Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 1,336
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
After reading this I want to share that this school was the same in the 70s-an outstanding honors & the rest floundered. The bullying then was the haves vs have nots-not racially motivated. If the kids are behaving like animals - hint they are - not the teachers fault. If you can't afford a private school - then this is where your kid goes or move to a better district. Your kid got into 3 fights here more than other schools - what does that say 2 fights in the other school? Thugs & gansters came from NYCs poorer parts & a generation ago did nothing so they are here and all over the nation. Guidance counselors have a 1 size fits all answer - deal with it. Favorites among teachers - nothing new. By the way I graduated 141 went to a NYC high school that is now closed, rec'vd a 4 year scholarship-am a married grandmother with a great well paying job. School is what you make of it. Parents stop complaining do something or shut up, teachers teach to the good and ignore the rest, principals and administration stop throwing $ at a problem with no solution-unless you want the parents to babysit their kids 24/7 & then let them complain that jr isn't learning dont expect good reviews.
2 people found this helpful

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Probably one of the worst school in this area. The students that are forced to attend here are placed at a serious disadvantage socially and academically. The parents who are unable to find their kid a better alternative are in for a rude awakening upon graduation. It's unfortunate that these young minds have to suffer, while nearby Horace Mann and Fieldston Academies revel in academic glory. This school is an in- direct feeder for the prison system. Not only are the teachers less than qualified but he administration constantly looks the other way. Riverdale is a great community to live in, but as far as the public middle and high schools go your sentencing your child to a lifetime of hellish inadequacy if you send them to 141.


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 3

Posted September 03, 2013
- a community member
I have been a student attending this school for throughout middle school. This school is okay and if you think about enrolling your child here, think again after reading this review. I personally feel that the students are only successful if they are in honors. Otherwise, the learning isn't that good, and non-honors education in this school is lacking. The teachers and principals are very aged and out of touch with social issues and are failing to understand the problems students have. I have problems so I go to the guidance counselor who gives me very weird solutions, that i feel uncomfortable doing. I feel as if the teachers watched a quick video on the term "bullying" and don't fully understand it. This school is very out of hand with the mean people, and harassers!!!!!!!!!! This school could improve if O'Mara dropped her "oh let's be prideful with school spirit" act and noticed what kids go through in this school!
1 person found this helpful

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible I am in 7th grade here. The teachers don't care about u one even slapped a kid in the face. The kids behave like animals. Don't go here.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 26, 2012
- a community member
Horrible principle and sanitation. It is very bad. Don't go here. Oh yeah, it's also in a terrible area with thugs and gangsters.


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
Ms. O'Mara, the principal, is into school spirit - and that is where it ends. Bullying is rampant and no one does much about it. There is very little distinction grade wise between a 5 minute homework assignment, your note taking skills, and a test, but I don't know if this is RKA's policy or citywide. My husband and I, both honors students most of our lives, with tons of perfect regents, no one ever scored less than a 5 on several APs SATs scores over 1400 and his were well over 1500 in the old days would have failed Ms. O'Mara's "rigorous" Honors program. When the NYT asked her what she wanted for her school she said a new locker room for her gym. I wished she had hoped for higher SATs.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted May 15, 2012
- a community member
This school is unsafe, poorly managed, runs out of money and punishes good teachers while rewarding useless sycophants

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 2

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 children in this school, and they have been here since Middle School. This may be an upscale address for NYC, but the school is substandard and going down fast. The source is the principal, who has NO experience as a teacher and is making every mistake on the backs of the kids and their future. This year, the principal cut out the college advisor, giving the job to the guidance counselors. BAD MOVE. The kids were basically on their own to get into college. The good teachers are just waiting out the time until they can retire or transfer to another school with a better principal. The bad teachers suck up to the principal. They won't release the results of the AP exams, because the results are so awful. Check out the Regents exam results - they stink. The school PA is a joke, and just rubber stamps the principal. The higher-achieving kids have a chance, but the rest or the system is working against them. If you can get your kid into ANY other school, do it.


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 4

Posted February 10, 2011
- a parent
All though the high school students tend to be disruptive, the middle school students are happy and are offered many options . I highly recomend this school for middle school students entering sixth grade.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
Most of the teachers helped me to get where I am now and the students care about each other or at least try hard.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141)
660 West 237th Street, Bronx, NY  10463
(718) 796-8516
Last modified Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top