Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Chapel School (The)

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Bronxville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,072,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

Nice school, clean and wouldn't say it's top notch. Reading is the priority, and technology. No advanced Math classes at all. Very large boy population. Uniform policy doesn't apply to everyone. Good education but if your child excels in math I don't recommend. No regents not that much TACHS prep. Small class sizes are good. Very family oriented which is nice. Many times teachers ask for classroom supplies for projects. The high tuition should take care of construction paper . Students are coddled and not always prepared for high school life. Girls often leave.


Posted August 5, 2012

an absolutely top-notch school in every way. My child has attended since Pre-K, and I have every intention of remaining through the completion of eighth grade. Every other school pales in comparison. The environment is safe, warm & deeply caring, and the academic standards are high, with the best and most dedicated faculty I've ever encountered anywhere. My only complaint is that Chapel doesn't go right up to 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

The Chapel School is simply outstanding. Principal Dhyne runs the school with a genuine care and concern for each and every student. The student body is wonderfully diverse - which is invaluable given the lopsided demographics of Westchester County. Perhaps most impotant of all, the teachers have exceeded even my wildest expectations. They all seem to care so very much about the children. The relatively small class sizes allow them to develop real relationships with the kids - and I just couldn't be any happier with the Chapel School. My children could have attended any school in the area - I am thankful we chose Chapel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

It is not possible to rate this school highly enough. There is no point system that can give Mr. Dhyne a score that is commensurate with his love, vision and leadership of this amazing school. I don't think I have ever felt so good about an investment that I have made. Every day I drop my children off. I hand them over to a team of educators that clearly love their job as well as love my child. In addition, my children are receiving a top-notch outstanding education. I have watched both of my children (one who struggles, one who excels) blossom and literally explode with excitement for learning! This school is run with a balance of excellence and joy! We are truly happy to be providing our children with The Chapel School experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

Character counts at The Chapel school. After seeing Mr. Schultz the director of the basketball team pull one of the winning chapel 6th grade boys basketball teams off the court last season because of repeated unsportsmanlike behavior by an opposing team and moreover interference from their unruly parents, I could only wish for a time when all school sports programs were ran this way. If you're looking for a school that's interested in maturing the whole child and not just test scores, Chapel is a slam dunk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I love, love, love Chapel School. My three older children all attended preschool there and my youngest will be entering the 3's program next year. It is such a wonderful place. Lots of warmth, good academics, emphasis on Christian teachings and basic Bible stories. My children were well prepared to enter Elementary School and were ahead of their peers who attended other preschool programs. Socially, it is very low-key with a diverse crowd from all over Southern Westchester. The PTO does a great job hosting fun, family friendly events at little to no cost (bring your sleeping bag Movie Night for example) and the big fundraiser each year is a low-pressure event. I can't say enough good things about Chapel School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Great School, Teachers and administration. Parents are involved, nice playground for younger kids and the older kids get to share the field with Concordia College when they aren't in use. A great school overall. They have a great reading program, and the math program may be catching up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

I feel so lucky to have found The Chapel School. Not only are they getting a good academic education, but they are also getting an education about empathy, treating others with respect, manners, and kindness. The principal, Mr. Dhyne, middle school principal, Mr. Schultz, and all the teachers and staff have created a warm, safe environment with above par academics. My kids love it too! Cara Kealy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

As a parent of a student, we can attest to the benefit of the small classes and close personal attention of the teachers. We have veiwed the religious elements as positive as does not take away from the academic focus of the school. As a bronxville resident, we elected to pay the tuition despite the great public elementary school. Second to none in the lower westchester area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

Chapel school is a great school. The academics is well above average. I always speak highly of the school. It is by far the best in Southern Westchester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

Chapel School is a small school that provides a caring and nurturing environment. Although academics are important, they care for the whole child. My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and is now completing the third grade. He as been challenged academically and is reading at an advanced level. Chapel offers an excellent reading program and a math program that provides a solid foundation. It is a well rounded school that offers music, art, and athletics. Parents have the opportunity to participate and plan in the areas of academics, extra-curricular activities, fund raising, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Absolutely wonderful school, safe environment, excellent facilities, christian education. Very highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2005

Chapel School is an excellent school - the academic program is above average compared to the local public schools - there is no more than 17 students in each class. They concentrate more on the academics vs. sports - but they do have a sports program. Volleyball, Basketball, Softball. It runs from pre-K through 8th grade. the only thing is that there is no affiliated High School. The school does encourage parent involvement - their are several fund raisers held during the course of the school year. Most of which are run by the parents - this helps reduce costs. My son has enjoyed going to this school because it is a small school and the students move from one grade to another together. The principal and vice principal/coach knows each child by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

The Chapel School is a wonderful school that my child has been going to for 8 years. The teachers are wonderful, and their teaching skills are wonderful! My child is in the 7th grade, and this school goes up to 8th. I intend to keep her there untill she has to leave, and she feels the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Dhyne
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

172 White Plains Rd
Bronxville, NY 10708
Phone: (914) 337-3202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Chapel School
Bronxville, NY


William E Cottle School
Eastchester, NY



Tuckahoe Middle School
Eastchester, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT