Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mazel Day School (F.R.E.E.)

Private | PK-8 | 175 students

We are best known for academic excellence, nurturing environment and values.

 
 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $351,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

Our daughter has been going to Mazel school since kindergarten and is in 4th grade now. She has been blossoming ever since. The amount of individual attention is parent-teacher contact is superb. Even school is religious, there is never any pressure and children from ALL levels of observance (if any) are welcome at Mazel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

amazing school, all teachers are very attentive to out kids. Parent community is very supportive and involved. Our kids enjoy coming to school to interact with their friends and learn new and exciting things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

We drive our daughter 10 miles everyday for 3 years just to make sure she is in this school. It's says a lot given we live in the neighborhood with one of the best public schools in Brooklyn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

this is school is great! My daughter attends it and as soon as my son was born I put him on waiting list. Amazing and very attentive teachers, great administration, and very close, caring parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

This is my son's 3rd year in the school and he loves going there! It has a great academic program which also instils great values in kids. The school director is very open and responsive to parents' suggestions and comments and my son gets the personal attention he needs based on his stregths and weaknesses. We love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

I am a parent of a child that has been attending Mazel Day school since Pre-K and is currently in 3rd grade. Mazel is a phenomenal school where you really are getting tremendous value for your money. The children are getting top notch education in modern small classrooms with teachers, principal and administration who really care. In addition the principal and the administration of the school really seek feedback from parents and react to it. Mazel Day school is the best education that money can buy for a child in Brooklyn. Great secular education, enrichment classes and Jewish education. I am extremely happy with the school and would recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

Mazel Day School gets 5 stars from me. I am very happy with the school and the results are evident in my children, both on the educational level and their character. This school is special because it concentrates on getting high academics results (my 4th grader scored all 4's on State Exams), as well as nurturing and refining a child's character, helping them to become a better person, teaching them to care and respect their family, friends, community and the world they live in. Other pluses: excellent teachers, small classes, renovated facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

This school is really the best-kept secret of Brighton Beach! The way in which the children are treated is really something special. The teachers are attentive, professional, and really know how to help each and every student succeed. I am so lucky to have this school for my children. Besides a Jewish Day School option in Brooklyn is hard to find - so having this one right in the neighborhood is a blessing! Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

I came into this building to find out more information, possibly to enroll my son. But the people at the office were unbelievable! Not only were they rude, obnoxious but also did not want to be bothered (as if I came to their house to chat). One was on the phone, the other was looking through papers, after this kind of disrespect I turned around and left. I will never go back there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

Excellent school and very nurturing and caring teachers! I love everything about the school and my child is excited to go to school every day! Teachers prepare daily blog postings about your child's day in school, send a form back with your child's daily activities and much more! Thank you, Mazel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Mazel provides children with a safe, nurturing, motivating, and positive learning environment. The teachers truly care about the students and parent involvement is high. Best of all, our son is excited about school and learning, and has cultivated friendships that will last a lifetime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Both of my girls are in Mazel Day School and I love the age appropriate curriculum for each. My oldest is only 5, but her homework is already advanced, which challenges her thinking and prepares her for kinden garden. Also very loving and nurturing environment. Its very personal, when you call the office everyone knows your child and tries to accomodate their needs, you are not just a number...Go Mazel!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

it fullfills the need of the community in the best possible way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Very good education level, very nice and friendly staff. And most importantly they're teaching Judaism
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

diffrentiated instruction and lots of personal attention to every student!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2010

Mazel provides their students with strong roots from which to grow. They offer a unique day school experience that fosters both cognitive and emotional growth in a warm, nurturing Judaic environment. Their desire to create a love of learning that will remain with their students throughout their lives. Maezel Day School provides an excellent, well-rounded academic education that emphasizes personalized learning. Classes have low student-teacher ratios, allowing teachers to differentiate an enriched curriculum. Their experienced and dedicated faculty provides a creative, energized approach to education that challenges and excites students at a young age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Mazel has an amazing balance of warm, nurturing atmosphere and high goals for excellence in education. Highly recommended for Russian-Jewish families!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

The principal is so supportive and helpful. The atmosphere in the school is so warm!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Mazel is run by an extremely dedicated administration who carefully selects skilled and caring teachers. The administration and the teachers work together to foster social, emotional, and academic growth amongst the students. Thus facilitating the development of well rounded individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Improv

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 4:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Chani Okonov
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Jewish

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • Buses available for Grades K-6
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • MDS is a child-centered, values-oriented educational institution dedicated to academic excellence & Jewish heritage. Our motto is: “instilling a love for learning & the joys of Judaism”. Our mission is to empower students with the tools they will need as they embark on their Life Journeys. Enriched by Judaism's values & wisdom, we cultivate the ability to be good students, good friends, & good people, providing a secure foundation which prepares them to thrive in a complex & changing world.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 21, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$10000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2901-2915 Brighton 6th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11235
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 368-4490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 370
Brooklyn, NY


I.S. 98 Bay Academy
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT