Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 525 students

We are best known for teaching a whole child.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2013

I have two daughters that I have in recent months transferred over to this school. I am very happy with the choice I have made for the both of them .. I have been able to see that the education they teach in all in schools is not the same and have learned that children will want to learn and go to school when they are happy mine are finally happy and love going to school every day now.. My youngest today will finally be getting all the services she needs to due to fast working staff ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

It is amazing how so many people wrote reviews on this website the exact same days- The reviews are fake, do not believe what these so called "parents" are saying. This the work of the employees trying to make the school look good.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2011

I LOVE PS 34!! There are no words to express how grateful I am to have my two daughters attend PS 34. I actually transferred my daughter from a charter school to PS 34. That was the best decision I have ever made. The Principal is always outside greeting the parents and students. She makes me feel so welcome and I appreciate that. I can actually see how nurturing the teachers are with the students. Best of all, my daughters love going to school every morning. Keep up the good work PS 34!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

I worry about why there is all of a sudden a large response and everything is so positive. If everything is good then what is there to be so concerned about. I did not count how many replied in May but there is an immediate occurance. I rememebr my child not feeling good about having to be restricted to a disciplinary based style. I also remember another parent sharing the same concern. It was difficult for the children to be themselves without some sense of fear but this also seemed to be a variable in the dominating culture in the school and that takes place at home. I am familiar with this culture having grown up with it. I can't say it was the best but I feel the principal is caring. She does what she can given the building constraints but more creativy can allow for more inspired children. The Social Worker for the older students abusively handled a situation with a pre-k child at the school about four yers ago. I hope things have changed then. She should not be "handling" any children as far as I am concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

great teachers hard working and smart students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

It was an amazing school when I attended and an amazing school while my neices attend.. Thanks PS.34 for all the great times!


Posted October 10, 2010

The staff and teachers make every child feel important. My children wake up everyday excited to go to school. This school exceeds in academics and compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

Really great School, wonderful Teachers, friendly atmosphere. My doughter loves it and me too.Thank you P.S.34!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

On behalf of my daughters I want to thank P.S. 34 for their patience and cooperation dealing with difficult situations! I also was an Alumni from this school as well therefore it was an honor to have my children attend. Great Job P.S. 34!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This school has been the best experience for myself as well as for my children I am very lucky to have their services Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

It teaches alot of different things to my child it is very educational !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Great Teachers and wonderful Programs:) It's the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

The teachers love and care for our children so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Dedicated principals, teachers and staff, excellent programs and a friendly, welcoming atmosphere that makes P.S. 34 special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Even though the school is very small, the teachers accomplish everything that needs to get done and beyond in a safe and healthy environment. PS.34 is an excellent choice !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I have worked at PS 34 for 23 years and believe my school is the best school in Brooklyn


Posted May 5, 2010

This is an excellent school run in an efficient, safe, and nurturing manner. The teachers are more than qualified and always go the extra mile to help all of their students.


Posted May 3, 2010

This school is the best! Our son loves going to school everyday and is excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The sense of family here is amazing, teamwork is an everyday occurance, and we give new meaning to the phrase...It takes a village to raise a child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2010

I love the projects my child does in PS.34.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female46%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English41%
Non-migrant38%

Math

All Students46%
Female53%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female53%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Science

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female60%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%

Math

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 73% 48%
Hispanic 1 21% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 3% 9%
Black 2 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 214%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2100%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 57%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Polish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Excellence Award (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Polish
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 428 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents40287%
Teachers2684%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. CARMEN ASSELTA
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Polish
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are integral part of the school community and serve on various committees. they support the school as learning leaders and artists-volunteers. the pta is vibrant and very active.
More from this school
  • PS 34 is a true community school where every child is nurtured and happy. Teachers and staff are dedicated and committed to excellence for every child in every classroom.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

131 Norman Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone: (718) 389-5842

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 110 The Monitor
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT