Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 390

Public | 6-8 | 430 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2012

Our son entered this school half way into the school year in 2010. It's tough enough to leave your home but having to change schools, it was a double whammy for him. The schools staff members were supportive, understanding and helpful through the entire transition. No matter how long it took our son to adjust into his new school environment and make new friends, the school support was there. Well it s been almost two years since that transition and he is doing great. Academically he is getting high grades. The teachers are dedicated and complaisant towards teacher/parent communication, which we feel, is imperative when it comes to being an active parent in our child s education. How many parents can say that their child s teacher(s) is disposed to communicate frequently with parents? There are also plenty of activities during school and after school to keep children stimulated and focused, from sports, to games, to the arts. It is a well rounded out school and environment. It gets two thumbs up from us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

Well Everyone is entitle to there opinion on M.S 390 in the Bronx. My opinion is the M.S 390x is an excellent middle school. All school have there ups and downs, But with that said we also have very supporting staff. I have four children and three of them choose this middle school and they graduated for M.S 390 to H.S with flying colors. We as parent have to remember that schooling begins at home.M.S 390x Teacher, Staff and Pricipal are understanding and caring people when a problem arising they handle it with Professionalism. M.S 390x Has a Parent Association, Parent Coordinator and does encourage parent participation. I am a parent volunteer for the pass few years and the doors are open to all parents. I recommend this school to any Parents looking for a middle school for their child. thumbs up M.S 390x Sincerely Elba
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

Im in 8th grade and i used to not really like this school but now that im in 8th grade everything is changing! this school is getting WAY better and the chorus is phenomenal and so is the band. the basket ball team is great as well. They have games against other schools. they even have a volly ball team and a bowling team and baseball. if it was up to me in 5th grade i would not choose to go to this school but now i believe i would have this school in my top 2 for this area. Also, once you get to 8th grade you have the option of taking 2 regents classes and taking the test in June so you wont have to take it in 9th grade. they also have specialized high school prep course starting at 7th grade *(it's optional)* I love this school and M.S. 331 right down the block ! :)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 3, 2009

This school is the Best, Best teachers Ever, Great after School program... I love It.


Posted October 18, 2007

I am in this school it's not a bad school and it has great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2007

I was a student of (P.S.26)M.S.390 from grades K-8th. My experience there I must say was a beautiful one.The academics were great, the staff treated the students like family, and the music program there helped with the skills we as students and growing adults need.Now that I am a graduating senior of High school and future college student I am glad to see that my former school is doing well and I am glad to say that I do Plan to give back in the future. -Articia Hendricks
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2005

I was a former student at M.S.390 and I think the school is a great schools. It has really improved over the nine years I was there. It is a great school. I would think it will be a great school to send your kids to every morning. The work that you do is advance (you learn many things before you get to high school) so your child will be prepared for high school and won't have to worry about a thing at all. I hope this school keeps up the good work and I wish them luck in everything that they do!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2004

I'm not a parent but I'm a student at this school. I don't like that we have to wear uniforms but I will wear it just because I like this school and teachers like to teach and I have fun learning yea and the principal is nice if ypu are nice to him. So yea, it's a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2004

M.S.390 is a wonderful school! They have a great staff that cares about the children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 20, 2004

This is a great school. I spend my 9 year at this school. It is safe and its a nice enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

154 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
18%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 83% 23%
Black 1 17% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 233%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 13%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 720 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents32191%
Students37198%
Teachers2882%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ROBERT MERCEDES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1930 Andrews Ave
Bronx, NY 10453
Phone: (718) 583-5501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Is 232
Bronx, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT