Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hyde Leadership Charter School

Charter | K-12 | 950 students

We are best known for Family-Based Character Education.

 
 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $280,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

130 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I've been a Hyde parent for 6 years. Like all NY city schools Hyde has had it's struggles but it remains the one and only choice for my children and their education. It's an excellent school and the teachers are very dedicated. I'm a proud parent and my children are blessed to have so many people invested in their future, thank you Hyde family ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

To be honest I think the school cares more about the teachers then the students, all I really hear is discipline, and money problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I LOVE HYDE BECAUSE THERE FEEL LIKE FAMILY THEY HEALD WORK SHOPS EVERY MONTH. VERY INTERESTING TOPICS FOR PARENTS AND CHILDREN BUILD A SELF AND UNIQUE POTENTIAL THAT EACH OF OUR KIDS HAVE INSIDE AND SO UNDERSTAND LIFE POURPOSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Good school, high school needs a new principal. The teachers are good. Successful Friday is a joke. The family discovery group meetings are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I HAVE NEVER SEEN A SCHOOL THAT CARES AS MUCH AS HYDE DOES. THEY PROMOTE FAMILY TOGETHERNESS. I HAVE LEARNED ALOT ABOUT MY SON AS WELL AS MYSELF IN HIS 4 YRS BEING IN HYDE. I AM TRULY BLESSED THAT WE WERE ABLE TO FIND A SCHOOL LIKE THIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Hyde Leadership Charter School is a blessing to my child. The staff is always attentive to the parents and the children and that provides help whenever they are needed....Love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I've been a Hyde parent for 8 years. Like all NY city schools Hyde has had it's struggles but it remains the one and only choice for my children and their education. It's an excellent school and the teachers are very dedicated. I'm a proud parent and my children are blessed to have so many people invested in their future,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I like the fact that Hyde staff know my kids by their names not just by a number. I like how they discipline the kids and do not tolerate bulling. I love how they appreciate parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Hyde Leadership Charter School is AMAZING!!! I have 2 children who both attend Hyde. One of my children is currently in his 7th year and my daughter in her third and I cannot be happier. Hyde is definitely a school that focuses on character as well as academics. I am always welcome in my children's school. My children are greeted by name each and every morning by school leadership staff members. Both of my children read at above average levels because of the joint effort of myself and my children's teachers. I find myself bragging about the school to my friends and even random people I speak to on the bus or train. Keep up the good work. As long as both of my children are successful and happy, I'm happy!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

Hyde is a wonderful place for willing and able minded families. Hyde builds character and changes families. I have had a lovely experience at this school. My daughter has been apart of this community for 8 years. She has grown into a wonderful amazing leader. My family has transformed through the family education department. I am very proud to be apart of Hyde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

I can't believe the emphasis this school puts more on behavior than the academics.The LOW state test scores speak 4themselves! I can't count the times my son (3rg grade) would spend in the dean's office for "fooling around" in the classroom: leaning back on his chair, calling out answers, drinking water in the classroom, bringing baseball cards, not sharing his school supplies (I do not provide for other people's children I wish I could), asking the teacher to re-explain herself when teaching a lesson because he didn't understand(really!), not wanting to sit on DA rug when it came time to listen to a story. (although I was told it was optional to sit on the rug). I mean he is just a kid seeing his classmates do a lot worse & they were able to remain in the classroom. My son was classified as being defiant, disrespectful, rude, anti-social, etc. Of course his classmates would copy the adults and use him as the scapegoat for everything that went wrong in the classroom. I think they need to have a re-training of their teachers, deans, and staff. There was never make-up work for time spent in the office. no stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

this school was horrible for my son. My son was a lively happy carefree child who constantly was bullied and ridiculed by students and sometimes staff. His first grade teacher used to make fun of him and had the class laugh at him because he didn't want to share. My son became very withdrawn and sad.The outcome of bringing this to the attention of the leadership team was deny, deny, deny. Bullies were not reprimanded for their actions and it shouldn't have surprised me since the teacher was never reprimanded. My son's academics suffered a great deal because of the low self-esteem he got at Hyde. Discovery groups were a joke! Monthly meetings of parents and staff were ridiculous since the teacher was so immature. My son told me that his 1st grade teacher would read text messages she received from her boyfriend to the class. One such message was him breaking up his relationship with her and she told the kids to leave her alone because she was not in the mood that day! I have never experienced such umprofessionalism in my life needless to say for my child to have been exposed to such trivial matters! This school is HORRIBLE!!!! no stars for this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Hyde Leadership Charter School (aka Hyde-Bronx) is an amazing school. They believe that developing child's character is as important as developing a child's mind. I am beyond impressed with the school. It is a wonderful place for children -- and their parents -- to learn. Not only is the academic program rigorous, but Hyde-Bronx differs fundamentally from other schools because of its intense focus on character development and parent involvement. Students, parents and teachers participate in a program that regularly addresses each individual's personal growth. Hyde-Bronx is a supportive and challenging environment where students, teachers and staff hold each other to their best. A Harvard EdLabs-conducted study showed that when Hyde-Bronx's students are admitted, they score similarly or below the students at surrounding local schools. However, once enrolled in Hyde-Bronx, students make significantly more progress than those students who were not lotteried in and are now attending other schools. The Harvard study found that Hyde-Bronx middle school students gained approximately one month of learning in math and two months in English for each year they were enrolled in Hyde-Bronx.


Posted November 1, 2012

This school will regress your child to a state you've never witnessed before. My daughter attended this school and was constantly bullyed while teachers, staff, and administrators did NOTHING! My daughter begin to have nightmares and didn't even want to go to school anymore. Hyde either played FAVORITES with certain kids or FEARED certain parents. Hyde did NOT hold every child accountable for their actions. Every ting was ALWAYS an accident when my daughter would get pushed, hit by the same bully. Homework was nilch compared to want my nieces were receiving in public school. Needless to say, the workshops they held for the 3rd grade ELA/MATH was a joke! My daughter came back with incomplete work from those workshops. Honestly this school needs a serious make-over from the inside out!. I must say when my daughter was in 1st grade she had the best teacher..Ms Aquino! Hyde should have every teacher follow in her lead. after that it went downhill from there! I cannot stressed how this school is not for those who want a better education for their kids. I have since enrolled my daughter in the NYc Public School system and I couldn't be happier. There is more structure and learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I Attended the required once a month Parent Discovery Night tonight and was very pleased to find that the school had set up a Math Workshop which was taught by three dynamic math teachers. This is just one of the many things that makes Hyde so unique. This Years theme is Picture the Possibilities . Little things like this is what inspires Hyde students to dream bigger dreams. I m really impressed with the quality of teachers Hyde is hiring. Hyde really is bringing in the best for the students of the South Bronx. There s tons of programs for our kids to partake in.From the Roberta Flack Music Program,Sports,Girl Scouts,Performing Arts, They have a beautiful Library for all three divisions and more. Recently, Hyde inaugurated their new High School building.I can only hope an Elementary/Middle School building will follow in the near future. The Staff is amazing and like family to me.The Parents and Volunteers in the school are really special people. My daughter and I started this journey 5 years ago and as we continue this amazing educational adventure I don t want to imagine our lives without the support of Hyde and their talented staff.They are truly a diamond in the rough.~drb
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

Hyde is an amazing center of education, integrity, and community for the South Bronx. I feel privileged to witness the impact they are making on the lives of students and their their families. It is truly an inspiring example of how education can extend above and beyond traditional roles of academics and become an institution not only of learning, but also self discovery for everyone involved.


Posted May 14, 2010

School is a place where children should go to be educated and inspired at hype this goal is truly accomplished. Hyde students are confident, assured, ready and prepared to tackle challenges. The entire administration offers an environment that is well prepared and equipt to teach. Hyde students are proud of themselves and their teachers. Hyde students have good reason to also be proud of their parents. Hype lives up to my belief and daily creed to my son that college is not an option it is a requirement. With hyde determination and consistancy my son- like we say each morning is truly college bound. Go hyde
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Hyde is an amazing school with a track record of success and longevity. As a teacher in Hyde's first year open, I was witness to and partner in their effort to develop a strong, supportive community where one did not exist before. The focus on Character development is beyond important. The student-citizens that Hyde helps develop will be immensely valuable to their communities as they grow older and become adults. The lessons learned at Hyde will not easily be forgotten.


Posted May 14, 2010

This school is doing an outstanding job of teaching students.


Posted May 14, 2010

Hyde is a really Good school, I love the dicipline, I feel that my daughter is safe and is getting a really good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students11%
Female17%
Male0%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant11%

Chemistry

All Students15%
Female17%
Male11%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population15%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Not migrant15%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

English

All Students58%
Female65%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities15%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant58%

Geometry

All Students23%
Female23%
Male22%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities10%
General population26%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant23%

Global History and Geography

All Students73%
Female72%
Male76%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%

Integrated Algebra

All Students73%
Female79%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities44%
General population77%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%

Living Environment

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities25%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant69%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students80%
Female78%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities75%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 58% 23%
Black 1 39% 19%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 153%N/A49%
Male 147%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 265%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 26%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 14%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • It's Academic
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 913 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36949%
Students46493%
Teachers8093%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Betsy Olney
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (718) 842-8617

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Internships
  • family-based character education model
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Social justice
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Hunts Point Alliance for Children
  • The Point
  • Rocking the Boat
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • It's Academic
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Hyde-Bronx is the fifth Hyde school, founded on Joseph Gauld’s premise that character development and active family involvement are essential components in teaching children to become responsible, ethical and successful human beings.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Bryant Ave (K-8) & 830 Hunts Point Avenue (9-12)
Bronx, NY 10474
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 991-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 75
Bronx, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT