Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is now completing 3rd grade. She has been enrolled here since PreK, and I must say this school is a gem! The teachers are well equipped to provide remediation to struggling students, and help push those students who are already above grade level. Most classes have a few D75/ PS 10 students included in the classes which is great, as it promotes respect and tolerance from an early age. As no school is perfect, I do wish this school would engage in more grant writing, because there are TONS of organizations that could develop a strong music and arts program in this school. From my observation, many students are interested and talented in these areas, but the school does not offer a program to help students develop these skills. I would (and do!) highly recommend this school to others seeking a solid, public school education for their children. Of course, it would be great if this school went to 8th grade, but it seems like the middle school which shares the building may be comparable to the level of education of this school.

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
Ps 304 is not just a school it is a home for the teachers and students who attend there. The teachers are all highly dedicated and educated in their field. They have all of the students best interest in mind. They consistently go above and beyond their job descriptions. I would be honored and privileged to send my own child to PS 304. The principal is the best man to work for and a friend to all that walk through his school doors.


Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Pros: PS 304 is a stand-out school where nearly all educators/administrators/families work significantly beyond the call of duty to ensure that all of our children are reaching their potential. It is a safe place where children enjoy attending school everyday, as evidenced by the great attendance rate, parental involvement, cluster program, & multicultural performances, and co-curricular programs. Stellar teachers email parents and often celebrate student accomplishment. Cons: It lacks in racial diversity, with the majority of students stemming from White-American, or Latino backgrounds. There is also a mild, competitive sub-culture evidenced by Student of the Month, class to class competitions, Color Guard & School Safety Squad selections, Science Fair winners, etc. This is in striking contrast to the more progressive, teaching methodologies employed. More school attention to student effort, community-building, & inclusiveness is needed. The Cons in no way sway me away from the conviction that PS 304 children are receiving the highest quality of public education available in the Bronx. I'd highly recommend PS 304 to other families, & will be sad to see my child graduate one day.

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school and the staff goes above and beyond. Pre-K through 5th grade has been a wonderful experience

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
I am so proud to have my child attend one of the best elementary schools around! Everyone at the school works so hard to make each child successful, and students still walk throughout the building with smiles. It is a pleasure and an honor to have this amazing school in the wonderful, family community of Throggs Neck!!


Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
This is a fantastic school all-around. The teachers are true professionals and care about children and families. As a parent I cannot ask for more. They are given a foundation to succeed and also to be young, respectful citizens . I have a 5th grader and a 2nd grader and our family appreciates all the hardwork by the principal,admin staff, coordinator and teachers. It really is a privilege to have my kids enrolled here.

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 4

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
PS 304 is a terrific school and I disagree with the post from Oct. below, especially when it's written with grammatical errors and consists of speaking poorly about good people. A school is what you make of it. Nothing good comes out of complaining. The school consists of teachers who are truly dedicated, an active parent community and a principal who has dedicated many years of hard work. Sure, no school is perfect, but 304 is a pretty darn good one.

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 2

Posted October 23, 2013
- a community member
Avoid Mrs Ms. flores she is the worst teacher i have ever come across. Avoid Mrs blackmon and the fat teacher in 1st grade all she does is tell cause she cannot move. mrs parchen and all of the other teachers are pretty awesome. Principal just picking up a check. No real involvement. Any issues presented to him are downplayed.. Overall good school... What out for the teachers mentioned


Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
P.S 304 this is a great school my daughter attends there she loves it she is in pre-k her teacher is ms. Vacca can't complain.

Ps 304 Early Childhood School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
PS 304 is an excellent school thus far. My daughter has attended the school for the past two years and going into the 1st grade reading on a 2nd grade level and currently doing math and workbooks on a 2nd grade level as well. I couldn't be more pleased with the outcome and look forward to seeing what is to come next. Teachers thus far A plus....

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 304 Early Childhood School
2750 Lafayette Ave, Bronx, NY  10465
(718) 822-5307
Last modified Ps 304 Early Childhood School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 304 Early Childhood School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews.