Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pelham Preparatory Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school. Alot of teacher/parent involvement. Students are monitored and the smaller high school class enviroment is excellent.

Pelham Preparatory Academy
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
I give this school five stars for it s overall academic preparation for his students to enter institutions of higher. They are very focus.


Pelham Preparatory Academy 5

Posted July 07, 2008
- a student
This school is a normal high school but with a huge inspiration for college.We have a partnership with the UVM( university of vermont) and we also have a partnership with jet blue airway.It is a small school which is great because everyone has a friendly relationship with each other and we also are always there to help students out with over-whelming work that high schools provide.

Pelham Preparatory Academy 4

Posted June 18, 2008
- a community member
As an alumni of PPA, I can say that this school has an extreme high view of getting students to college and doing their best in their academics. There are many opportunities for extracurriculars. Even though there are not many individual teams and other things only for PPA, but students can get involved with that of Columbus' which i did as a student. Though many parents were not involved in many decisions responsible students especially those in student council and leadership classes made up for the lack there of with great ideas. overall again, PPA is a great school if you are looking for a place that you know that your child would get the most guidance for finding their way into college. Oh, the faculty is awesome as well, very helpful and loving indeed.

Pelham Preparatory Academy
no rating

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Somewhat disappointed in the rather the lack of motivaion for the students to strive for more than mediocrity. Our kids need to be encouraged to strive for excellence, not to just 'pass'. Have bigger and bolder goals.


Pelham Preparatory Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
pelham prep shows no regards tostudents .. teachers are very disrespectful and have no control. i have been faling since i have attended this school. due to lack of caring

Pelham Preparatory Academy 4

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
I am very pleased with Pelham Prep and my child really enjoys attending. She has become a well rounded student and has taken a great interest in her academics. This is her second year, she is a sophomore. I see a bright future for her. She is well on her way to college!

Pelham Preparatory Academy 4

Posted September 26, 2006
- a parent
When first introducted to this school, the curriculum that was offered seemed interesting. The academic program would allow my child, to enhance his academic and educational skills, achieving the goal for preparation to college. I am somewhat surprised that electives are not offered, and students do not have a choice of choosing their academic curriculum. A pre-scheduled and pre-set course curriculum is handed out yearly to students. The credit system used for courses are not clearly detailed. The music classes are somewhat limited by administrative choice, art is not a choice by student, but rather administration, it is exceptionally hard to enter the sports forum, and extracurricular activities are also chosen by staff. As a parent my level of involvement is of assessment, analyzation, and observation.


Pelham Preparatory Academy 1

Posted August 08, 2006
- a student
The availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activites are some what lacking. The school should have more extracurricular activites that would catch the interest of the students. The academic programs are okay except the school only offers spanish as a language to study. Also most parents aree not involved in their childrens academic studies. Space is limited and some classes are croweded and so are the hallways.

Nearby schools

Pelham Preparatory Academy
925 Astor Avenue, Bronx, NY  10469
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (718) 944-3601
Last modified Pelham Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top