Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public charter
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 280
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
NO WAY. There is no compassion, caring and empathy in most of the teachers so students follow along. Military training has no room for empathy. This school just needs students and that's the bottom line.

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers are effective, but they seem to be new to the school and they have not yet been infected by the RIGIDEDNESS.


Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
If the school is trying to develop military robots then they are winning, but I would not like to be around when those robots graduate. They will have a rude awakening. Because this world is cruel and the students need to learn how to respect others.

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Students can do or say anything they wish to other students, just as long as they where their uniforms and the students follow al the "must Look" rules and regulations. Please lighten up this is not military school. These are children who needs to learn not only academic studies, but also the basic "respect for others and their differences."

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Students are told by a teacher that "I am here to teach not to Baby sit." True, but where will the human interaction come into play. If a teacher sees something, they do nothing!!! NYC has a standard of "See something say something" Additionally, please look into the so called "trouble line" why are students embarrassed when teachers yell out that a student needs to go to the trouble line for some simple issue like a students shirt is not tucked in? REALLY!


Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers just do not care. It is solely teach teach teach without interaction with students. Why have teachers then if a student could just sign in and learn?

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
They try to turn the children into little robots. I didn't send my kid to their school to become an android, I sent him there to learn academics.

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School 2

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Very unorganized. Yes, I had school bus issues too. The entire school bus issue was a mess then, when they finally got a school bus, they expected the driver to drive a bus and monitor a ton of screaming kids. Of course he eventually got into an accident. They still refused to put another adult on the bus. Ridiculous rules. Suspending and expelling children for nonsense. I gave 2 stars instead of 1 because the teachers are good. At least the ones my son had were. But honestly, I would avoid this school. You will love this school at first, everyone does. But when they start the craziness... Well... You'll understand why this school has to do so much aggressive recruiting.


Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Do not send your children to this school. The school is not professional at all. They tested my son for the wrong grade and never retested him for his proper grade.They also never sent me the summer homework packet needed for his correct grade. Everytime I call them or leave a message I am told that the correct summer packet is in the mail and I still have not recieved it. They also stated that they provide bus service and I have not recieved any call about that I called them repeatedly about those issues and did not get a responce or I was told its being taken cared of. This is a horrible school dont send your kids there. There are much better charter schools out there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School
80 Underhill Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11238
(718) 250-5760
Last modified Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brooklyn East Collegiate Charter School Rating: 1 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top