Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Francis Xavier School 4

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
Just wanted to comment on a review of SFX New Beginnings. This program is wonderful. In just a few short weeks, the children are learning the days of the week, the alphabet along with an art project, sing and play together, Columbus Dat and Fall. The teacher and assistant are wonderful. They are very caring. Just ask the parents outside of school what they think of the program. Don't let one bad apple discourage this program.

St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
My husband and I graduated st francis xavier school and we both loved the school. We moved back to the neighbor so our children to go to sfx. Well my son started and what a change, omg what a difference . The principal overstayed her welcome here. She's not a nice person but I believe everyone knows why she is still there. She should retire. She's not kid friendly hates being there Has no time for meeting with parents and walks around like the world owes her a living. The teachers do not check homework. They give lots of homework but never checks the homework. If you're not in the clique they make you and your child feel like you don't belong. What a shame. Practically all the teacher run out at 3 o'clock with the exception of one that I know Don't waste your money sending you child here send them to another school. Leadership stinks. Some teachers are great but the others don't care. Think twice before you decide to send your child to sfx.


St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
Do Not send your child to this school especially the New Beginnings program. The teacher is uneducated and inexperienced and has no knowledge of a three year olds development. The assistant is mean and yells at the children to which people down the hall can hear her, as reported by the condescending principal. They labelled a 3 year old as a disruption and a distraction after 2 hours and 15 minutes. Really.There is no support from the principal, pastor or superintendent. Save you money it is not worth $3000 a year. I pulled my child out after 4 days, that was more than enough time to avoid any permanent damages to my beautiful child.

St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Teachers are lazy, academic standards are extremely low, little to no organization. It's ridiculous. Don't waste your money. Take a tour at St. Lucy's School. You won't regret it. Everyone is like family there. The teachers are so nice, sweet, and caring. Very very caring.

St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible!!!!! I wish I did more research before waisting a year at SFX. The school is eextremely cliquish, the adminstration has out stayed their welcome, and the over all standards are below the neighboring schools (Van Nest, Ichan, St. Claire, Holy Rosary, 108). There are other schools in the neighborhood that super exceed...Don't waste your time or money.


St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
I'm sorry to say that this school does not care for all the children. It cares more about appearances to other schools and parents. The pastor wonders why the school is losing money - its because there is no actual leadership. The principal has overstayed her welcome and is ineffective. She does not inspire but uses negativity in dealing with the children. Therer are teachers that are not only faculty but parents of students as well, THOSE students are the lucky ones - the special treatment is disgusting. At least it teaches the other kids how to deal with disappointment. The levels of math, english and science are no where near where they should be when these children graduate. Most high schools in the area can point out children that graduated from SFX by their unbelievable lack of knowledge in math.

St. Francis Xavier School 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a community member
St Francis Xavier The Bronx New York is a school that REALLY cares for the children. The principal, teachers, aides, cafeteria and maintenance, every one is so friendly and kind. It kind of reminds you with the good old days when our Catholic Schools were under the care of such devoted and dedicated Religious Sisters and Brothers.

St. Francis Xavier School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My child graduated Pre-K at St. Francis Xavier School in June. She has learned a great deal from Mrs. Dolgow, whose experience of almost 30 years, made a true difference. She was very patient with my daughter and gave her much needed guidance and structure. Her pleasant demeanor made learning fun. Mrs. Blandino was so helpful and always kind to me and my child. Also, Mrs. Deegan was always approachable and involved in student life. Lastly, the gym program was a great outlet for the children and the instructor was well experienced. I am happy to be a part of the SFX family.


St. Francis Xavier School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a community member
I went to St. Francis Xavier for 6 years and graduate 5 years ago. I can't comment on how the new pastor is doing but everything else I can comment on. The teachers in this school are great and friendly for the most part. The teachers meet with parent after school if they need to talk about grades. Some teachers provide extra help if students need it and parents request it. The problem I have with this school school is not the the teachers but the leadership of it. The principal is very cold and has no idea what shes doing. They spend money not on education but on public image or for the parents who rule the school. The principal bows down to the few parents who rule the school. The teachers can't punish the kids because the parents who rule the school will get their kids out of any and all kinds of trouble. The principal sides with the parents over the teachers. If your not in that in group of parents who rule the school you have no chance of getting your voice heard and your kid will be nothing but an unknown. This school can be good only they get some new leadership and the in group of parents lose control of it.

St. Francis Xavier School 1

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
My child attended Pre-K here. He was asked to leave after a couple of months due to "behavioral" issues. Update - he's been attending public school in a gifted and talented program for the last 3 years. I guess his issue was that they don't know how to deal with above average kids. What a waste of time this sh#thole was.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Francis Xavier School
1711 Haight Ave, Bronx, NY  10461
(718) 863-0531
Last modified St. Francis Xavier School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Francis Xavier School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top