Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 913
 

4 stars
Based on 69 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

56 reviews of this school


Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This school is really trying to improve and I commend them for making Bergen Beach a better place to live in this past year. Thank you to the administration and staff for working so hard.

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
My child is in the 8th grade and I am so happy with the good people at this school. I wish I had more children to send them!


Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a community member
I am reading some of the comments written here on this site. It never fails to amaze me how people complain about schools, their jobs, clubs or anything there is in life. But, never step forward to either lend advice or slide their sleeves up and get involved. My children went to Roy Mann years ago, my son is going to be 28 and my daughter is now 25. I lived in the neighborhood for over 22 years. The biggest complaint we had back then was that there were too many double parked cars. Times have changed, so have most of the problems of society. I believe we baby our young adult children way too much as a society. My mother and her PA back in the 60's and 70's fought hard to make the schools what they were.SAFE! yes of course many moms work today and some can't be bothered. As long as nothing is interfering with their workouts at the gym, their work schedule, their vacations or shopping, all is good. GUESS what people stop sitting on the sidelines, get to the schools PTA meetings, voice your opinion there and then volunteer to do something about it. Imagine a PTA meeting where the schools staff who is there for your children, out number the parents.. shameful is right..SHAME ON YOU.

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
my son is a 6th grader there now. And since September there has been a problem atleast 1 a week. My child just would like to go to school and learn without all the nonsense. The supervision or lack of does nothing but yes's you to death. This is our local school and sad to say this is the worst school. I would not send any child there. Nothing but problems and nothing gets done. Its a shame

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
I am amazed at the turn around this school has made. I am a parent who has been with the school for over 10 years with all of my children. I have seen it at its worst but I can not believe the difference in security, discipline, and enviornment. The security issues are gone, the negative attitudes as gone. All you have now is a great principal, mr cusuamao who inspires the teachers to be better and the students are happy in this neighborhood school where the parents feel welcome. Great job Mr Cusumano. Dont think twice about sending your students to this school. It has great plays, great band and culinary arts program.. plus aftershcool activities. The work is challenging also but the teachers make it fun. One of my friends sent her son to cummingham and they hated it and they went to roy mann and they welcomed them with open arms , she felt important and he loves it .


Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
This school has improved a lot. The new principal Mr. Cuosamano has revamped the school. He is passionate, dedicated and determined to see Roy Mann suceed.

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 1

Posted September 16, 2013
- a teacher
Mr. Johnson was the only real administrator that can handle JHS 78. Anyone else that came after him is a joke.

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 3

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
I attend Roy H. Mann now going on to my second year. My 6th grade experience in my opinion was a little confusing because teachers do not have enough time to fully explain the lessons. Then the next day another new lesson begins. The cafeteria and the bathrooms are hardly clean and never have soap. The water fountains do not work and at times there are roaches in them. There are not that many fights anymore since the new principal and dean and parent coordinator are always watching. If more people from the same neighborhood keep coming to this school then maybe it will get better because everyone knows everyone and the parents know each other. I came hear knowing alot of other kids from my elementary school so my first time experience was comfortable. Maybe when I go to 7th grade I will see some new familiar new 6th graders. The teachers do try their best and if everyone cooperates together then this school can be great. The after school and summer programs are fun and keep us busy.


Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a parent
Although the school did not meet all my expectations upon placing my child there, it has offered him many positive experiences and opportunities. The greatest problem we've experienced is the behavior of some children; however the school cannot be held responsible for that. If parents don't raise their children to be functional and respectful members of society, it's not the school's fault. Children like that will misbehave no matter where they are. There is something to be said about the roach population; there are quite a few. However, when we look at what makes a school a school Roy Mann stands along other great schools. Instead, focus on the education, care/concern for the students from all adults, communication with parents, response time for meeting requests from parents, before/after school programs, vacation-time activities, an awesome parent coordinator, a new/amazingly attentive principal, etc, These are the things that count. Roy H Mann has it all and more. Perfect, it's not; however, for these and many other reasons I'm glad my honors child attended and will be graduating from this school.

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
Roy Mann is a good school. I was skeptical because of a lot of the negative reviews I found on this site but I have found most of them to be groundless. I have a sixth grader at Mann and could not be happier. I find the teachers engaging, communicative and truly concerned about the well being and academic achievement of our children. There are interesting after school programs. The work is challenging and well distributed. I have made unannounced visits to the school and, aside from the normal sounds one would expect inside a middle school building during the day, the halls are quiet. The Principal, deans and school safety staff are always around. The Parent Coordinator is available and very responsive. I have nothing but praise for this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jhs 78 Roy H Mann
1420 East 68 Street, Brooklyn, NY  11234
(718) 763-4701
Last modified Jhs 78 Roy H Mann is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jhs 78 Roy H Mann Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. Top