Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all the teachers that we did have the pleasure of working with.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Teachers at P.S.29 are amazing! I have nothing bad to say about the teachers. They are all amazing!


Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The homework load is perfect! In the lower grade it seems to be enough and on level. IN the upper grades it seems to be just right but it lacks in challenge.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The school as a whole develops respect in students with their social-emitonal curriculum but when students have different values at home you can see the repercussions after in the school yard, local park, and when the children are left alone playing as they get older.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
This school does try to develop compassion, caring, and empathy BUT once the kids go home the parents most of the time show otherwise. Many parents are not accepting so it is not strange to see many kids left out in the cafeteria and in the yard.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
This school does develop honesty and fairness. However, they lack in integrity. The teachers try their best but with such parents they can't make miracles happen.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
Amazing teachers who take the extra time to ensure all children are inspired and learning every day.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 4

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Our son attends PS 29 and we have had very good experience. The principal and the teachers are very caring and hard working. The school offers great after school options. The few issues that we had, similar to the other comments, is lack of homework in Kindergartner. Also, math in Kindergartner is very basic (addition to 5), and lack of homework does not help. Overall, we are satisfied with the school and our son likes it very much, but we wish that the school emphasized math and science the way it does arts and drama.


Ps 29 John M Harrigan 4

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
My son goes to this school. I love the staff. My issue with this school is the lack of homework. My son is in kindergarten, and if he brought homework home twice, he brought a lot. My other concern is Why do we need to pay for afterschool care? That service is suppose to be free for all public schools. I would surely recommend this school.

Ps 29 John M Harrigan 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
It has only been 2 weeks so far but my daughter has expressed that she is enjoying her school much better than her prior school. The community is extremely supportive of the PTA. And the support allows the PTA to provide great services to the kids and parents. The teachers and staff that I have met so far are knowledgable, friendly but with the right amount of firmness. The principal is clearly involved in making the school even better during and after school-hours by organizing committees to tackle any problems. In addition during school hours she is easy to approach by the kids as she spends time in the lunchroom assisting the volunteers and staff. The school also is commited to provide healthy lunches by growing their own vegetables and bringing in a chef to create better balanced meals than the city provides. I have to say that so far I'm very impressed by school staff and the community coming together to help give our kids a better education.

Nearby schools

Ps 29 John M Harrigan
425 Henry Street, Brooklyn, NY  11201
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (718) 330-9277
Last modified Ps 29 John M Harrigan is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top