Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 32 Samuels Mills Sprole

Public | PK-5 | 267 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2013

I am a NEST parent at PS32. I feel like the team surrounding and supporting my child is excellent. He is supported, understood, and really cared about. My child participates in the same activities and curriculum with the other children. We love the diversity (G&T, social economic, cultural, racial, ASD NEST) of the school population. The PTA and the dedication of the staff really make this school stand out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

My child is in Pre-K and the teachers are wonderful, nurturing and patient. I like the class size and parental involvement. One improvement I think would be great is more rigor in the classroom. The approach for Pre-K is social/emotional, which is great, but a lot of kids already explored this in preschool and now they are little sponges absorbing all sorts of knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

A wonderful, welcoming small school environment in an area of Brooklyn where even the best public schools are getting over-crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

I like that the staff knows every student by name and that parents can be as involved as they want to be, in both the academic and extra curricular lives of the students. Our son is in the third grade and over the years parent involvement has grown considerably. The staff including subsidiary staff , is friendly and helpful and teachers really have the students' best interests at heart. Overall a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

Excellent school. Teachers are exceptional, it's smaller than many others around area. Onsite offering of PT/OT/Counseling/Services. Art and Music. We are thrilled. The only thing that it really needs is more parent involvement and a PTA fund to match other neighborhood schools. This is gradually happening and should be seen as a reason to have your child attend the school, not the other way around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

The teachers for science, social studies, art, music and library are particularly wonderful - imaginative, creative, devoted to their craft.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

We switched two children from private school to the G&T program at PS 32 and we are very happy with the school. Our children are in kindergarten and second grade. The teachers are excellent, very warm and approachable, and the kids are both engaged with what they are learning. The specials are also amazing, both kids love the art teacher Mr. Dave, as well as music, library, science and gym. The PTA is very active and put on a fun Garden Party that was a lot of fun for all of us. We also attended the Hispanic Heritage family fun night, and really enjoyed it. We have only been at the school for a couple of months, but we feel part of the community. Also, the administration was very supportive and helpful, and the secretary and assistant principal both went out of their way to help us with registration issues. Overall, we are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Our two kids have had great and caring teachers. PTA is very active. Lots of love surrounds this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

My daughter is so happy at PS 32! We've been impressed by all the staff and especially by her teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

My daughter started PreK this year at PS32 and we could not be happier with the school. There are 12 kids in her class, 2 full time teachers and 2 assistants. The children are a joy and the parents are engaged and involved. I am happy to report that all of the zoned children in her class will continue on next year. The principal is a great leader, makes a strong presence in the classroom, is kind, caring and very approachable. She was instrumental in helping me get my son out of a horrid charter school that recently opened in Cobble Hill and welcomed him into the PS32 community mid year. His 1st grade class has 16 kids and 2 full time teachers. On his second day at PS32 one of his teachers reported to me that he was doing quite well and it felt as if he had been there since Sept. I am extremely impressed and happy about the feedback that I get daily from both of their teachers. The art and science programs are extraordinary. All of the children are learning to play the keyboard in music class. The social studies class is extremely well-rounded and the gym teacher is a dream. Their newly renovated library is more beautiful than you could imagine. All are welcome here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

My daughter is in the first year of the Gifted and Talented program at PS32, and it has had a wonderful experience socially and academically. This is a school with a passionately devoted, thoughtful and ambitious set of administrators and teachers who are always, always finding ways to enrich and supplement the prescribed citywide curricula. As others have commented, the art and music teachers are superlative and well-supported. What the PTA lacks in funds, the school (working with parents) has been able to make up for by aggressively seeking and winning grants. The beautiful book and iMac filled new library was completed with a half million dollar grant and the devotion of the amazing librarian. My daughter has been sampling lettuce grown in the school's gardens (another grant) and will be growing things in the new greenhouse next year. This is a small, intimate school that parents should look at very closely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

