Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 525
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


56 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters that I have in recent months transferred over to this school. I am very happy with the choice I have made for the both of them .. I have been able to see that the education they teach in all in schools is not the same and have learned that children will want to learn and go to school when they are happy mine are finally happy and love going to school every day now.. My youngest today will finally be getting all the services she needs to due to fast working staff ...

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 1

Posted October 24, 2012
- a teacher
It is amazing how so many people wrote reviews on this website the exact same days- The reviews are fake, do not believe what these so called "parents" are saying. This the work of the employees trying to make the school look good.


P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
I LOVE PS 34!! There are no words to express how grateful I am to have my two daughters attend PS 34. I actually transferred my daughter from a charter school to PS 34. That was the best decision I have ever made. The Principal is always outside greeting the parents and students. She makes me feel so welcome and I appreciate that. I can actually see how nurturing the teachers are with the students. Best of all, my daughters love going to school every morning. Keep up the good work PS 34!!

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 4

Posted January 09, 2011
- a parent
I worry about why there is all of a sudden a large response and everything is so positive. If everything is good then what is there to be so concerned about. I did not count how many replied in May but there is an immediate occurance. I rememebr my child not feeling good about having to be restricted to a disciplinary based style. I also remember another parent sharing the same concern. It was difficult for the children to be themselves without some sense of fear but this also seemed to be a variable in the dominating culture in the school and that takes place at home. I am familiar with this culture having grown up with it. I can't say it was the best but I feel the principal is caring. She does what she can given the building constraints but more creativy can allow for more inspired children. The Social Worker for the older students abusively handled a situation with a pre-k child at the school about four yers ago. I hope things have changed then. She should not be "handling" any children as far as I am concerned.

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 0
no rating

Posted October 23, 2010
- a parent
great teachers hard working and smart students


P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a community member
It was an amazing school when I attended and an amazing school while my neices attend.. Thanks PS.34 for all the great times!

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The staff and teachers make every child feel important. My children wake up everyday excited to go to school. This school exceeds in academics and compassion.

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 0
no rating

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
Really great School, wonderful Teachers, friendly atmosphere. My doughter loves it and me too.Thank you P.S.34!


P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
On behalf of my daughters I want to thank P.S. 34 for their patience and cooperation dealing with difficult situations! I also was an Alumni from this school as well therefore it was an honor to have my children attend. Great Job P.S. 34!

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This school has been the best experience for myself as well as for my children I am very lucky to have their services Thank you

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry
131 Norman Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11222
(718) 389-5842
Last modified P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
P.S. 34 Oliver H Perry Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top