Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 372 The Children S School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 492 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2013

My son graduated last June, and I am so grateful he went here. My daughter is in the third grade, and loves it. Our principle is fantastic, always available to talk, and a strong facilitator for our school. The classes are bright, filled with art, and never over crowded. We had an event last night, and I was talking with a parent whose daughter went to a different school at first, a "good" school, and we both agreed that ALL kids should have this education model. My son was found to have a reading disorder in the 3rd grade and the services he was suppose to get where already in place, nothing had to change in his classroom routines. His education experience would have been much different if he had gone to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

My son is in first grade and has had challenges in the past with frustration tolerance. We have seen him blossom and grow in the inclusion environment, and develop an empathy for his peers that he hasn't shown before. With four teachers (2 teachers, 2 paras) in the room, the staff is able to give the children the support they need. Mr. Artie, the principal, is great and very visible. We love The Children's School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

My daughter just started at PS 372 for 2nd grade this year. The communication I have received from this school in the first month and a half of school has been more than I have received in the entire past two years from her previous school. Her current teachers are wonderful. I am excited about the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son just started Pre K and so far everything has been a positive experience. There are 4 teachers in his class therefore every child gets their needed attention. Parents at this school are very involved and stay connected thru emails. After School seems to be expensive compare to some public schools that offers it for free but they have financial assistance if you qualify. Staff are very helpful and friendly :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

If you are fortunate enough to get into this school it is pretty much as close to perfect as a New York Public School can get. There are 3-4 teachers to a class, they have gym or movement every day, the teachers are top rate, and the kids are all well prepared for exams and seem to get into great middle schools. The school is not over crowded, and the kids get access to computer labs, science rooms, art, dance, lego robotics. All the school events are well attended. The draw back is that it is not very diverse, which they are working on. The majority of the families are upper middle class and educated, and I wonder if parents who don't fit that description might feel a little left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Overall an excellent school, and outstanding model for inclusive education; there are 3 adults per class of 24 (2 teachers, 1 paraprofessional). Almost all teachers work very hard to insure that all children's needs are met-- in the same class, for some kids that means remedial work on phonemes, and for others, that means advanced literary topics. However, the Math curriculum does not allow much for customization according to child's ability. To address this, they have math groups (based on ability) in the upper grades, but for younger kids who excel in Math, they may not be challenged. Since this is an inclusion school, children with disabilities are in each classroom, so prospective families should be prepared to embrace inclusion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

A gem of a school! My daughter is in kindergarten there and we could not be happier! I feel so fortunate to be able to send my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

My son is very happy,the school is amazing he started Kindergarden this year ,all staff in the children school work hard. and we are very Happy. tks children's school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

My son just started Pre K this year and I am very happy with the teachers and he other staff. His teachers are very helpful and are were very flexable at open school night with me because I am a teacher as well. We are very pleased with The Children's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

The Children's School is amazing. The teachers, administrators and parents are all very committed to this school. A lot of emphasis is placed on individual childs' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

My son just started pre-k there this year and we have been thrilled with his teachers and thier commitment to each individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 60% 48%
Hispanic 1 18% 23%
Black 2 13% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 8% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 120%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 10%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 81 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents5531%
Teachers2654%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

512 Carroll St
Brooklyn, NY 11215
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 624-5271

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Al-Madinah School
New York, NY


Ps 282 Park Slope
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT