Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Icahn Charter School 2 4

Posted June 21, 2016
- a community member
My children have been in Icahn 2 before it moved to it's current location. The curriculum is tough, the kids receive a lot of homework (not to mention the packets they receive before each break,) and the school year is long, but I love this school. The only issue I have is that parents are not always notified about events in a timely manner.

Icahn Charter School 2
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The school gives credit where the students need it, and builds self accountability. Kids feel responsible to do well and help others.


Icahn Charter School 2 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
this school provide every kid with a safe, clean and enlightening environment. Every child is given individual attention and all staff know all the kids by name.

Icahn Charter School 2
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Murphy and Ms. Pelton, are the best teachers a 6 year old can have. They are patient, kind and understanding to each students individual needs without making anyone else in the classroom feel left out.

Icahn Charter School 2 4

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
My children have attended Icahn Charter School 2 since Kindergarten and they are now in the 5th grade. Overall I feel the school is doing an excellent job with giving my kids a great education. Yes, the curriculum is tough, and the school year is long, but the teachers are very well trained and they make learning fun. As much as I love the school, there are times when I feel that parents should be given more notice about what is going on. Also, the afterschool program leaves much to be desired for the younger children.


Icahn Charter School 2 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
what I love about this school is how they help prepare my daughter for academic success.

Icahn Charter School 2 3

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
This is our daughter's first year in this school and so far we have no complaints. The teachers are caring and the staff seems to know all of the students by first name, which is very nice.

Icahn Charter School 2 5

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
I have two kids at Icahn charter school 2 and Icahn charter school 4, and they love it. They are still construction part of the school but it is going to be a huge nice building in the Bronx, District 11. My daughter is 5 years old and she is already reading multiple books. All Icahn charter schools have the same curriculums and have strong emphasis on the care program which teaches the kids to respect one another.


Icahn Charter School 2 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
This will be my son's second yr at this school, which relocated to their own facilities this yr. in 2010. I am speaking of Icahn 2, because I have noticed that other Icahn schools are rating theirs here as well. I cant really comment on his teacher this year, but I can say that the staff, and teachers I have met are great. I have compared what my child has learned to other children his age that attend public school, and it does not meet the high level of education that my son receives at this school. I was amazed each and every day at the knowledge that he brought home everyday. I am very proud and grateful that my child attends Icahn Charter 2.

Icahn Charter School 2 4

Posted June 24, 2010
- a community member
This is my children's first year with Icahn Charter School 2 and I love it! The curriculum is well above average for the Kindergarten class. Yes, the weekly homework assignments seemed a little too much at first and the school day and spring semester are a bit longer than regular public school system, but my children have adapted and can read and write very well. I don't have any complaints for the school, except that the afterschool program lacks the same standards as the classroom.

Nearby schools

Icahn Charter School 2
1640 Bronxdale Avenue, Bronx, NY  10462
(718) 828-6107
Last modified Icahn Charter School 2 is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top