Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Hope Academy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 20, 2016
- a community member
the greatest asset to the school is the science teacher Ms.Z. her patience and hands on approach is A+

New Hope Academy Charter School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 20, 2016
- a community member
the homework isn't enough, when i ask my son if they check his work,he says no.


New Hope Academy Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 20, 2016
- a community member
with all the negative things going on in that school. the students at time do not respect anyone.

New Hope Academy Charter School 2

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
First, I would like to say, my reason for writing this review is not coming from an emotional place. What I will state are facts. Facts that led to the decision to remove my child from this environment. NHA is not what it used to be. I enrolled my child in 2012 in Kindergarten. I thought this school was great and their curriculum was rigorous. The decline from 2012 to 2016 is insurmountable. A revolving door of staff is an understatement, poor leadership is an understatement. I was an active parent so I got a chance to see a great deal. We were told at meetings that the reasons why teachers are leaving mid-term was due to "obtaining jobs at the bd of ed, and not being able to cut the mustard." Lies. Teachers left because they felt bullied and disrespected by the non-certified principal, and a board who seem to be bound and gagged. Teachers have continued getting fired abruptly since I removed my child in December. They have also been quitting abruptly. The principal fires anyone effective immediately who wishes to give two weeks notice. She also fires staff abruptly and has them escorted out by security like criminals. They are told to "pack up and leave immediately." All of this right before testing time. An entire testing grade of teachers GONE by December. I could go on. I strongly advise against sending your child to this school until they get it together COMPLETELY. Which in my opinion...like any start-up company, will take some time. Horrible leadership at the present moment. They barely got re-chartered in 2015, and had the audacity to fire the principal who was instrumental in getting them re-chartered, and was responsible for the increase in state exam scores. Fired the woman over the summer so the parents couldn't make complaint. Escorted her out of the building. For this school to have been founded by a church, so many unrighteous events have occurred. Parents, bottom line, DO NOT send your children here. This is not a good school, and do not fall for all of the advertising that goes on. Their enrollment numbers have fallen significantly since September and they need to recruit. Send your children to a school with an experienced principal, and a stable staff body. You can voice all you want, you will NOT be heard as a parent and your concerns will fall on deaf ears. Don't take my word for it, just ask around. Facts do not lie.

New Hope Academy Charter School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
I'd like to let the principal during the 2015-2016 year that she is not a role model and should not be allowed to lead people let alone children. Threatening staff, bullying people, and trying to fight someone who chose not to work for you is no way to set an example.


New Hope Academy Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
Many teachers at New Hope are not highly qualified and don't have certification. They lack classroom management and don't know how to teach basic skills.

New Hope Academy Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
They give the right amount of homework, but the quality of homework is another story. It's below grade level.

New Hope Academy Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 30, 2016
- a community member
Children run wild, hit staff, fight each other, and get rewarded fro having tantrums with school parties, christmas presents, and ice cream.


New Hope Academy Charter School 3

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Because everyday a teacher quits or get fired, there is no consistency at this school. People are power hungry all they want is position at whatever cost.

New Hope Academy Charter School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Don't thinks so the children are treated like robots and they talk bad about the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Hope Academy Charter School
475 East 57th Street, Brooklyn, NY  11203
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (718) 337-8303
Last modified New Hope Academy Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top