Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boys and Girls High School 4

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
While our principal is a great and fearless, leader as a parent this motivates me 100%. My child is a freshman and has a wealth of caring teachers. I look forward to keeping our parents engaged., and helping our principle to bring positive change.

Boys and Girls High School 1

Posted December 03, 2010
- a parent
Another thing about this school that tells me they are trying to close this school is that no student can bring home a text book . How is my child goind to complete with schools like brooklyn tech if my child can bring home his text book.


Boys and Girls High School
no rating

Posted March 25, 2010
- a parent
it's alright for the most part i will apreciated if the teacher were more involved with contacting the parents more often rather than just on open school nights

Boys and Girls High School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a student
I think BGHS is a very good school which helps student succeed

Boys and Girls High School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a student
Im A Student At BGHS &* ii Feel That This School Has Helped Me Alot With The Problems I Have &* With Many Other Things..The Teachers At The School Respect Us For Who We Are &* They Dont Judge Us By Color Or Class...ii Feel Thiis Schol Will Take Me Where i Need 2tO Go &* Help 2tO Better The Decisions ii Make iin Liife


Boys and Girls High School
no rating

Posted August 31, 2009
- a teacher
Wait one minute. I am a hard working teacher that has worked at BGHS for years. I come to class prepared and expect my students to do the same. I too stay up late preparing for my classes. I love what I do and the students I teach. I am accessible to parents and students. The key is to be consistent and clear with expectations. Most parents and students appreciate that. BGHS has lots to offer and in a genuine family environment. BTW there are many more like me at BGHS.

Boys and Girls High School 4

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
My child is a senior, and three of my family members graduated from Boys and Girls. I rate this school ... Not A Problem At All! If you are an involved parent - YOU WILL NOT HAVE ANY ISSUES with your child receiving a good education from this school. B's & G's is a HUGE place, and if you are not on top of your child and sometimes the teachers - your child will fall through the cracks. This is why open school night and contacting your childs teacher is important. When a teacher see that the parent cares - Teachers Care More! Boys and Girls is a really a good school and the comments that I read seem to come from parents and students who have other issues than Boys and Girls.

Boys and Girls High School 1

Posted July 24, 2008
- a student
I can see why it's looked down upon.Teachers fail students and don't make any effort to promote success as a priority afterward. AP classes are far below standards. I wouldn't recommend ever considering you sending your children there, for their sakes.


Boys and Girls High School 1

Posted April 30, 2008
- a student
this school is a waste of time and a childs future i am a senior that didnt get help from the teachers at all i helped myself and still made it towhere i am today thank god im leaving b.g.h.s this june for good class of 08 parents dont send ur child here if u really want the best for them and their safety

Boys and Girls High School
no rating

Posted March 17, 2008
- a student
I went to this school in my freshman and spohmore years. I didnt learn anything nor did this school notice us by our name they new us numbers I really didnt like this school, now i am a senior at an school in South Carolina were i will be graduating on the A honor roll

Nearby schools

Boys and Girls High School
1700 Fulton Street, Brooklyn, NY  11213
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (718) 467-1700
Last modified Boys and Girls High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top