Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 1,309

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a teacher
Since retiring 13 months ago I have kept in touch with other staff members, and the school continues its steady downhill slide. The principal continues to allow an inner circle of staff members to pretty much do as they please, regardless of professional competence. More stress is made on towing the party line than on personal integrity; veteran teacher constantly express a desire to leave. Discipline is sorely lacking within the student body; administration simply commands little respesct and no fear. Yhe decline of this place is inexcusable, and can primarily be blamed on a singular lack of leadership.

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 1

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
I was a strong supporter of this school and was proud to tell of all the wonderful programs and opportunities offered my child who attends Transit Tech. However, I am sad to say it has deteriorated under the present leadership. They have a new start time at 7:13 AM. Of course no one including the teachers get there at that time. Some students have to travel by two buses and a train to get to school. So every morning my child misses at least 20 minutes of instruction in a 45 min class. When this was brought to the Principal's attention and the question was asked "So when are the students to eat breakfast?" his response was that the students do not eat the breakfast and that there is plenty of time for them to get to class. Of course, this is a scanning school. So he thinks it fine to have the doors open at 7am. Have students scanned - take off their belts and have their bags searched - eat breakfast and get to class by 7:13. Insane! In addition I have become a un-involved parent as my voice and the voices of other parents are not being heard. I am glad my child is leaving and while I still hold a great deal of admiration for the hardworking teachers - They need a real Principal.


Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a parent
it suckkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkk kkkkk kkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkk kkkk kkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkk kkkkkkkkk

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 1

Posted December 26, 2010
- a parent
This school isn't really what everyone makes it out to be. I have once worked as this school's staff.One of our jobs was too go to websites like this and write a good report about it. Most of the comments below are from other staff members with fake reports. The teachers are very lazy, and the students are very aggressive. There are certain teachers that teach collage courses who give a lot of work but aren't willing to take time out to help the students. Also the schools population is 80% guys who often cause problems.

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 1

Posted November 07, 2010
- a parent
My son has been attending transit tech high school for three years and let me tell you there is nothing special about this school. There are some very good teacher's in the school that are willing to help student's but the other's are really lazy. My son usually those well even when these odds where against him that was until he entered eleventh grade. The junior teacher's look like they don't want to teach. There are even some teacher's that teach Java programming where most of the student's failed. The student's that did pass only pass with low marks close to failing. There are many more problems with transit than just this


Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 4

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
My nephew has been here since 9th grade, hopefully and prayerfully he's going on to the 11th in Sept., and things are getting better, although I wish the parents would participate 'more' when it comes to the PTA Meetings and other programs. I do realize that some people are struggling, and going through some other issues, but shouldn't your children's education matter as well? Any way, I'm grateful for the progress that this school is making, and hope (and pray) that things continue to turn around for them, and get 'better' as time goes on.

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 5

Posted November 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 5

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
Great programs and opportunities


Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 4

Posted January 15, 2008
- a student
this is one of the bestest school i ever been to. To bad i moved but i know is a great learning school.

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School 0
no rating

Posted December 23, 2007
- a community member
This is a great school great teachers ans sometimes good students but its to over crowed every year u have new freshmen come to my school in start stuff thats not cool

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School
1 Wells Street, Brooklyn, NY  11208
(718) 647-5204
Last modified Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Transit Tech Career and Technical Education High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top