Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Bronx Classical Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 322 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $45,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

My daughters have been in the school since K. Yes they are strict but i find that the school is preparing them for the future. I believe that we have to be realistic in regards to the fact that work enviorment is not the same as to when we were growing up. South Bronx Classical is training them on how to responsible and hard working individuals, with that being said I do agree with one small matter they should allow the students to dress down once in a while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

For the parent whose child just got accepted, be prepared of the most rigorious academics. This school is extremely strict when it comes to the academic part. I am greatful for them though. My son was diagnosed with autism and the teachers here go above and beyond for him. I do wish they would lessen some of their ways. For example, uniforms are always mandatory. There is no dress down days and they have gym in their uniforms. (which for a parent that has to purchase their clothes drives me crazy.) They start school at least 3 weeks prior to everyone else. During some of the vacations there are mandatory tutorial sessions. And even during these sessions, the children are required to wear full uniforms. I do wish they would give a dress down day at least once a month. But overall, the school in its self is great. I love the attention that is given to my son and all the caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My daughter just got accepted to this school any suggestions on what too expect... My daughter has been in a private parochial setting and She just got accepted fr kindergarten any suggestion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

The teachers in this school are wonderful! My child has learned so much. It is amazing how much such a young child absorbs when given the right environment and the right teachers. The only good thing about SBCCS is the academics. SBCCS does not understand what is appropriate for children the age that they are. The kids get no recess or play time. The administrators are horrible. The Dean of Students tries her best but too much is on her plate to really focus on what she should. The others are useless. They don't know how to talk to parents, they can't identify with the students and all they care about are raising test scores not making good citizens like they say. Their office staff is great most of the time. My child loves the staff in the office. I'm leaving my child in SBCCS to not pull them out in the middle of the year but plan to discharge at the end of the year. My child is not a robot. All kids are not the same. SBCCS can't differentiate instruction. They cant be caring. All they care about is their name. One more thing, not one teacher from when my child has started is still there. Every year they get a group of new people. Why do people keep leaving? Think about that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Hi, I'm a parent interested in sending my child to this school. I have read some negative reviews about the administration and it's concerning. Can anyone elaborate on why they think that they need to be investigated? Any names in particular? Has it been brought to the school's attention? And have things changed since these 2010 reviews? Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My daughter has been a scholar at SBCCS since the 1st grade but her mom and I have decided to look into other schools. Although she's among the best readers in her grade, has had a few great teachers and a few good friends, the admin is indeed way too strict and the schools' policies are a bit too vigorous for elementary. I understand they want their students to develop good study/work habits and all but they BOMBARD their students with homework. Doesn't help that their first day of class is August 15th and they dismiss at 4:30pm either. In January, tutoring is "mandatory" and so they dismiss at 6pm. All in all, it's come to the point where my daughter doesn't enjoy learning as much anymore and school/homework is just another chore. Learning is a drag and as it takes away from her time with us and other activities. Their workload/schedule tells me they don't take into consideration how valuable personal family-time is. The admin has good intentions but they seem to be too invested in having their students score high on exams and don't focus enough on having children become enthusiastic learners and allow them to flourish in their household as well. I have a child, not a robot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I agree that the admin is way too strict on the children but yes the teachers are good so far.I would like to see the admin investigated because I dont like the way I see some of them talking to the students when the parents arent around,I have noticed them yelling at the kids also.But yes my children have learned alot and its only been 3-4 weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

The teachers are great, but the administration is way too strict, They have a military type attitude and are often disrespectful to parents. They need to be investigated by the state
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers push your children to learn in a professional manner. And they do not accept any kind of misbehavior. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My son has learned so much in this school im very proud of him go johnathan miller....Thanks to the school......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

This is a great school my son has improved a lot since he has been at this school. His reading went from level F to level M now he is on his right grade reading level. I give thanks to all his teachers. It is because of their hard work and decation that my son reached his reading goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My daughter got into the school by lottery 2 years ago, and we've been happy ever since. They work hard, but they are learning a lot. The Principal and Special Ed Teacher do thier best. My daughter was given a IEP before she got in, but now she's reading at a 5th grade level in second grade, and the IEP is gone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My son has had caring and very dedicated teachers since he began the school two years ago...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

I am thrilled with how fast my two children have learned at the school. The first and second grade teachers have been excellent, and I recommend the school to parents in the area. They are strict with uniforms, but my kids look adorable in them! The principal and teachers work very hard and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Great school. My daughter learned to read at 4 and has excelled in many subjects public schools do not offer. Teachers are great and they make sure your chld gets everything they need daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant49%

Math

All Students47%
Female51%
Male43%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female69%
Male67%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
African American90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female52%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%

Math

All Students69%
Female63%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 52% 23%
Black 2 44% 19%
Two or more races 2 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 148%N/A49%
Male 152%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 69%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 0%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 276 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.7
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.3
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25293%
Teachers2486%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LESTER LONG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

977 Fox St
Bronx, NY 10459
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 860-4340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 75
Bronx, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT