Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 4,261

4 stars
Based on 66 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


111 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Hamilton High School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
Fort is an amazing school that has so much diversity, the new dance department is great. Everyone gets along and even though it is a large school, everyone feels safe. Many of the teachers went to school at Fort before teaching here and that is pretty cool.
1 person found this helpful

Fort Hamilton High School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
My son is a freshman in the Fort Hamilton High School's Honors Program. This is a demanding rigorous program that expects alot from students - my son routinely has between two and three hours of homework each night. I like that this program does a great job of preparing the students for college. For example, my son is taking Public Speaking this semester and this is an extremely important useful trait. I have seen him grow in confidence in this class as the year has progressed. I also like how the school makes the teachers available to provide the students with additional help if it is needed during free periods or after-school hours.


Fort Hamilton High School 4

Posted November 01, 2013
- a student
Do not cut class, it will be the worst year you would have trust me. This school is great, some people say its bad, but its up to you if you want a good year make good choices. ;)

Fort Hamilton High School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
I loved this school. So many teams including track,basketball,golf,tennis,softball,handball,soccer, and more. The leadership program is club that will look good in your transcript if you join it. The guidance counselers don't do much but tell you sorry I can't do anything there are too many students in this school. And the library is where I recommend you to go in lunch because the lunch room is too humid and crowded from periods 5-7. The school Is diverse there are hispanics,blacks,Arabs,whites, asian and everyone! Some teachers are nice some arent. The school looks clean in the hallways but the classes have a lot of dust especially the gym. Over all it's good. All schools have ups and downs and it's nice and comforting here. Just join clubs like model UN. And anything that will get you busy.

Fort Hamilton High School 5

Posted August 07, 2012
- a student
All teacher is nice. We are the tiger school is very strong to win all the thing in the sport.


Fort Hamilton High School 5

Posted June 22, 2012
- a community member
About the honors program I know it's more challenging than the regular classes,but can someone ( preferably in the honors ) specify the daily routine of a honors freshman thanks. And talk about the teachers and students.thankssss'!!

Fort Hamilton High School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a student
this school is great i am a freshman and i love it here. the environment is very friendly and the teachers are nice and help you out a lot. im in the honors and the students are all smart and if you have any academic problems they have free tutoring one on one and Saturday academy which is pretty cool. they have a lot of teams and clubs, the teammates are very friendly, you become a one big family . this year Fort Hamilton made into the top 50 public schools which i am very proud of since the school is over populated, the principal and the staff really do a good job to keep the school one of the best. the teachers and the coaches really push you to your full potential. i love this school cz i really connected with the students and the teachers. if i had to suggest a high school it would be Fort Hamilton. GO TIGERS!!!

Fort Hamilton High School 2

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
Amazingly I had reviewed this school in 2010 and let me tell you what a difference a year makes! While my son originally excelled in all areas, he met with a teacher who "had issues" with him...talk about holding grudges! She did everything in her power to destroy everything he worked for and ensured that he was going to fail her class no matter he did. All areas of his work suffered because of ONE teacher who was allowed to bully and berate him. She had it in her head that she would fail him and she did. BRAVO teach!!! Great job! You should be proud of yourself.


Fort Hamilton High School 4

Posted May 14, 2011
- a student
im a sophomore in this school. So far its been academically ok due to the fact that this school is more sporty than learny. some teachers are awsome and are really nice while some hold a grudge for no apparrent reason. The students treat others with respect. But are lacking from learning.

Fort Hamilton High School 1

Posted March 10, 2011
- a community member
this school is horrible. do NOT go here. your better of in telecommunications. just today in fort some girl splashed acid in another girls face & now her head, face, & eyes were burned. not only that but other stuff happens here too, its education is okay but it is really violent & its graduation rate is extremely low, like 60%.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Hamilton High School
8301 Shore Road, Brooklyn, NY  11209
(718) 748-1537
Last modified Fort Hamilton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Hamilton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 111 reviews. Top