Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
Can't say enough about this school! What a beuatiful warm environment at HLA. My child is learning things in the kindergarten that I am simply just amazed by. He loves talking in hebrew and is genuinely excited about going to school. Can't say enough!

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was a student at HLA from grade 1 through grade 5. She is currently in Middle School and is doing very well. HLA has prepared my daughter not just academically, but socially and emotionally for this big milestone in her life. HLA's school community provided her with the necessary academic skills such as: taking pride in your work; diligence; love of literacy; appreciation for the Arts & Music; and goal setting. My daughter was in a diverse school environment at HLA. She was taught to respect her peers and teachers, to stand up for what's right, not to be a bystander, and to work cohesively with her peers. She has made long-lasting friendships at HLA. My daughter and her classmates were accepted to top schools: Cunningham, Mark Twain, David A.Boody, and other prestigious private schools. My daughter and her friends apply everything they learned at HLA to their Middle School experience. I feel blessed she had such an amazing opportunity to be inspired by warm, loving teachers and a rigorous fun curriculum! My daughter loves her new school, but says the HLA is HOME!


Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Love hla my kids love to go to school the teachers are great!!! The staff are very polite!!!! The principal mrs sliver is great The school deserves to of had a chance to go to 6 th grade hopefully Next year!!!

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school. Real treasure. Music, art, chess, gym, hebrew... caring teachers. The school makes children well rounded individual. I feel blessed. Lottery based acceptance. So, good luck!

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2013
- a parent
this is school is the best ever it is a shame they did not get the 6,7,&8 grade in the charter i hope and prey they will next year


Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Love, love, love HLA! My daughter has been going to HLA since the first opened in 2009. The school has grown, and matured so nicely. The cohesiveness of the administration, and the staff provides such a strong environment for our kids. My daughter's teachers are our saviors. This also includes the school social worker, who is a gift from above. My daughter has excelled beyond my expectations. When one of her teachers runs downstairs when I pick her up just to tell me that she wanted to cry from happiness because of major strides my child made that day, it makes me want to cry. To see the teachers that invested in these kids is invaluable. The curriculum is so strong, and parental input is always welcome. HLA deserves recognition. What a wonderful community.

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Both my kids attend HLA and absolutely love it. They have great teachers and so many activities that other schools do not offer. I am so happy that my children have this opportunity to attend a great school.

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
My son just started at HLA this year. He loves going to school and is learning amazing things. He gets to have gym daily, chess, music and art. He is rapidly learning to read and speak hebrew. His memory is challenged every week by memorizing a poem. He learns about nature and is surrounded by a multicultural group of wonderful kids. He even asks when he'll get to go to school in the school holidays. I love the uniforms as it has eliminated morning struggles as to which spider man tee shirt he wants to wear :). He's recently been on a field trip to the botanical gardens which he couldn't stop talking about. The teachers are wonderful and caring. There are two teachers per class unlike one per 25 kids at a regular ps. The school is like a private school for free. I feel great about my choice and will send my you get son there as well.


Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers and learning enviroment! My kids (K and 2nd grade) look forward to going there each morning. Happy with the cirruculum as well

Hebrew Language Academy 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
I have two kids in HLA. Teachers are fantastic. A lot of enrichment activities. My kids love it and so do I. Highly recommend it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hebrew Language Academy
2186 Mill Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11234
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (718) 377-7200
Last modified Hebrew Language Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top