Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 8 Robert Fulton

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 589 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

I love P.S. 8 because it is a great multicultural scool with terrific parental support and the teachers are a constant source of inspiration and admiration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

great teachers, great administrators, great parent involvement. what else could you ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have a fabulous school that is lead by a great administration. The teachers at PS8 are so dedicated to the students. They want to help our children succeed and be the best that they can be. The enrichment programs are phenomenal. There is an excellent drama program that is tied into the social studies program. The drama teacher is extraordinary. My children love attending school and are eager to learn and at the end of the day that is the true test of a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Just look at the smiling faces of the children, parents, faculty, administation and staff, and it is easy to see something amazing is going on at PS 8. Then listen to the children and the depth and breadth of what they are learning, oberve their interactions with faculty,administration and staff. What you will experience is teaching and learning at its best. Dr. Joanne K. Singleton, 3rd & 5th grade parent and past PTA president 2007-2008 & 2008-2009
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

smart and involved parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

Great school, and strong leadership from the principal. I have 1 child at PS8 and she loves it. My daughter has a great teacher and this school makes it unnecessary for any parent in Brooklyn Heights to send their kids to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

It is unfortunate that the bad teachers outweigh the good. The principal does not follow nor is consistent with what he promises. With all the hard work I do with my child who is a willing student, it doesn't make a difference when he is not being properly trained to live up to today's standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

If you are lucky enough to get one of the good teachers, you and your child will be very happy. The good teachers are really good, but the 'bad' teachers are off the charts bad. Administration looks good on paper, but anyone who spends any time in the school (including the teachers) knows that the principal has no follow through on both small and big issues and is a poor leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My kindergarten student is reading above grade level and has strong math skills. I think that she could be pushed a little harder, but I am also happy that she loves to go to school and is excited to learn there. They are doing a lot right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

Thank God for PS 8! As a product of private schools, I was extremely nervous about sending my son there. My anxiety was quelled immediately. PS 8 is a great academic environment with outstanding teachers and administration, a thorough arts curriculum, and a dedicated, hard-working PTA. The crowding will ease soon with an annex scheduled for completion by September 2009.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I have a daughter in kindergarten. Her class is large, but there seems to be plenty of individual attention and her whole class seems well-behaved and happy when I've observed then. She is excited about attending school. I see a high level of parent involvement. The principal is exceptionally dedicated to the school and is always accessible to parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

PS 8 is an excellent school. My children are happy and engaged. There are many extracurricular activities made available to the students, and there is a strong PTA. Overcrowding is becoming an issue, as with any CIty school worth sending your kids to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

My 2nd grade daughter's reading skills are constantly improving. This is her fourth year at PS 8. She loves going to school and I know that when I drop her off every morning she is safe. I've been pleased with every teacher she has had since Pre-K. There is high parent involvment in school activities and fund raising. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

This is my child's 4th year at PS 8. I have been extremely pleased with the quality of her teachers and this year is no exception. The one thing that bothers me about this year, however, is the fact that she has approximately 29 kids in her class and the teacher has still not received an aide/ass't. Aside from that, my child is happy and thriving. She gets art, music, library, dance, gym and drama and those teachers are excellent as well. Our outstanding parent coordinator, Precious Jones-Walker, left to take another job in the B. Ed. and we miss her terribly. She is irreplaceable, yet, we really need to fill that spot and quickly! Our principal, Seth Philips, does an amazing job of hiring the best people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

Our children are starting their third year at PS 8, entering the third and the first grades. They both had outstanding years last year, continuning the excellent education they had had in pre-k and first grade. The kindergartener last year had a much better kindergarten year than her sister did ina private nursery school. The principal does an outstanding job of hiring teachers and placing them in the right position for their skills and interests. The teachers our girls have had have, to a person, been excellent and the quality of education has been uniformly high. We are utterly thrilled with the entire experience, which in our view money could not buy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

The parent coordinator of this school is a real gem. She has been very helpful especially after all of the changes. The former AP was excellent and now we have this person that doesn't seem to know much about schools. Thank goodness for the parent coordinator, she answers the questions and always very kind. The principal might roll his eyes or ignore you. I hope next year is better than this one. I'm really worried that the school is going back to the way it was before. The principal doesn't seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

The people who sold me on the school were Precious Walker and Olivia Ellis. They were always there to greet parents and make them feel welcome. Precious set up wonderful workshops and always listened to parents. Olivia wrote the Magnet Grant and many others. She also brought many programs to the school. She worked with Precious and the PTA to raise all the money and make PS 8 like her former school PS 321. I miss them now, I had to move. It was the best school in the USA..I thank Carmen Farina for having the vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

My son started PS 8 in Sept. '05 as a Pre-K and it has been a wonderful place for him. Now a Kindergartner he continues to thrive, both in the classroom and the after school programs. My son participates in art, music, science, gym and dance classes on a weekly basis and will soon begin an after school science program. He is also beginning to read on his own. Our principal, Seth Phillips and our parent coordinator, Precious Jones-Walker have created a wonderful sense of community within the school, and work hand-in-hand with the teachers and the PTA to provide our kids with a wonderful education. Our PTA is a group of dedicated parents who eagerly welcome all new families and whose fund raising efforts go above and beyond. What other school has an all-volunteer run library! My husband and I couldn't be happier with PS 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Great school. Growing following. very hands on principal and an amazing parent coordinator. Students are happy and test scores are on the rise. Definitely a school to look into.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Our son joined the pre-k program in the fall and he loves it. The classroom teachers and aids are excellent, there are diverse programs each week (art, science, dance, music, gym) and the facility continues to improve. The principal and staff are also wonderful - whenever I am there I have the sense of bustling, productive activity that is completely under control. Also, the level of teacher involvement is outstanding - from the initial open house we attended last year to the ongoing programs, parents are investing the time to make this school great. Best of all, I continue to see the results in our son, who thrives in this wonderful atmosphere. So far, PS8 has exceeded our expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 61% 48%
Black 2 18% 19%
Hispanic 1 11% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 218%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 34%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 362 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents29053%
Students4596%
Teachers2757%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

37 Hicks St
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Phone: (718) 834-6740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Ann's School
Brooklyn, NY





Blue School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT