Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

The Bronx Guild

Public | 9-12 | 360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2013

My grandson is in the 10th grade and I am not happy with his success so far. I was surprised that the school tells the kids to find an internship but then does not give them any direction or suggestions! They are left to roam the streets on their own trying to find something. This has not worked for my grandson .He has too much free time on his hands!!! and not enough supervision. His grades ars suffering becasue he does not want to be in class after being out for a few days. This school is not for my grandson. He needs structure, direction, and discipline. I need to transfer him ASAP! Parents, please give me advice on how to do this. I would like to thank his group leader Bob very much for all f his work and effort with my grandson. Bob has gone over and above his responsibilitiesas a teacher, by calling every week, stopping by the house. He seems genuinely concerned for my grandson and his school work. Unfortunately, I feel I must transfer my grandson as soon as possible. IF there is any chance of him going to college/junior college, he needs more concentrated instruction on his work. He only has 2 years to "catch" up to the other "college ready"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

As a former student of this school I have to say this is one of the best school I've ever been to. The teachers have changed I've noticed since I have been there but this school was beyond what I had expected. I was transferred from a regular school to Bronx guild and it couldn't have been any better of a God send. I started doing really good the teachers were so patient with me and the issues I had. Very understanding. The school became like a family to me. All the teachers and staff were very supporting during my time and I honestly believe that I wouldn't have gotten as far as I did or graduate without there support. When a school this good has helped someone who had as much issues as I did, and I had a learning disability that left me feeling very frustrated especially in math. this school was ran they way a school should be ran. The principal was great which made this good as good as it is.


Posted June 23, 2011

I Attend this school and as a student yes I have bonded with my crew leader I do love the freedom and Independence but my problem is that there's too much freedom. We earn our grades very easily its not that hard to catch up if your behind I also don't learn the basic things other high school students do, we are very behind in education and when it comes to regents they don't teach us the things we need they decide to do it last mintute I love my classmates and crew leader believe me but I seriously think this school needs to work more on the education us students are getting because most of us are very lost.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2009

I thnak God that my daugther chose to go to this school. I honestly feel that if she would have went to another school she would have probably been lost in the sytem. The classes are very intimate, the teachers are very professional (Stacy Lynn McCoy) when my daugther started in the 9th grade she called and came over to my house the 1st month that my daugther attended, gave me her cell #, and e-mail address. My daugther is in the 11th grade now and she is still with the same crew leader and the communication between her and I concerning my childs education is excellent!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

There are positive and negative responses, regarding the school. I personally believe that each individual student feel a sense of independence and accomplishment, while attending their internships and keeping up with their assigned task from their Crew Leaders. Although I always felt my daughter would accomplish some goals in life, she has certainly benefited from the support she has received from her mentors...Her Crew Leader 'Noel', surpasses the norm of what a Leader truly is..I appreciate her expertise, basically all the staff members are wonderful..Thank you, from a Mom M. Poventud
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

This a truly a model school and program. From the Principal straight to the school aids. All are caring, concerned, understanding professionals. Bronx Guild HS should be the prototype for HS's of the future. Staff members are visionaries of alternative education. Their program encompasses education and experience, teaching their students how the real world works and allowing them to experience it for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
60%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students36%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population36%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

English

All Students47%
Female52%
Male42%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities23%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%

Geometry

All Students10%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population10%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English10%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Global History and Geography

All Students46%
Female46%
Male45%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities19%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%

Integrated Algebra

All Students29%
Female30%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities10%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%

Living Environment

All Students45%
Female34%
Male58%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities23%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students52%
Female57%
Male48%
African American34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities28%
General population59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 61% 23%
Black 2 34% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 270%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 35%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 17%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 13%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 373 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9535%
Students25491%
Teachers24100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:25 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Sam Decker
Fax number
  • (718) 597-1371

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - BX22, BX27, BX36, BX39, BX5
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1980 Lafayette Avenue
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 597-1587

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT