Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I HATE THIS SCHOOL THEY TREAT YOU LIKE A CRIMANL, YOU ARE NOT ALOUD TO GO UPSTAIRS WITH YOUR CHILD!

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 1

Posted July 21, 2011
- a community member
This school is horrible , staff are rude , parentss are not allowed in the building at all , i used to be a student at P.S 199x & i hated it ... there was a fight basicually every single day , my teacher was Mrs.Bolt - omg shee super strict & mean , i loved to leave this school & if you are reading this and planning to go to thiss school goodluuck because its going to be onr of the horrible yearss of your lifee


Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 2

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
Some of he staff are rude and parents are disrespected and not allowed in the building under the order of the leadership. The school main entrance door is always locked at 2:00 you have to bang on the door just to receicve assistance. If you check the history on the students perforance level it took this school almost five years to get the students grades to go up which by the way really is'nt much. Seems to me we need different academic programs that will work and change the leadership. You would think that the DOE would have changed leadership long time ago with these grades.

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 1

Posted February 21, 2010
- a teacher
This school is not for me. The school has been on a list of high need schools and in corrective action for awhile now, but yet it still exists and scores well on exams. The teachers seem scared of what will happen to them if they do not do what is told of them (right, wrong or indifferent). Unfortunately, this is a direct reflection the turnover rate of experienced teachers to inexperienced. Ironically, PS 199x is called The Shakespeare School. So its only appropriate that I end this review with a quote by William Shakespeare Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none .

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 1

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
The staff is very rude. To top it off the teacher wasn't introduced and neither was the school principal. When I asked for the teacher she was just pointed out. Not what I expected at all.

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 0
no rating

Posted November 23, 2008
- a community member
I think this school is horrible actually...if you have a talented and gifted student don't send them. Teachers are forced to spend the day disciplining as opposed to teaching. It's such a waste...


Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 3

Posted November 21, 2005
- a staff
Academics are pushed heavily in this school (especially reading, writing, and math), but I feel that the leadership and management from above is what needs improvement. This school posses many young, ambitious, and qualified teachers, who have a true love for teaching and the children that they teach. Administration works very hard, but is often disorganized and too focused on the cosmetics (bulletin boards, classroom appearance, and paperwork) of the school and fail to put enough attention towards a more balanced education. They work hard, but not smart. Administration also lacks the ability to build a warm environment, which is a major cause of low teacher moral and negative views towards the school in general. I feel the most crucial way to improve this school is threw more parent involvement. P.S. 199x does not promote parent involvement, so it is up to parents to get involved.

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School 1

Posted January 20, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 199 The Shakespeare School
1449 Shakespeare Avenue, Bronx, NY  10452
(718) 681-7172
Last modified Ps 199 The Shakespeare School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 199 The Shakespeare School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top