Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lefferts Gardens Charter School

Charter | K-1 | 232 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

Lefferts Gardens Charter School has been great, we moved from another state and we were welcomed with open arms. LGCS has exceeded my expectations. I am truly excited to have joimed with such a wonderful school. Science, mathematics, ASL, Arts and sports are just a few of the activities that he has experience. I am over excited to see what the years to come will bring to my young child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

LGCS is a neighborhood charter school with an environmental science focus. Classes from K-3 are team-taught (ICT) and students have PE and recess every day. My son loves the science curriculum and field studies, which take students weekly to cultural partners including the Prospect Park Zoo, the NY Aquarium, the Queens Hall of Science, Old Richmond Town, and more. The school is new and has had some issues but seems to be on the right track this year with a new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

My daughter entered for the fall 2013 kindergarden class. When i first heard about this school coming to Lefferts Gardens i was so excited. In the first couple of years i know they had some problems keeping a good school leader. But i believe they have found that in the new principal Michael WIndram. From listening to him speak you can see and feel that he his very passionate about teaching the kids. My daughter has blossomed even more since coming to LGCS. She looks forward each week to the fields they go on. I would definitely recommend this school to any neighborhood family. You won't regret it. My only wish is that the school went to the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

This school seems like a wonderful place to work and help students learn, however, the current administration is not too compassionate when it comes to the hiring process. I was invited in to do a demonstration lesson and interview for a full morning. As a person who is not familiar with the city one-way streets I took some wrong turns and got lost on the way to the school. After driving over two hours to get there and then struggling to find a parking spot outside the school building, I was turned away and not permitted to continue and be considered for the position. My entire weekend was spent on lesson plans and making charts and handouts, but my talents and abilities were not recognized or acknowledged.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2013

This school is improving each year as it progresses. They have a new principal, Michael Windram who is very hands-on and involved. Their Arts program is booming. They are in their 4th year and finally have a full time art teacher, Maude Wiltshire, who has implemented an outstanding art program. The teachers are very concerned about student progress and with 2 teachers per classroom a lot of work is accomplished every day. I am an excited parent and definitely recommend this school to neighborhood families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This science based school is great! My daughter entered for the fall of 2012 and enoys the program at Lefferts Gardens Charter School. She enojys the weekly science based trips to the BBG, Prospect Park Zoo, Construction kids and more. The Science truck is also a great addition to the program. The teachers are hands on and keeps you informed of your child's progress. If you feel you would like to have your child challenged, the teachers go as far as to give you supplimental work and challenging activities for your child. They have wonderful ways to show positive reinforcement on the great work the child has. I would recommend this school to anyone that lives within the district. Who wants their child going on a bus to travel far? If you are in district 17...this is the school for you! Happy Parent, wishing this school goes to grade 8
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

Great school, great curriculum, great teachers and staff! The school spans K to 2nd grade and will continue to add more grades until they reach 5th grade. The lessons plan incorporates weekly environmental and science-based field trips in collaboration with leading environmental institutions like the Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn Botanic Gardens and Prospect Park Zoo. Physical education and responsible nutruition is also stressed which are fundamentals missing in today's schools. The teachers, staff and school leader are focused and proactive. You really get a sense that everyone involved is dedicated to the success of the school and shares in the school's vision and mission. My son loves this school and as a parent,I love it more!!!! I think more parents should get involved and volunteer to make it a spectacular school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

My kids & I love this school! Partnered with local resources, weekly field trips keep children excited & engaged in the adventures of learning, some of which is well disguised as play. Its been my experience that the staff is friendly, knowledgable, respectful & supportive. Not only for the children they are intrusted to educate, but also their families. The higher adult/child ratio ensures learning, individual attention & the right environment for a child's success, with minimal disruption. As a single mom it is important to me that my children have both male & female role models. In a traditionally woman dominated field it is a relief to see that LGCS is not that model. Male role models are peppered throughout the school in both general staffing & classrooms and not just in the PE department! I view this as a real bonus for my children. There is a nice diversity of students as well, much more reflective of not only our diverse neighborhood but our global economy, something seriously lacking in many of our District 17 schools. Over all I am very pleased with LGCS, I find it is a great fit for my family & values, I recomend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

My daughter is finishing up first grade at LGCS. The weekly field trips to the Prospect Park Zoo, Audubon Society, Lefferts House and Prospect Park keep her excited and engaged. Her reading has progressed substantially in her year at LGCS as have her math and reasoning skills. I am very pleased with her progress and she loves going to school, and her teachers. She's made some really fun and fantastic friends. We are coming back for more next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 86% 19%
Hispanic 6% 23%
White 5% 48%
Asian 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 210 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents19872%
Teachers1252%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. WENDY RAMOS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Parkside Ave
4th Fl
Brooklyn, NY 11226
Phone: (646) 265-7898

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 141
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT