Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High School of Telecommunications Arts and Technology

Public | 9-12 | 1279 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2012

HSTAT is an excellent school. I am a senior and will be graduating this year. Telecommunications has never failed to help me with school work as well as private matters. I am so grateful that I am a part of the school. Tele is a very upscale school and I recommend all students should attend. The teachers are extremely kind, respectful, kind, caring and funny. Every class that I have been in, was a fun learning environment. I will greatly miss this school with the addition to my friends and teachers. Telecommunications is a phenomenal high school that I wish every student can be a part of. Class of 2013 ! Whoo - hoo :-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2011

This school is amazing! It was my first year in the school, and I had a tough time going in because I was scared to be moving from my middle school (a place in which I was very comfortable) to another school. My teachers and the staff did everything they could to help me. They made me feel like I belonged. The teachers are great, they took me from being a not so great math student, to a above average student. They are all so kind. There is nothing wrong with this school. I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2011

I can't praise this school enough. My son is a special education student and has graduated on time with a regents diploma. Thanks to the teachers, advisors, counselors and everyone else involved, my son has grown as a person as well as academically and is graduating with a sense of confidence and a motivation to reach his goals. I am very thankful to Tele, its one of the best schools in ny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

i amm almost done with my freshmen year and i have to say that this school is amazing with the challenging curriculum and the nice and caring teachers even though we do more work then other schools we get rewarded for that with an extra .25 credits for every class which really helps us in the long run and the teachers notice we do alot of work so they often reward us by not giving hw on the weekends
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2010

The High School of Telecommunication Arts and Technology has a lot to offer to its students. Peter J. Sharp Program for PSAT and SAT prep, Saturday regent's prep program, MindsMatter NYC inc program, Theatre Development Fund s Scholarship program, Posse Scholarship program and other variety of stuff. As an honor student, Telecommunication has helped me so much in developing academic habits with the loads of homework and its tough curriculum. Tele has help me get into summer programs like Global works Fiji islands, JSA Stanford University and Princeton University, Columbia University Summer program, NYU Summer, and other programs. It is a great school and an awesome opportunity to be an honor student because of the programs available to its students. Thanks to Telecommunication, I got a full scholarship to a private institution, and I graduated with other high achieving students who went to georgetown, columbia, NYU, RIT, and other tough schools
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

I honestly can say that Tele has never let me down. It has the type of potential that no other schools have. I've noticed that over the years, these other 'specialized high schools' try too hard, and compete just to get students that they can work like a dog. The High School of Telecommuncations Arts & Technology is a very well kept school with very high standards just like the students there. Everyone is respectful to eachother, etc. Tele sticks with their game, and never wants to compete, unless it's the sports teams =D. But I must say, that I could never argue against the fact that tele is a great school. It always was, and always will be. And now that it's my last year there, I am gonna be so bummed when I leave this place. My life basically started there. GO TELLEEEE! =D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

The school has a reliable staff and does not take themselves for something they are not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

We got a lot of homework which make our education better ! ALSO in Italian class is so much fun than i thought ~ :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

The experience i had in HSTAT is incredible and i could never forget them. the teachers in HSTAT goes beyond what a teacher are suppose to do. they take time off of their free time to even help students if it is necessary
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

It's small, but your teachers know you better and it's always adventurous here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Telecommunications is an amazing school. The teachers are amazing and the best. They are really caring and want you to suceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This school is great it has taught me everything i could know and all i need to know in order to succeed in life and in college thank you HSTAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Telecommunications is a great school with a top of the line education and teachers who get to know you. It's a really warm environment and I look forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

Its a high academy challenging school. its curriculum is very advanced with a lot of opportunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

I love HSTAT! It's the best high school ever! The school prepares you for college, and I can proudly say so!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I love this school. The parent coordinator is excellent and keeps parents/families well informed. The teachers, for the most part, are caring and make an effort to communicate with parents. My son's high school years here have been wonderful, and the negative academic experiences have been very few. I feel he is safe at school and that means a lot to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

In this is schoool my teacher's push me hard and I can't say they are all the best but they do try their best. This year will be my third year in this school and I haven't expirenced any violence. The only thing is that I lost a valubale piece of equipment. Now I am more cautious of my belongings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

I graduated from this school in 2001. I as well as most of my friends moved on to higher education and we have all graduated. This was a great high school and it really prepared me academically for the world. The neighborhood is a safe and the teachers care. As a future teacher I would hope to give back to this school one day.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 8, 2004

Great school. High academic standards and expectations. Excellent support from staff and teachers. High college acceptance rate. Principal is visible, involved, and approachable. The online feature that allows parents to keep track student academic progress creates a whole new level of parent involvement. Fantastic sports program. I have complete confidence that my son is receiving a top rate education. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

272 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
53%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

139 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

197 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

354 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

399 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

423 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

605 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

340 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
21%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

189 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students79%
Students with disabilities48%
General population81%

Chemistry

All Students64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population64%

Earth Science

All Students44%
Students with disabilities27%
General population51%

English

All Students90%
Students with disabilities73%
General population94%

Geometry

All Students69%
Students with disabilities43%
General population73%

Global History and Geography

All Students73%
Students with disabilities46%
General population83%

Integrated Algebra

All Students67%
Students with disabilities35%
General population80%

Living Environment

All Students73%
Students with disabilities50%
General population82%

Physics

All Students39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students85%
Students with disabilities61%
General population91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 23%
Asian 19% 9%
White 17% 48%
Black 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 18%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 38%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1417 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18615%
Students115890%
Teachers7390%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PHILIP WEINBERG

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - B4, B63, B64, B70, B9. Subways - N to 59th St; R to Bay Ridge Av
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 67th St
Brooklyn, NY 11220
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 759-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Adelphi Academy
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT