Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bronx Charter School For Better Learning

Charter | K-5 | 386 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $339,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I'm very disappointed with this school I felt my son was neglected in this school he has a speech delay and a little of learning disability and they didn't do no effort to improve him better other than helding him over for the same grade his teacher was awful she teaches kidergarden kids... I took him out of this school already never turning back or stepping foot in that school... I called that discrimination...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

BBL is a wonderful, supportive working environment. Teachers receive frequent, meaningful professional development. The principal, executive director and professional development staff treat the teachers well and value their work. BBL is a special place and I grateful to have found it. The teacher turnover rate is incredibly low; recent data shows that it's one of the lowest out of all charter schools in NYC. That being said, it is not a perfect fit for everyone. We believe strongly in student autonomy and constructivist methodologies. Te teachers who leave are most often ones whose practices aren't aligned with our school pedagogy, the Subordination of Teaching to Learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 3, 2014

What a wonderful school!! I have three kids in this school and my only regret is that they didn't attend sooner. The staff is really caring and concerned about the students. The teachers are wonderful and are always ready to answer any questions. The administration is friendly and welcoming. I am very happy and more thankful than words can say. I do wish that the school went to at least the 8th grade. My son is a fifth grader this year and I'm already panicking about what will come next.... Thank you BBL, you have my trust, my respect and admiration. Thanks for challenging my children and for helping them find their strengths and pushing them to never give up. Our family is extremely grateful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2014

This school does not know how to treat its employees. There is a lot of nepotism and favoritism and as a result, there is a high turnover rate and a lot of distrust among the faculty. Also, the principal has zero loyalty towards the teachers and other staff, unless they belong to the Bronx Bethany Church of the Nazarene. He has strong ties to that church and he has puts his standing and reputation within the church community above his responsibilities towards the school and his loyalty to the teachers. The executive director also plays favorites within the staff and is a man of low moral character. It is an extremely toxic working environment and if you are in the education field, do yourself a favor and do not work there.


Posted January 12, 2014

Great school where the teachers try hard to do their best to help all the students learn better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

Making the decision to have my children attend the Bronx Charter for Better Learning was one of my best decision. My daughter currently attend the school and is in the second grade, I also had a son that graduated from the Bronx Charter for better learning two years ago. He has accomplish alot and has move on to middle school where he is know in an honors class. His progress was with the help of the great team at the school. The principal Mr jacobs is very pleasant and keep is parents inform of changes and updates. The staff is willing to help and a pleasure to talk to. I highly recommend the school to all..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Bronx Charter, is a excellent school... It gives a solid foundation to elementary aged children allowing them to succeed in the middle schools easily. I have one daughter who is a Bronx Charter graduate, And two daughters who currently attend in the 4th and 3rd grades... The Staff from the Teachers, to the office administration, to the Principal are all friendly and helpful. While they hold a high standard they offer lots of help when your child is not quite meeting the standard. My only problem with Bronx Charter is I wish it continued until 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I would recommend this school to anyone. The school staff that has come in contact with my daughter has been nothing but supportive and caring. The principal is very professional and does a wonderful job of keeping the parents informed no matter the time or day. My child is continuously coming home with new ideas and this school helps facilitate better learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

A great place to work and learn! All of the staff work hard and all of the students are brilliant!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 8, 2014

The Bronx Charter School for Better learning offers students a chance to learn in their own way. It allows the students to become their own teachers allowing them to discover the answers on their own. I think all the students, staff and parents have the same goal for the students at BBL,which is achievement and success for each student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2014

This is a school that is not held hostage by state test performances. It is a place where children actually enjoy learning every day. BBL promotes independence, autonomy, and a sustained love of learning. There are no memorization or drill and repeat tactics. Students are asked to take responsibility for their learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 20, 2013

BBL is a place where the starting point for learning is the student. The faculty has created an incredibly caring and supportive learning environment for all students.


Posted June 28, 2011

Charter Schools Do Work!! and Bronx Charter is a Hallmark what can be done when a community of educators committed to students work together . My daughter attendend BCSBL for 5 years. It was a wonderful experience. The curriculum challenged her, the teachers were supportive and caring; always pushing her to achieve more administration was supportive and very involved with the children. The school supported and encouraged personal growth, responsibilty, accountability, respect for self and others. The staffing was stable with teachers returning year after year . What a gem of a school. Bronx Charter School for better Learning is a great school. I was very fortunate and privlidged to have my child educated and nurtured in this enviornment. She is off to a great start. And I thank the faculty and staff with all my heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

my kids went here. this is a piece of heaven for the mind. I even forgot that I had kids, because they are really on top of bussiness. before I was so concerned and after they finished here that i had to stop working for a little bit. this is unique.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

My son attend BCSBL for (5)yrs and I am so sad that this was his last year, the teachers and principal there are the best. My son loved being there. I only wish it went up to the (8th) grade. But I thank BCSBL for giving my son a wonderful start in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Wonderful school with an excellent principal. I just wish they went up to the 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I absolutely love this school! This staff is professional. They dress the part too! My kids love it. My daughter is part of the program in ps 111 and will move to the annex next year! Can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

This is a great school with a wonderful staff! The children seem to really enjoy learning.


Posted May 15, 2007

My son has been attending this school for the past 3yrs and it is the best of the best. Everything about it is organized, and well thought out by the Principal and Teachers. I always recommend it to everyone i meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 94% 19%
Hispanic 1 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 155%N/A49%
Male 145%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 280%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 24%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 18%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 269 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22466%
Teachers45100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEVIN BRENNAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3740 Baychester Ave Annex
Bronx, NY 10466
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 655-6660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 87
Bronx, NY



Ps 68
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT