Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public district
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 468
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted November 11, 2012
- a community member
As a former student of this school I can honestly say that this school isn't a school for students who do not want to pursue the medical field. But if you are forced to go because of your parents because of the beautiful three year advanced program it makes those three years a living hell. No classes that YOU want to take , you have no say in which electives you want. Can not come out of class , only for gym lunch and lab. Cannot say anything about this because then you would be considered ignorant and disrespectful. No extra curriculum activities in which every other school has excluding the one who just got integrated in the building. No ways to fund raise , no ways to have that freedom that you need to have for the students could have a pleasant high school life. No way for the students to be able to say I enjoyed these years in HSMS. On the good side their are very good teachers , and very good staff members as well. But overall I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 1

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
I this is dirty and uncared for and the teachers are very disrespectful and uncooperative


Bronx High School for Medical Science 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a parent
I could n ot be happier with the quality of work the teacher provide to the students. The administrators are very involved with the staff as well as the parents and students. The improvement I have seen in my child has been unbelievable. I see how well they prepare the younger children for their transition to High School and am surprised at how high the graduation rate is knowing that this was once the Taft High School building.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted February 15, 2007
- a parent
Extracurricular activities, there are none. My daughter has been in this school for 3 years and it's chaos. Not much to add but I have been trying to relocate my daughter to another school for quite a while. A lot of promises from the Principle and no action regarding more programs for the children. School location, it's not safe. Medical education, not much in that factor.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 2

Posted February 13, 2007
- a student
Medical Science is a school that does not stand up to its name. Also the surroundings aren't so great. All students do is stay in class all day except for gym,lunch, and laboratory. The school barely allows students to go outside in the big baseball field. Honors class is a special class for students with high marks. Yet this wouldn't be necessary if the students were well behaved. The selection criteria should be better for new-coming students. Make a personal test or make the level for students 3-4 in the city tests. The school doesn't give freedom, such as any trips to museums. It rarely occurs. I hope this school changes for everyone's benefit.


Bronx High School for Medical Science 3

Posted January 31, 2007
- a student
i graduated from medical science but i've been in about six schools all my life. i would say medical science came second to last. it doesn't't provide any extracurricular activities, and the few ones provided are given to certain people they prefer to call the 'honors class'. so what happens to the rest of the student. I like medical science. it has nice teachers who cares about the students, but am all against the whole principle of ' HONORS CLASS'.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 5

Posted January 18, 2007
- a student
This is the best high school in the bronx.I graduated from the first class of this great school.The teachers are friendly and do their jod.

Bronx High School for Medical Science 1

Posted May 07, 2006
- a parent
There is nothing medical science about medical sciences. The only thing that reflects medical science is the scrubs that the students wear. Students are controlled by staying in the classroom to cause less chaos in the hallways. Bottom line is the curriculum does not reflect the name of the school. It should be renamed as the high school for general education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bronx High School for Medical Science
240 East 172nd Street, Bronx, NY  10457
(718) 410-4040
Last modified Bronx High School for Medical Science is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bronx High School for Medical Science Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top