Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public district
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 452
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology 1

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
This school is NOT what it appears to be! A lot of the teachers at 223 quit annually because the admin "bullies" them.

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
The "turnover rate" at this school is very, very high. The principal only hires teachers right out of college and they normally quit after the first year due to the principals "over stepping" of his authority.


Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
I have been told that many students who go to this school generally pass even if they do not do the work and a lot of the times the grades are given by the administration and not the teachers.

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
No, there are a lot of things the admin "covers up". The principal is known for this.

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
My son came home about a month ago and he told me that two teachers were talking about how the principal of ms223 is under investigation by the Office of Investigation. I spoke to a teacher during the parent teacher confrences and she told me that he is under investigation. This is sad


Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology 5

Posted May 21, 2013
- a teacher
The Laboratory School of Finance and Technology is an exciting and innovative student-centered learning community that provides a rigorous academic program in a supportive environment. Our friendly and colorful classrooms are laboratories of intensive and challenging instruction. Located on the corner of 145th St. and 3rd Ave., MS 223 opened in September 2003 and has grown into one of the most popular and well-known middle schools in the entire Bronx. At the Laboratory School of Finance and Technology, we expect our children to be prepared for the future, so we teach them the skills to become successful adults. Our main themes are finance (The management of large amounts of money) and technology (The use of scientific knowledge for practical purposes). In our small, technology-rich classrooms students explore and combine their many interests, talents, and ideas in a risk-free atmosphere that engages every child. We believe that learning becomes more meaningful when it has a purpose.

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology 5

Posted July 19, 2012
- a community member
I Graduated MS.223 This Year And I Enjoyed My 3 Years In This School. Even Though I Was a Handful,None Of My Teachers Let Me Down And None Of The Teachers Gave Up On Me! The School Is In A Bad Neighborhood But It Is A Great School Academically. The Work Given Is Challenging To Have Your Mind Working.

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
MS 223 won the 2010 Intel Schools of Distinction in Mathematics. Only a great leader and teachers can get that done! Mr Gonzalez is a savior to our students!


Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a student
ms223 is a great school for many types of students any colore orentation or any religion there are alot of after school activites enclouding baseball team, flag football on saturdays for OST/YAI students and swim team,lecross team, the teacher speek a multiple languages. there are P.E classses every week and students can join band or a cool aftershool called the grove crew. and with that said our mascot is none other than the national bird the egal it represtents loyatly, and ou core values Relentlessness Teamwork Compassion Scholarship Reflection.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology
360 East 145th Street, Bronx, NY  10454
(718) 292-8627
Last modified Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Middle School 223 Laboratory School of Finance and Technology Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top