Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 365
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Raymond Academy For Girls 2

Posted June 02, 2015
- a community member
I don't recommend St Ray's Girls. its great if you want to throw money away. the fees are ridiculous. they are also one of the only catholic schools that don't use tuition managing company such as FACTS tuition. there is major favoritism in regards to scholarships, sports and academics. most students do well and are not recognized. they are not open to new ideas and interests. as stated in another review, teachers and staff can be mean and demeaning. there are fines and detention for lateness. your child will most likely have to go to summer school as you pay for that also. the seniors guidance counselor is awesome, but the one for other grades will suggest to apply to community colleges and offers no knowledge or assistance. I had to beg my daughter to attend graduation where she had to have her grad shoes approved prior to the ceremony

St Raymond Academy For Girls 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a teacher
St. Raymond Academy for Girls is an excellent school! I would highly recommend it to any parent who is considering having her daughter complete high school in a Christian; safe; nurturing; small education environment.


St Raymond Academy For Girls 3

Posted June 14, 2014
- a student
St. Raymond Academy is a well-rounded school. The education they provided is good enough for every student to get into a great college, even Ivy-league. Unfortunately, that is not where their best interests are. As a student, I feel that favoritism runs a long way. They are more interested in who is wearing hoop earrings and sweaters, rather than trying to find a way to get students involved in more programs. Allowing the students to be involved in more activities and sports. The gym teacher picks her favorites for sports teams and I think they should have a separate coach. We should be able to create more clubs. Clubs are not a huge expense. They should also offer more electives and honors/AP classes. If it's they cannot afford it, then they should offer more outside opportunities for the students. We have an amazing principal and some teachers, such as the sophomore global teacher and the freshman English teacher have great personalities that many students respond well to. The students are more concerned about fashion and bringing down others, rather than their work. Many of them engage in activities such as drinking and smoking and those are the students who are favored.
2 people found this helpful

St Raymond Academy For Girls 1

Posted March 21, 2014
- a community member
This is a horrible catholic school. The faculty and staff are only their for the money and have no care for the students. Students are constantly being put down and getting insinuations that they are not dumb. The principle is grouchy and not understanding. St. Raymond Academy does not offer a great high school experience. This review is written by a student who has never had conduct issues or grade issues. It is a very boring school and one that cares more about appearance than ones grades. I would never recommend this school. I am leaving this school with such disappointment!
1 person found this helpful

St Raymond Academy For Girls 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a student
I' m a student at St Raymond Academy and I love it there. I am very prepared for college and the guidance teachers are terrific. There is an SAT prep program built right into the courses. Students are busy all day long and they have great activities after school: theater with the boys school, a band, volley ball, basketball and soft ball, an art club and the seniors are always there for the younger students too. I only wish that I could start my high school all over again at St Raymond Academy


St Raymond Academy For Girls 3

Posted December 20, 2011
- a community member
This school is nice and they do care about education . BUT it is small if you want to be in a small atmosphere Sra is for you . No one pays attention in class. In sra it is social hour all the time. But the teachers do care sra is a small loving school it is a good school but not the best school.

St Raymond Academy For Girls 5

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
Best school! Best teachers! Best students and best principal. The teachers and the principal are all very caring. The kids do very well there. The class that just graduated did amazingly well, too. Scholarships and REgents diplomas and lots of medals and honors, too. Best school in New York

St Raymond Academy For Girls 2

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
I am really disappointed in this school. I agreed with the other mom posted on April 6, 2009. Rarely any homework. The money that i am working really hard to pay does not equal the education that my daughter is receiving. The school is not organized at all, and when there are concerns with your child no one reaches out to you or responds to your concerns. Some of the teachers should not be teaching there at all. This a school were any child should feel safe spirtually and it's not the case. My daughter will be transferred out due to her spirt has been broken down in this school.
2 people found this helpful


St Raymond Academy For Girls 5

Posted September 23, 2007
- a student
Saint Raymond Academy for girls is the best school ever.We learn and enjoy our age at the same time.It's an Academy that has many peaceful,young,smart and friendly students,and I'm one of them.Thanks Sisters!

St Raymond Academy For Girls
no rating

Posted July 22, 2007
- a community member
Great School, teachers and environment for young women.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Raymond Academy For Girls
1725 Castle Hill Avenue, Bronx, NY  10473
(718) 824-4220
Last modified St Raymond Academy For Girls is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Raymond Academy For Girls Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top