Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 4

Posted July 06, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are great. They work hard with the students. The crossing guards watch over the students. I went to the school and I think it is still a good school to attend.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141)
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 03, 2016
- a community member
The Crossing Guard shows interest in the students welfare. PT Conference felt emptiness and therefore can not identify a faculty member to thank. Cannot applaud lack of effort or minimal effort !


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
After reading this I want to share that this school was the same in the 70s-an outstanding honors & the rest floundered. The bullying then was the haves vs have nots-not racially motivated. If the kids are behaving like animals - hint they are - not the teachers fault. If you can't afford a private school - then this is where your kid goes or move to a better district. Your kid got into 3 fights here more than other schools - what does that say 2 fights in the other school? Thugs & gansters came from NYCs poorer parts & a generation ago did nothing so they are here and all over the nation. Guidance counselors have a 1 size fits all answer - deal with it. Favorites among teachers - nothing new. By the way I graduated 141 went to a NYC high school that is now closed, rec'vd a 4 year scholarship-am a married grandmother with a great well paying job. School is what you make of it. Parents stop complaining do something or shut up, teachers teach to the good and ignore the rest, principals and administration stop throwing $ at a problem with no solution-unless you want the parents to babysit their kids 24/7 & then let them complain that jr isn't learning dont expect good reviews.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Probably one of the worst school in this area. The students that are forced to attend here are placed at a serious disadvantage socially and academically. The parents who are unable to find their kid a better alternative are in for a rude awakening upon graduation. It's unfortunate that these young minds have to suffer, while nearby Horace Mann and Fieldston Academies revel in academic glory. This school is an in- direct feeder for the prison system. Not only are the teachers less than qualified but he administration constantly looks the other way. Riverdale is a great community to live in, but as far as the public middle and high schools go your sentencing your child to a lifetime of hellish inadequacy if you send them to 141.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 3

Posted September 03, 2013
- a community member
I have been a student attending this school for throughout middle school. This school is okay and if you think about enrolling your child here, think again after reading this review. I personally feel that the students are only successful if they are in honors. Otherwise, the learning isn't that good, and non-honors education in this school is lacking. The teachers and principals are very aged and out of touch with social issues and are failing to understand the problems students have. I have problems so I go to the guidance counselor who gives me very weird solutions, that i feel uncomfortable doing. I feel as if the teachers watched a quick video on the term "bullying" and don't fully understand it. This school is very out of hand with the mean people, and harassers!!!!!!!!!! This school could improve if O'Mara dropped her "oh let's be prideful with school spirit" act and noticed what kids go through in this school!


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted July 28, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible I am in 7th grade here. The teachers don't care about u one even slapped a kid in the face. The kids behave like animals. Don't go here.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted September 09, 2012
- a parent
Riverdaly/Kingsbridge Academy (Middle/High School 141) is getting worst every year. I have my two boys in this school, since middle school and both of them bacame victims of the dangerous environment of the school. The lack of knowledge of the principal is the reason why the school is going down, she has no idea how to run the school properly. Therefore, i ask the board of education to make some changes as soon as possible.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a community member
Hi, i am a student who goes to this school. I know the outrage of parents who want their kids to have a safe environment. Yet, your kids are going to middle school/high school and have to learn to grow up and make their own decisions becausenoone else will make it for them. Too, i m going to 8th grade and the reputations that you here about this school might not be true unless you come and actually see it happening. Too, yes, what you call "thugs" and "gangsters" do deserve to go to a well organized school too. You guys all have your opinion but I dont think its true. Lastly, there is never any bullying because i ACTUALLY GO TOTHE SCHOOL.


Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 26, 2012
- a community member
Horrible principle and sanitation. It is very bad. Don't go here. Oh yeah, it's also in a terrible area with thugs and gangsters.

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) 1

Posted June 18, 2012
- a parent
Ms. O'Mara, the principal, is into school spirit - and that is where it ends. Bullying is rampant and no one does much about it. There is very little distinction grade wise between a 5 minute homework assignment, your note taking skills, and a test, but I don't know if this is RKA's policy or citywide. My husband and I, both honors students most of our lives, with tons of perfect regents, no one ever scored less than a 5 on several APs SATs scores over 1400 and his were well over 1500 in the old days would have failed Ms. O'Mara's "rigorous" Honors program. When the NYT asked her what she wanted for her school she said a new locker room for her gym. I wished she had hoped for higher SATs.

Nearby schools

Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141)
660 West 237th Street, Bronx, NY  10463
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (718) 796-8516
Last modified Riverdale Kingsbridge Academy (Ms High School 141) is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top