Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 325
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
My school is the best ever.. Currently I'm in 4th grade and there are so many extracurricular stuff such as: Band, art, french, and music..... The gym is really big and the coaches are very nice. I love how the teachers have a parents as learning partners program......

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 07, 2012
- a parent
P.S. 20 is certainly among the most competitive elementary schools in district 13. The school has done an exceptional job at navigating through a tough transition period that was exacerbated by city wide budget cuts, and the principal (Mrs. Barbera) has managed to establish an environment that blends the open/creative approach that characterized her tenure as AP at P.S. 261 with the rigorous curriculum approach that once made P.S. 20 the talk of the playground... Not only that, but it's incredibly hard to find an elementary school in this district that is this intimate AND open to all students in the district. Definitely a stellar school with a lot going on and a lot for parents to keep an eye on...


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
i love p.s 20 clinton hill they did wonders for my daughter they helped get her self esteem back

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
What's striking about PS 20 is how much is going on there. Everyday my 5-year old comes home excited about school, often talking about a new and unexpected experience -- whether it's an art project, a poetry book, a piano class, or a new French word. All this combined with engaged, experienced teachers dedicated to the students has made for a fulfilling year. In kindergarten, many of the kids in my son's class are already reading and doing basic math. There is also a solid and active PTA, with a lively, new principal (Lena Barbera) working to bring exciting programs to the school including a horticulture program called PS 20 farms, and a science partnership with Brooklyn College. This school impresses on many levels.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in PreK and we are delighted. She is learning piano and French, and every day is filled with art and other tactile learning centers. The class is wonderfully diverse and the parents are engaged. The PTA is incredibly committed and hard working. Ms. Barbera, the acting principal, has raised large sums for important projects like a new school yard and auditorium in a bleak economic environment. Mark my words: you will be hearing about PS 20 as the next "hot" school in the coming years.


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter gradauted from P.S. 20 and I was very pleased with the school. Teachers were always willing to work with parents.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 4

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
This is small community school; where most parent and child interact with one another. Currently we are struggling to stay open due to other global interest and powers that be that will like to take over the whole school. This school is in the historical district of fort greene brooklyn and a gem of 366 students whom attend these four walls they all call a second home with its well diverse community!

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2010
- a parent
P.S. 20 is a great, small neighborhood school that needs funding help! The PTA has pulled together to pay for an art teacher to insure that the kids get exposed to a wide variety of learning techniques.


Ps 20 Clinton Hill 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and it is in a beautiful neighborhood. I do think that their is great potential for this school to excel if they take the proper measures. Some of the things I have experienced was that the teachers do not allow the parents to participate (reading to the class or helping academically), the children are not properly disciplined because the behavor of the children is not good at all, and the teacher does not send the tests home to allow the parents to see their childs progress due to 'paper shortage' or 'parents not returning the tests'... From what I understand is that the principal is new this year so maybe next year the parents can be more informed academically and have more opportunities to volunteer in their childs learning. In addition, the weekly homework sheets need a 360 improvement.

Ps 20 Clinton Hill 0
no rating

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
My granddaughter attends this school, and my daughter has had a trying school year with my granddaugher's new learned bad behavior. I have noticed her teacher's lack of interest and short patience with the concerns that we have. My granddaughter complains that she is ignored by her teacher when help is needed in the classroom. The guidance counselor acts more like a dean than offering academic or social guidance to students who shows a need for these services, and she is unprofessional in her role as such. Homework is not checked on a daily basis by the teacher which my granddaughter thinks she can skip doing it. The lunchroom is chaotic with children running all over the room while supposedly lunch staff sits and chat among themselves. Above all, the principal is provoking and retaliative, and he uses his power thru DOE resources against parents for his personal gains when challenged.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 20 Clinton Hill
225 Adelphi Street, Brooklyn, NY  11205
(718) 834-6744
Last modified Ps 20 Clinton Hill is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 20 Clinton Hill Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top