Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bronx High School for Medical Science 1

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
I've graduated from this school and I've gotten the opportunity to go off to college; just realize that the school had very little intention of helping the students succeed. Everything was a business transaction, the better students were able to complete a multiple choice test the more money came in. Unfortunately the students were not pushed to learn other than regurgitate facts. The students already have many disadvantages due to their backgrounds (race, economic and even gender) and this school deprives them of learning and encouraged rude behavior including bullying. I was naive and did not even notice that the principal and staff buillied me; the way they carried themselves and the things they said to me made me feel like not going to school. I remember going in and leaving without learning and going home to tell my parents that I learned material so they did not worry. I am embarrassed to learn that the school is still operating much like the way it used to when I was there, I actually thought that things would have changed since I graduated.

Bronx High School for Medical Science
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 10, 2016
- a community member
There are few teachers in the school that know the system is terrible. Fortunately for me I was able to have conversations with them and actually learn. Most are just there to make sure you are able to memorize information. Some of the teachers are also teachers there because they knew the principal outside of the school. Those teachers who know that this system doesn't work have been trying to teach in alternate forms but administration just wants numbers which is frustrating for the teachers and students.


Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted November 11, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of this school I can honestly say that this school isn't a school for students who do not want to pursue the medical field. But if you are forced to go because of your parents because of the beautiful three year advanced program it makes those three years a living hell. No classes that YOU want to take , you have no say in which electives you want. Can not come out of class , only for gym lunch and lab. Cannot say anything about this because then you would be considered ignorant and disrespectful. No extra curriculum activities in which every other school has excluding the one who just got integrated in the building. No ways to fund raise , no ways to have that freedom that you need to have for the students could have a pleasant high school life. No way for the students to be able to say I enjoyed these years in HSMS. On the good side their are very good teachers , and very good staff members as well. But overall I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 1

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
I this is dirty and uncared for and the teachers are very disrespectful and uncooperative

Bronx High School for Medical Science 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
I could n ot be happier with the quality of work the teacher provide to the students. The administrators are very involved with the staff as well as the parents and students. The improvement I have seen in my child has been unbelievable. I see how well they prepare the younger children for their transition to High School and am surprised at how high the graduation rate is knowing that this was once the Taft High School building.


Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
Extracurricular activities, there are none. My daughter has been in this school for 3 years and it's chaos. Not much to add but I have been trying to relocate my daughter to another school for quite a while. A lot of promises from the Principle and no action regarding more programs for the children. School location, it's not safe. Medical education, not much in that factor.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted February 13, 2007
- a student
Medical Science is a school that does not stand up to its name. Also the surroundings aren't so great. All students do is stay in class all day except for gym,lunch, and laboratory. The school barely allows students to go outside in the big baseball field. Honors class is a special class for students with high marks. Yet this wouldn't be necessary if the students were well behaved. The selection criteria should be better for new-coming students. Make a personal test or make the level for students 3-4 in the city tests. The school doesn't give freedom, such as any trips to museums. It rarely occurs. I hope this school changes for everyone's benefit.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 3

Posted January 31, 2007
- a student
i graduated from medical science but i've been in about six schools all my life. i would say medical science came second to last. it doesn't't provide any extracurricular activities, and the few ones provided are given to certain people they prefer to call the 'honors class'. so what happens to the rest of the student. I like medical science. it has nice teachers who cares about the students, but am all against the whole principle of ' HONORS CLASS'.


Bronx High School for Medical Science 5

Posted January 18, 2007
- a student
This is the best high school in the bronx.I graduated from the first class of this great school.The teachers are friendly and do their jod.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 1

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
There is nothing medical science about medical sciences. The only thing that reflects medical science is the scrubs that the students wear. Students are controlled by staying in the classroom to cause less chaos in the hallways. Bottom line is the curriculum does not reflect the name of the school. It should be renamed as the high school for general education.

Nearby schools

Bronx High School for Medical Science
240 East 172nd Street, Bronx, NY  10457
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (718) 410-4040
Last modified Bronx High School for Medical Science is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top