PS 32 is a warm, nurturing, happy place. The children here are incredibly kind. We transferred here from another school and can't believe the difference. We have a happy, motivated son again. No teasing, bullying, cliques or fighting. It's kind of unbelievable. Also, the music program is excellent. My son learned how to play the piano without us ever having to pay for lessons. We finally got him a keyboard for his birthday and were thrilled when he sat down and could read and play music. This is a true "whole child" approach to education. Three thumbs up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Our teachers are amazing. Mr. Dave, for instance, the art teacher treats every kid like a star and cultivates their talents. He gives his all to his students, inspires them with great projects and a lot of devoted attention, and works with their strengths to make them all feel good about themselves. Right now he and the science teacher, Ms. Ellerbee, who is also fantastic, are about to unveil a huge project: a ceiling mural in the science room with 3 dimensional hangings (huge painted paper mache plants) representing the solar system. The teachers have collaborated on this with the kids for a few months. It's going to be amazing! (or should I say, out of this world?). This is but one example of the great things happening at PS32.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

It seems that the parent who said that the school needs to be revamped should look into some spelling classes. I completely disagree with his/her opinion. This school has been a blessing. My son has improved greatly in all of his subjects. All teachers are attentive and make teaching fun and enjoyable enough that he is able to focus and learn without feeling it as a burden. And the incentive program of the "dollars" is great. My son saves his in order to get a larger item at the school store. I give PS32K 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

This school continues to impress me. I have two children in this school and they both have small class sizes with at least two teachers in the classroom at all times. In this environment, each child gets the special attention they need to get their skills to grade level or, for the children that already excel at certain skills (reading, math), the ability to continue to grow at their own pace. My children are continually excited about their science teacher as well as art, music and gym. The library teacher is a favorite as well. The library has received many grants over the last year to renovate, add books to its collection and I believe it has just gotten a grant for new computers as well. Every day at drop off or pick up my children are greeted by multiple staff making me feel like it is a small, loving community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

Our son's K teachers were outstanding, as were most of the other teachers he had classes with, such as science, music and art. The teachers go out of their ways to enrich the kids lives. On the negative side, the cafeteria is extremely noisy, which is a problem for a lot of the littler kids. The PTA meetings are a bit of a joke, held in the cafeteria while the principal yells at the parents over the noise and parent participation consists of raising hands to vote on club moneys, etc. The K art classes were crammed together into one session so I doubt the kids had any interaction with the teacher except for him giving them materials, etc. But this is a small, community school that is trying hard to provide a high-quality learning experience for the kids, and succeeding in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

When I first walked into this school, they were very welcoming. I instantly felt comfortable. I am very happy that my son was placed in this school. The teachers, office staff, therapists and counselors have shown me what a great support group my son has. I am regularly informed of how my son is progressing. I am notified of any and all mishaps. I have had regular meeting throughout the year about my son and all of his therapists, teachers, etc. have attended these meetings. I truly feel that they are there to help my son with his academic and social success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is turning out to be the best choice for the entire family.. The faculty is approachable, my child is in love with everything they teach him. They try to accommodate special concerns parents might have about their child's progress. And every one is genuinely invested with the students learning, well being and growth. This an undiscovered gem. My son loves to go to school everyday and has request for the weekend. This is great if your looking for small community school with big hearts where teachers know all the children and they want to know more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is the best that happened for our family. When your surrounded by schools that are good through word of mouth it's just not enough. This school delivers. It has warmth, compassion, compromise and a real understanding for their kids and their parents. This school is a very quite beautiful gem. And with the different thing there starting to do its going to be spectacular. This school is defenately on the move to be one of the best in district 15
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

This school is incredible. I have one child in Private school and one here and the difference is amazing. The emotional and educational support each child receives is top notch. My child reads 30 minutes a night and enjoys going to school. Mrs Florio is a great leader who makes herself accesible to both parent and student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

44 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 23%
Black 29% 19%
White 22% 48%
Asian 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 30%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 270 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21574%
Teachers5593%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEBORAH ANN FLORIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

317 Hoyt St
Brooklyn, NY 11231
Phone: (718) 330-9295

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 58 the Carroll
Brooklyn, NY






Al-Madinah School
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT