Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan 4

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
My son goes to this school. I love the staff. My issue with this school is the lack of homework. My son is in kindergarten, and if he brought homework home twice, he brought a lot. My other concern is Why do we need to pay for afterschool care? That service is suppose to be free for all public schools. I would surely recommend this school.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
It has only been 2 weeks so far but my daughter has expressed that she is enjoying her school much better than her prior school. The community is extremely supportive of the PTA. And the support allows the PTA to provide great services to the kids and parents. The teachers and staff that I have met so far are knowledgable, friendly but with the right amount of firmness. The principal is clearly involved in making the school even better during and after school-hours by organizing committees to tackle any problems. In addition during school hours she is easy to approach by the kids as she spends time in the lunchroom assisting the volunteers and staff. The school also is commited to provide healthy lunches by growing their own vegetables and bringing in a chef to create better balanced meals than the city provides. I have to say that so far I'm very impressed by school staff and the community coming together to help give our kids a better education.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan 3

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
PS 29 is GREAT; if your child is a little white girl. If they are "of color" (ANY color) come and be ready to deal with administration again and again. So many people push to get their children in this school, but parents of African American boys are pulling them out. I can count four right off the top of my head. (All good students, who have gone on and done quite well) My son was subjected to "major" racial incidences EVERY year (K, 1st, 2nd, ...) . Administration? Uninterested and uninvolved. And with as many First Year teachers they hire, would it KILL them to hire a teacher of color? I mean really.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 1

Posted August 05, 2010
- a parent
I do not recommend this school to anyone who asks. We have been here some time and, unlike others in the school community, we don't have resources to move to private school. This school preaches diversity but does not practice it. Children of color or whose parents aren't constantly present are left out. They teach too much to tests and once the tests are done - so are they. Late May and June is a play date. It's clear the principal and her staff get "bonuses" based on tests so they have little interest in providing a strong education. Most 5th graders are stumped by simple math - a failure no matter what the scores are. And the new scores bear this out. Look at the decline from 3rd to 5th. There are some good teachers there but they are hampered by administators who hover.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
PS 29 is a wonderful school, with great teachers, administrators and a very engaged parent community.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
PS29 is a terrific community, everyone in it together to provide kids with a great education. I have been very impressed and am looking forward to my second child attending next year.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
Great school with good arts, science and P.E.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Amazing teachers, strong leadership, caring and involved parents, great arts initiatives, high standards, wonderful community!

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 0
no rating

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
The warm and wonderfully involved community; the amazingly organized and helpful staff/adminstration; the great teachers; and openness to new ideas--anything to continually improve the school and give the students the best education and experience.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
425 Henry Street, Brooklyn, NY  11201
(718) 330-9277
Last modified Ps 29 John M Harrigan is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 29 John M Harrigan Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top