Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 17 Henry D Woodworth

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 386 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

My eldest daughter graduates from PS17 this year. She has been attending PS17 since Kindergarten and has loved every minute of it. She was on an IEP and the staff and administration have gone out of theri way to help her. She graduates with honors! My youngest daughter has attended K-1st here as well. She too is on a IEP and they have helped her tremendously. The teachers as well as the support services staff (OT, Speech, & Counseling) are exceptional, caring people. It is very clear how much they care about the kids. State testing rewsults do not come close to showing what this school is capable of doing for our children. We are moving out of the area and are sad to be leaving PS17. I highly recommend this school to all parents! The only downside is low % of parent involvement. Many parents in the area seem to think it is soley the schools job to tend to the education of our children. If you do not get involved your children will not grow to their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Ps 17 is well rounded school..the children understand the importance of learning and the disiplinant of being a productive student. I believe our children good firm approach to learning and hope it doest change
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I think the staff are really doing a great job in looking after our children and teaching them to not only be focused learners but good people too


Posted October 15, 2013

Just put my child in the school and compare to the previous school. They are definitely on top of things. I like the attentiveness to the children needs both academically and emotionally, it is refreshing to feel my child is getting well rounded traditional edcation that's setting their success as a active learner in their academic journey. The uniform are a plus saves tons of money and teaches the children that clothes don't make a person knowledge does. The staff is helpful and there's a sense of family among the parents and faulty as their priority is the safety and well being of every student. Thanx for the relief ps17
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My child loves this school, the teachers are amazing and offer lots of their time to help if my son needs extra help with maths and spelling, the science and art classes are really interesting, I'm hearing about lots of fun things that keep the kids interested and wanting to learn. There is a really good amount of time for gym and the school lunches are pretty good, Dr Marchi and the rest of the staff are really concerned with improving the quality of school life and I LOVE that the entrance door ladies are so protective of the kids.. you cant go in without signing in and having ID, no matter who you are..!!!! they are awesome guards! The library is full to the brim with great books which he brings home and he never complains that the computers are not available...plenty for all the students!! ALL in all, I love this school and encourage parents to join the community they've set up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

In the midst of this rapidly growing and progressive area, this school offer nothing progressive, nothing creative and nothing inspiring. Kids describe the school environment is like being in the prison. No Gym time (resulting too many obese kids, music and art classes are like joke. Vice principal shows no respect to parents and often seen glaring or yelling at parents who stop by at the office. Hardly any parent involvement, hardly any parent show up for class room visit. There are a few good teachers but most seems to be under stress trying to keep their job. Too bad there are not many option of good public school around this area.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

I graduated from P.S. 17 1n 1939 I was wondering if it is possible to get in touch with the principle for some information like the names of the past teachers, principles, etc. I was also the head of a building project in science class given by a Mr. ALBERT Trella. Is it possible that it would still be on display? They were houses and some buildings of washington DC. Like the house of montecello. Daniel Gerard 1939 I was also a bugler in the marching band at PS 17 When I attended this school it was strictly all male students, is it still that way? My address was 448 Keap St. Brooklyn, N.Y. How old is the school building now??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

This school was horrible for my son. He attended this school for 3 years and was extremely behind in reading. I repeatedly asked the staff for help and the only answer they had was to leave my son behind a grade. I transfered him out and got him extra help with a private tutor. The new school he is attending is unbelievable great. His new school worked with his reading. He made an amazing amount of progress. My son was also bullied at P.S 17. The staff shrugged off my complaints. P.S 17 staff has NO concern for their students learning or safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

This is my son 3rd year in this school and my daughter is attending pre k this year .... love this school its a great school they help kids a lot my son grades are top noch comes home every week with 100 % test scores ... they just need more after school programs ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I like that made a new school yard for the kids to out and play after lunch.The yard consists of a jungle gym, track, hop scotch, reading zone and a basketball court.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

my son went to this school a few years ago. the school is awesome and the principal Dr Marchi is the best. my son was sad to leave the school when he graduated. this is the best school there is in Brooklyn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2006

My son just finished his first year at PS 17. In kindergarten he enjoyed music twice a week for choral and keyboard instruction. Once a week he visited art with a fomer studio in the schools instructor who decided to take a full-time position, social studies where he learned map skills, computer lab where he mastered kidpix, and his classroom teacher instructed the kids in P.E. The highlight of each week was the class visit to the library. The school library is fantastic and the librarian is brilliant. On one family day in the library on a Saturday she read a Chinese folk-tale inspired tangram story, gave kids their own (take-home)tangram sets and patterns to practice with, then called the kids up to the smartboard to manipulate digital tangrams and show how they formed their patterns. It was a beautiful blend on literacy and mathematical thinking. I'm happy at PS 17.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 84% 23%
White 1 8% 48%
Black 2 6% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 218%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2100%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 51%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 205 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents17757%
Teachers2876%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • DR. ROBERT A. MARCHI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

208 N 5th St
Brooklyn, NY 11211
Phone: (718) 387-2929

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 84 Jose De Diego
Brooklyn, NY




Ps 319
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT