Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 319
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

20 reviews of this school


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
I have one child who graduated last year and another in 5th grade this year. Both have attended since kindergarten. I love this school! It is a warm family with a perfect mix of traditional academics (including French for all grades) and wonderful progressive arts (university level art teacher). This school also has an amazing brass band where the children don't just play, they truly learn to read music. My eldest child graduated perfectly equipped to enter the middle school of her choice and ace her first year so far! The Principle, Ms. Barbera, is smart, warm and approachable. I will cry at graduation this year when my baby leaves...because it means I have to leave too :(

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
My school is the best ever.. Currently I'm in 4th grade and there are so many extracurricular stuff such as: Band, art, french, and music..... The gym is really big and the coaches are very nice. I love how the teachers have a parents as learning partners program......


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 07, 2012
- a parent
P.S. 20 is certainly among the most competitive elementary schools in district 13. The school has done an exceptional job at navigating through a tough transition period that was exacerbated by city wide budget cuts, and the principal (Mrs. Barbera) has managed to establish an environment that blends the open/creative approach that characterized her tenure as AP at P.S. 261 with the rigorous curriculum approach that once made P.S. 20 the talk of the playground... Not only that, but it's incredibly hard to find an elementary school in this district that is this intimate AND open to all students in the district. Definitely a stellar school with a lot going on and a lot for parents to keep an eye on...

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
i love p.s 20 clinton hill they did wonders for my daughter they helped get her self esteem back

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
What's striking about PS 20 is how much is going on there. Everyday my 5-year old comes home excited about school, often talking about a new and unexpected experience -- whether it's an art project, a poetry book, a piano class, or a new French word. All this combined with engaged, experienced teachers dedicated to the students has made for a fulfilling year. In kindergarten, many of the kids in my son's class are already reading and doing basic math. There is also a solid and active PTA, with a lively, new principal (Lena Barbera) working to bring exciting programs to the school including a horticulture program called PS 20 farms, and a science partnership with Brooklyn College. This school impresses on many levels.


Ps 20 Clinton Hill
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in PreK and we are delighted. She is learning piano and French, and every day is filled with art and other tactile learning centers. The class is wonderfully diverse and the parents are engaged. The PTA is incredibly committed and hard working. Ms. Barbera, the acting principal, has raised large sums for important projects like a new school yard and auditorium in a bleak economic environment. Mark my words: you will be hearing about PS 20 as the next "hot" school in the coming years.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter gradauted from P.S. 20 and I was very pleased with the school. Teachers were always willing to work with parents.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 4

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
This is small community school; where most parent and child interact with one another. Currently we are struggling to stay open due to other global interest and powers that be that will like to take over the whole school. This school is in the historical district of fort greene brooklyn and a gem of 366 students whom attend these four walls they all call a second home with its well diverse community!


Ps 20 Clinton Hill
no rating

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
P.S. 20 is a great, small neighborhood school that needs funding help! The PTA has pulled together to pay for an art teacher to insure that the kids get exposed to a wide variety of learning techniques.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and it is in a beautiful neighborhood. I do think that their is great potential for this school to excel if they take the proper measures. Some of the things I have experienced was that the teachers do not allow the parents to participate (reading to the class or helping academically), the children are not properly disciplined because the behavor of the children is not good at all, and the teacher does not send the tests home to allow the parents to see their childs progress due to 'paper shortage' or 'parents not returning the tests'... From what I understand is that the principal is new this year so maybe next year the parents can be more informed academically and have more opportunities to volunteer in their childs learning. In addition, the weekly homework sheets need a 360 improvement.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 20 Clinton Hill
225 Adelphi Street, Brooklyn, NY  11205
(718) 834-6744
Last modified Ps 20 Clinton Hill is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 20 Clinton Hill Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top