Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brooklyn Prospect Charter School

Charter | 6-8 | 400 students

 
 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $709,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

I absolutely love it here. It is very easy to contact teachers whenever needed, and they give us our own school emails to that we can contact students/teachers for anything.We can respectfully advocate for ourselves and the teachers will take a serious look into it. (we once had a whole day to just talk and tell teachers what we appreciate, and what they could improve on as teachers, and vise versa) The lunch is AMAZING. I used to have to bring in lunch from home, but it's not needed anymore :D One thing that the school could improve on for sure is giving us a longer lunch and recess period, because we are often rushing to eat. Im not the biggest fan of the uniforms as well. Overall I think this is a great school and if you had heard about it i would definitely recommend considering it for your child :) - A student


Posted March 9, 2014

I am a 10th grader at Brooklyn Prospect and I've been in this school since it opened back in 2009 when I was in 6th grade. When I first started being in the school, it was an okay school. I was pleased with this school from 6th to 8th grade but when I got to 9th, it just got annoying and stressful. I agree with the second review (that there is way too much homework and you get a grade for absolutely everything) and its crazy that if we don't do one assignment, our grade as a whole for that class drops tremendously. I also feel like most of the teachers don't care about your grades and don't try to help. There are times when we have to do projects for every class like every week and I think that's too stress ful. I also feel like most of the students feel this way. And I think that this school is taking the whole IB thing a bit too serious especially with the personal project. Overall, I give this school 2 out of 5 stars.


Posted October 17, 2013

We are now finishing the first marking period and I took a look at the parent portal to see how my child is doing. It looks like the students are given a grade on absolutely everything they touch and do. In one class for the first six weeks, my child received 31 grades starting on the very first day of school. This was for 19 classroom days in that course. While having up-to-date information is good, I do not know how one teaches if the kids are not allowed to make a mistake. If an assignment is late (and late is not handed in that day), they can only make up two for 50% credit a semester and otherwise get a 0% and a whole is created. There were also a lot of mistakes in the grading score. For some kids this might be good, but I would not want to teach this way. It has gotten worse from last year as well as testing and statistics seem to be prized. Think about it before assuming this is the first choice for District 15 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

The school has very motivated and talented teachers, but they are young and need time to mature. The administration needs to focus more on teacher development but seems more focused on expansion and building its brand. Given the right leadership, the teachers at this school can be among the best in the City but they need more time. Some are very responsive to parents but others are difficult to get focused on student challenges. Also, the MS principal can be unresponsive if approached with problems and seems too focused on the state test scores as a measure of success. This hurts students with IEPs or are struggling in one area or another when intervention is needed. I question whether the school needs to better understand IEPs and how to handle students with learning difficulties and disabilities. The school seems all too focused on messaging and spin at times which when over the top really hurts the cause. In the end, there are some really positive aspects to Brooklyn Prospect but some very negative areas that they need to focus on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My son goes to BPCS (8th grade). We have been generally happy with the school. It is professionally run, the students are well educated, they handle social difficulties responsibly (e.g., bullying, conduct issues). The main areas of difficulty have been: 1. the school is sometimes overly strict in certain grading policies and teachers have made significant errors in keeping track of student absences or whether assignments were handed in. You really have to double check. 2. Since BPCS has its own High School and hopes the students will attend, they are less helpful than most schools where it comes to preparing for the admissions process for other local High Schools. Basically, they will give you the paperwork you need but not offer guidance. That's a disappointment if your child is not 100% certain that he or she wants to continue at BPCS for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

My older daughter is in 8th grade and will stay for high school and my younger daughter will enter 6th grade in the fall. I have been extraordinarily impressed by the teachers, administration, and staff of the school. The teachers are either extremely experienced or are young and energetic - and paired with a senior teacher. The breadth of the curriculum and the focus on global citizenship are well designed to prepare our students for the future. The terrific math and science as well as the inspiring humanities, arts, and literature provide an excellent balance. We are also happy to be part of a community that values diversity of all types. Every school has room to improve - at Brooklyn Prospect, every adult in the building is thinking about improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This is the first school I've worked at where I would also want to send my own child. Teachers here work around the clock on behalf of the students. Although the students may not know it, many teachers (even the best!) tape our classes as a way to continuously grow as professionals, to develop our craft of teaching. Our curriculum includes many in-depth projects, ranging from building wind turbines and holding a Renaissance Fair in sixth grade, to computer programming and Earth Science inquiry projects in 9th grade. We also work hard to teach students the skills needed for success in future classes and on high-stakes exams. The school provides a lot of structure for students, with clear and consistent policies and practices from classroom to classroom, but also gives the students freedom and choice appropriate to their age & development. Middle school students wear uniforms, for example, while high school students have only a dress code.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2013

I am a 9th grader at this school currently and I feel that the curriculum is too much fluff and doesn't get to the basics as someone else said below. I feel that the teachers and staff are all so new at this and they are learning as we are learning. For example the teachers video tape during class, (which makes uncomfortable ) to help the, see what they are doing wrong. Bottom line, they have a lot of room for improvement and that's not beneficial to us students and sometimes effects our grades


Posted December 17, 2012

The quality of teaching at Brooklyn Prospect is fabulous. My 6th grader and 9th grader are challenged and encouraged; differentiated instruction really happens here. The International Baccalaureate curriculum is regarded around the world as rigorous and balanced, with an emphasis on 21st century skills and community service. Brooklyn Prospect is definitely college-prep. The school values student diversity and it benefits from innovative leadership, outstanding Middle School and High School Principals, and active parent involvement. It is growing by a grade each year to a full Gr 6-12 school (serving Grades 6-9 in 2012-2013). Permanent location in Windsor Terrace at 3002 Fort Hamilton Parkway as of Sept 2012, following a $1.6 million renovation. Admission is by lottery with more than 1,000 students applying for 100 spots. Word is out on this amazing school (www.brooklynprospect.org).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

I taught here for a brief period and could not wait to submit my resignation! The leadership team is weak and ineffective. It is clear that there is a complete breakdown in communication between parents, teachers, and administrators. There is far too much fluff in the curriculum instead of basic skills.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2012

My grandson is a brand new 6th grader this year and so far I'm very pleased. The school is very organized and structured, curriculum is engaging, excellent teachers , diversity, homework is manageable and my grandson is thriving.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 42% 48%
Hispanic 2 34% 23%
Black 1 18% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/A43%
Female 147%N/A49%
Male 153%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 31%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 19%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 588 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21355%
Students33780%
Teachers38100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3002 Ft.Hamilton Parkway
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Phone: (347) 889-7041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT