Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Medgar Evers College Preparatory School

Public | 6-12 | 1101 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

Listen, as a senior in class of 2014, I urge you NOT TO GO. The school is terrible and highly practices favoritism. The deans are very unruly and sarcastic towards the students then when the students bring their parents up, it's a different story. Also, the librarian is very miserable. They let their students stand out in the rain once if not wearing uniform. The principal continuously discourages the children. Some teachers are very good but others are just plain terrible. The nurses have a very bad attitude and the main office staff is even worse. Usually there is supposed to be a level of respect that the teachers have for the students. But the teachers, staff, deans, principal and everyone else are very disrespectful towards the students. And for some reason the students are always wrong.. Medgar does have a lot of AP classes. However, the schedules are always getting mixed up, transcripts also. Getting a recommendation letter is like pulling teeth. Once my college advisor even told me that no college would let me in." Everyone who has left medgar evers never looked back. It is a poor example of a school and I am embarrassed to go in there every day. It is a TERRIBLE SCHOOL.


Posted October 26, 2013

Medgar Evers Prep is a great school. As parent of child coming from another high school I have seen a major difference in the quality of work that is taught at this school It is a great pleasure to have my child attend this school There is a lot to offer the students The principal is always around so is also the vice principal. The kids attending this school has great future ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Outstanding school with superb leadership, outstanding teachers, caring counselors and staff, involved parent association and eager and motivated students as a result..


Posted May 16, 2013

I love this school , even though it is underestimated due to the school location, I have been trying to get my son into the school since 6th grade . The school offers many opportunities to under privilege students who want to learn, if my son does not achieve his goal , it has nothing to do with the teachers, they call constantly to update m of his accademic progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I am a public school teacher and my kids are 5 & 8 and without a doubt they both will be attending this school. I've written many recommendations for my students to attend and quite a few made it. I live in Queens but I know it'll be worth the commute to travel for a superior learning experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 21, 2011

Currently a Sophomore at this school. It's a good school. A lot of AP and college courses offered here. Not much racial diversity. At first I didn't even consider going here. I wanted to go to a specialized High school. But I don't regret coming here. Great track team and band. I've not heard much of our Basketball teams. I would recommend this school to anyone that wants to take AP and College courses. Best way of entering the school is by getting in at 6th grade. You take many regents exams before you even get to the high school. I wrote this because I felt that the other reviews on here about the school were just old and didn't have much information about the school. Bullying is not much of an issue. That statement annoyed me. Intelligence is welcomed. Although there are many teachers with accents that you may not understand at first. You'll get used to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

In September 2011, I'll be attending sixth grade in Medgar Evers College Prep. I'm really excited because I've heard only good reviews of this school. The only thing that I'm not so happy with is that all incoming sixth graders must attend their mandatory summer program from July 6th thru August 5th, 2011, due to summer school funds. But, it's only from 8 a.m. to 1p.m., so it's not that bad. I'd recommend this school to every parent that asked about it (my old kindergarten teacher works there now). Thanks 4 reading!


Posted June 1, 2011

I wish I could share the same views as others. I am not satisfied with the school. Some of the staff act as if they have no control of the students. Bullying is an issue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

this school is amazing and i am going their for 6th grade in 20ll in september


Posted May 11, 2010

i went here and i loveed it. it prepared me soo well and i wouldnt trade it for the world
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2010

I have a son attending MEPS who is currently in the 7th grade, and after fininshing the 1st year at MEPS, I can honestly say they have pushed him to limits he didnt even know he had! M son went from receiving a perfect score on his state exams ( both math, science and reading) to a gpa of 78. Now this isnt because he's not intelligent, on the contrary, this is because he's being challenged in a way that has his brain confused! He's taking Chinese as a second language! Almost unheard of in a standard Middle School. Thankful for me there's nothing standard about MEPS! I wish there wasnt gifted testing so that all 3 my children could attend, but Im gratefull that at least 1 of my children have gotten the opportunity. If your in limbo as to which school to send your child,dont be,this is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I am currently a senior at this great institution. Over the years I have attended Middle College High School, I have noticed the rapid growth and an excellence that has remained constant. One of the wonderful aspects about this school is the opportunity to take college level courses. I have personally taken 45 credits and some of my peers have taken on a similar workload. Needless to say, the opportunities available at Middle College are abundant. The Extra Curricular activities available at Middle College give us the chance to become well rounded students. For example, I participated in the Dance Club and Track Team. These activities challenged me in ways I had never experienced before but as a result, I have become stronger physically and socially. I highly recommend this school to any parent interested in the best for their children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2006

I am currently enrolled at this school and find it to be an oasis in our community. The teaching staff is excellent, most of whom have PH.D's in their area. The students are well disciplined and care about their education. College classes and AP courses are recommended by the teachers to get you ready for the road ahead. I especially like the fact that the staff is predominantly African American, it encourages us to learn better because the teachers know how hard it is for young African Americans to succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2006

Middle College High School is an excellent school, not only because of the high standards they set but also due to the fact that discipline is excellent and there is a wonderful peace and calm once you enter the building. The curriculum is challenging and students recieve so much support it is phenonal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Middle College High School is the best school ever, considering what you want best for your children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is a good school academically but is very disorganized am a past student at this school. I did not receive my ID card until the end on my sophomore year. Our schedules are constantly switched around to different classes. If I had a child I would definitely not sent him/her to such a school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
African American56%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%

Math

All Students64%
Female60%
Male69%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%

Math

All Students66%
Female60%
Male75%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female76%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Math

All Students63%
Female71%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

10 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

45 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students58%
Female58%
Male56%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant58%

Chemistry

All Students77%
Female73%
Male82%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Earth Science

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%

English

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
African American91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%

Geometry

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

Global History and Geography

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
African American84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

Integrated Algebra

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
African American91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%

Living Environment

All Students94%
Female91%
Male99%
African American94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Physics

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

U.S. History and Government

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African American93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level. The school received a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 96% 19%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1735 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents75967%
Students95181%
Teachers2548%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • DR. MICHAEL A. WILTSHIRE

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B43, B44, B45, B49. Subways - 4, S to Franklin Av - Botanic Garden; 3 to Nostrand Av; 2, 5 to President St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1186 Carroll St
Brooklyn, NY 11225
Phone: (718) 703-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 161 The Crown
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT