Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International Leadership Charter School

Charter | 9-12 | 323 students

 
 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 10, 2014

ILCHS is one of the best high school in NYC. Press Release 9/ 9/ 2014 This year, Newsweek sought to recognize schools that beat the odds and who performed better than statistically expected for the students level of poverty. For this list, schools were ranked on how well they prepare their students for college, taking students socio-economic background into account. A gold star next to a school s name means that low-income students are scoring at or above average on state assessments. The International Leadership Charter High School Ranked among America s Top High Schools 2014: This recognition comes on the heels of The U.S. News & World Report ranking the International Leadership Charter High School on its Best High Schools 2013 and 2014 list. These prestigious recognitions have demonstrated that ILCHS is among the top 25% of all public high schools in the United States. These honors are in addition to our school being ranked #6 of all NYC Public High Schools. This national recognition in Newsweek America s Top High Schools 2014,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

THIS IS THE WORST SCHOOL YOU COULD EVER GO TO . you can't bring lotion, juice, snacks, etc. the school claims to be a college-prep high school YET we don't even take geometry which is a major part in the SAT and in college. Also students are restricted from expressing themselves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2013

This school does not allow my child to take regent exam until 12th grade. This is ridiculous! The school does not have good curriculum, they don't have earth science, gym, music, geometry, and all AP courses. When i come to school to pick up my child in the middle of the day because of doctor's appointment, they don't allow me to pick my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

I m a Parent: My daughter has been part of ILCS for three years. Now, she is a Senior Student. I m so proud that she is going to graduates from this school. It s a great school and the teachers work hard. They are in continuing development. My daughter feels the school likes her second home, like a real family. I love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Do not send your child here....it classes are very dull to the point were there is no motivation to come to school .....this school is a get rich quickie.......just like all charter school.....nearly if not all student want this school shut down ......but we are doomed here...i feel not ready for college whatsoever ..this being college prep...and the student body will agreee...when vistiors come....they threaten us to be good...and get a good review...they went so low to even give the 11th grade a day off ..so when the vistors come...there is no negative comments ..i wouldnt recomend this school to my enemy...so please ...dont come here
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2010

This school has great potential and in great for our own community but is being run by people that has their own agendas for their best interests not the students nor their parents, explain how I have been asking for my daughters GPA average before this years spring break and always they give me an excuse that they are unable to give it to me no stars for me on this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

this is school is beyond one of the worst schools in new york history,there is very little structure and does not help any of the student pursue any of their future aspirations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

This is an amazing high school! The teaching staff go beyond the traditional effort for every student. There is also after-school tutoring and saturday academy for extra suppport.


Posted January 26, 2008

As a parent there are three top reasons why I will support the International Leadership Charter School and they are Safety, Academic Excellence and High Expectations for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 77% 23%
Black 1 20% 19%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 177%N/A43%
Female 159%N/A49%
Male 141%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 55%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 18%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 331 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15055%
Students16056%
Teachers2191%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 Exterior St-Fl 1r
Bronx, NY 10463
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 437-8361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT