Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 682 The Academy of Talented Scholars

Public | K-5 | 342 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

PS 682 has the exclusive NEST program for kids with Autism who are hand-selected after a rigorous application process. All of TAOTS benefits greatly from NEST, they receive funding, positive behavior supports in place for all kids, creative methods in training teachers, a positive social environment encouraged by focusing on what makes us connected instead of differences that can result in bullying & more! A first grade Nest class has 4 spectrum kids and 12 neurotypical ones. The "regular" children are not "suffering" as suggested but quite the opposite. Their kid is in a smaller class with 2 teachers who encourage social interaction of EVERY child. If a "regular" kid struggles, it is not because of Nest. Students are not only with their classmates all week long. They socialize with the entire grade during enrichments, recess, etc. Kids make friends in the other classes too. TAOTS has many wonderful things to offer: the communicative and hard working staff, the beautiful building, the great PTA, a challenging curriculum, enrichment clusters, etc. My only critique is I'm not a huge fan of the Teacher's College Reading & Writing so I supplement with more phonics, etc. at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

I have two children in this school. Teachers are young and enthusiastic. School is relatively new and clean. My youngest is in the first grade and complains that nobody plays with her during recess. She is NEST class, half of children are with Special needs and these children are benefitting a lot from being with regular children. But my child is suffering, half of the class isn't social the other half has few girls that are mean to her and boys are just not interested. Although, she benefits Academically since there are 16 children and 2 teachers, great pupil/teacher ratio. I'm not sure how this issue could be solved. They use Singapore math, which is a huge plus. My children in general love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This is our 4th year with TAOTS, and my opinion has not changed since my first review here three years ago - with all pluses and minuses the school is just wonderful )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

This is our last year in this school and the standards for the next one are set very high. Till this day my child runs to school in the morning. The teachers are A M A Z I N G!!! Their patience, creativity and positive attitude made my daughter fall in love with learning and I consider it a lifelong gift. I am so thankful and so very sad to be leaving TAOTS after this year. My daughter said, she'l visit it often and one day will bring her kids there :)))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

TAOTS is the best school in the neighborhood. I feel so blessed and lucky for my daughter. The Principal, administrators, and teachers are just wonderful. They know each and every student's name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

My children attended a private pre-K and I think the school is as close to private as you can get. I love the fact that it is small, its facilities, the enrichment, that it is a choice school and it s onsite afterschool program. I have found the teachers approachable and caring. I have recommended the school to others who have been very happy they found this great school in brooklyn. I really enjoy the vast majority of the parents as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

It s our second year with TAOTS and we can t stop raving about this school. We came from a totally different environment - district school with low standards of teaching and bulling. Since then my daughter s grades have significantly improved, and most importantly she feel at home in TAOTS. Kudos to all the teachers, great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

amazing Staff, amazing parents, but most importantly AMAZING students!!!!!


Posted October 25, 2010

The teachers and administration are wonderful! The school has great enrichment programs and an excellent academic curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Great education! The principal is doing excellent job!


Posted October 25, 2010

My grandchildren like this school very much. I see how they improved in reading, math, science and technology. Thanks to all teachers and principal.


Posted October 25, 2010

My grandchildren love this school and all teachers who work so hard to make the education on the top.


Posted October 25, 2010

I love this school. My niece keep telling me how she likes to go to school every day. I am happy that all teachers work hard to make kids happy and educated.


Posted October 25, 2010

My son is happier here than at any school he previously attended both public and private ($$$$$$). The teachers really understand students and give them a lot to process in a way that they're never bored! My son comes home with a heavy load of homework which he manages to complete rather quickly, because he understands it all. The campus is only 2 years old, bright and cheerful to provide children with a positive learning environment. My son is happy and never bored. Parents have a lot of input in to school curriculum and the school recently switched to Singapore Math method!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Finally, a new excellent school in Brooklyn! The teachers are nice and understanding. My son loves the Enrichment Clusters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Wonderful teachers, multi-sensory approach to learning, fabulous music and art programs, warm and caring environment, experienced, attentive principal... TAOTS is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The teachers and the entire staff are absolutely wonderful. Everyone works together to make the entire program special for our children. The classes are fun, engaging and very different from the typical school programs. They put a lot into self discovery, personal talents and the arts. The teachers are always thinking about ways to challenge the kids. Most of all, the administration is always thinking of new and exciting things to do to make every moment of every day better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

Great staff, excellent study and after-school programs. Too many good things to mention... I am sure that many parents agree with me that this school is the best one in Brooklyn, NY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I transferred my daughter to this school and couldn't be happier. The administration is wonderful and the program is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

Wonderful school! Excellent staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

This school was not given a Progress Report Grade by the NYC Department of Education for the 2009-2010 school year.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 67% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 20% 9%
Hispanic 1 10% 23%
Black 2 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 115%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 246%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 41%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 32%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 253 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22584%
Teachers28100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JOSEPHIN SPORTELLA-GIUSTO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Ave P
Brooklyn, NY 11218
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 621-2730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshivah Ohel Moshe
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 247
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 97 The Highlawn
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 128 Bensonhurst
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT