoralizing environment. Many of the teachers and some administrators were quite officious , even mean. He is on the honor roll elsewhere. Glad for his sake that we made a change.

Fordham Preparatory School 4

Posted January 12, 2013
- a community member
As an alum from the early 90's I still look back on my Prep experience as hugely influential in my personal and professional life. The environment is outstanding and condusive to learning and developing responsible, respectful young men. Definitely plan on sending my sons there. Do I wish the tuition was less? Of course. I see some negative comments are aimed at facilities. My priorities would be to retain well-compensated faculty and staff. I'm less concerned about paint jobs and new carpeting.


Fordham Preparatory School 5

Posted April 17, 2012
- a parent
Worth every penny and then some. We don't regret sending our son and he is very happy with his experience. We've found the faculty to be very caring and engaging. The work is rigorous, without a doubt, but if you're not up for the challenge don't enroll here. There's something for everyone, not just jocks or brainiacs. I can't say enough positive things about the school.

Fordham Preparatory School 1

Posted March 21, 2012
- a student
If you value your son's education and your MONEY, you will NOT send your son to Fordham Prep. The facilities are dirty. The faculty can vary from useless to COMPLETELY useless to just plain mean and cruel. Think it will get your son into a good college? Well if you consider paying 17 grand a year to get your son into U of Scranton and Loyola, colleges public school kids get into with ease, than I guess its worth it. Sports teams are a joke. Oh, and don't forget the 70 hour service requirement. I've heard of criminals getting less hours for a sentence than this project (not to mention if you don't finish it, you don't graduate). All in all I hated this school and there is no way I would ever send my son here. Trust me, send him to a school like Riverdale Country School, Fieldston, or some boarding school. If your going to pay for school, than at least make it count, or just send him to public school. You can read all the other reviews of parents just bragging about how good the school is to make themselves feel better about wasting 17 grand a year, or you can take my advice, from someone who actually went through the misery of Fordham Prep, and CHOOSE ANOTHER HIGH SCHOOL.

Fordham Preparatory School 1

Posted March 08, 2012
- a community member
I graduated from Fordham Prep over a decade ago. Despite my expectations and perseverance, I regret to say going there was the worst 4 years of my life. Although the school was rigorous, the education and counseling I received was superficial. Overloading students with work and information without pointing out meaningful patterns is not my idea of a good education. Perhaps Fordham Prep is better now, but based on my experience, the school is overrated. But just don t take my word for it. Compared to other schools, including some whose tuition is less, Fordham Prep s list of famous alumni is unimpressive. For example, Cardinal Hayes can claim a NASA Astronaut and Super Bowl Champion (who plays for Pittsburg). Fordham Prep can make no such claim. Personally, I wished I had gone to Bronx Science or Brooklyn Tech. And this admission is a profoundly sad comment for me to have to make.


Fordham Preparatory School 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a student
I attended the Prep, and took all honors and AP level coursework, including 4 years of Ancient Greek and 2 years of German. The faculty and staff treat the students incredibly well. I keep in contact with more than a few former teachers to this day. The academics are incredibly strong. After graduating from college (Fordham College at Rose Hill), and looking back on my education, I realized that the standout years for personal growth and true depth of educational experience were the years I spent at Fordham Prep. The commitment to growth in their students that every teacher brought to the classroom was amazing. Many teachers were (and still are) heavily involved in the extracurricular activities and sports as well. The skills that I developed while at the Prep had me head and shoulders above many of my peers at Fordham University. In particular, my critical reading and writing skills were honed to a significant degree by the many papers that I had to write throughout the year in most of my classes (including for math classes!). I am not exaggerating when I say that my 4 years at the Prep were among the best of my entire life, and that it was a truly amazing experience.

Fordham Preparatory School 4

Posted June 30, 2011
- a community member
I attened the university, but the prep school was on campus, and I interacted with the studends on several occasions. They seemed to be bright and well taught and interested in the world.

Fordham Preparatory School 5

Posted October 22, 2010
- a student
Academics comparable to "ivy"prep school;;location on university campus a huge plus,;religion not emphasized,making non Catholics comfortable;,debate, theater and sports the best at this level;somewhat immature discipline policy;prepared me well to compete at Vanderbilt University;made great friends at the Prep.Would do it again.


Fordham Preparatory School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are amazing! My son actually likes going to school!! He never did before!

Fordham Preparatory School 5

Posted June 24, 2010
- a community member
Fordham Preparatory School has a long tradition of preparing young men for college. The school is located on the picturesque Fordham University Campus and offers students some of the benefits of the University at young age. The curriculum is comprehensive and offers students a wide variety of honors classes as well as advanced classes (some of which offer college credit while in high school). Fordham is a wonderful school and will undoubtedly prepare each student for college and beyond.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fordham Preparatory School
441 E Fordham Rd, Bronx, NY  10458
(718) 367-7500
Last modified Fordham Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Fordham Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top