Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 38 The Pacific

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

We have been at PS 38 since K (G&T). We came into a class community that we fell in love with (kids & parents). The teachers have been excellent. An incredibly couple have given all to building an outstanding PTA. Over the last 3 years, enrichment pgms/after school offerings are second to none... violin, guitar, dance, cooking, spanish, soccer and more. Truly PS 38 is becoming a school of the arts with dance & recording studios, stellar art pgm, chorus and dance troop. Academically we could not have been happier. Ms. Yolanda is always present. We did torture her a bit when we had an issue with another student's behavior; she never lost patience or love for us. The staff is supportive and we have seen big love at PS 38 when there have been families in need. Our daughter won her 1st prize this year for an academic contest. The PTA came in and added a prize on top. Kids in her class cried. I cried that they all love each other so much. Big thanks to the PTA Pres Chris Brown, the incomparable Ms. Padilla, the teacher aids that know all our kids by name, Mr. Hassan who coddles us nervous parents, and Ms. Yolanda and Ms. DeAnna for fostering an atmosphere of family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Diverse, lively, engaging, enriching, progressive, an agent of change... Just a few of the terms that come to mind when describing P.S. 38 (The Pacific School) in Brooklyn. The school has undergone a transition over the past few years, a dramatic improvement thanks to new leadership and a growing faculty coupled with partnerships with outside organizations like the Mark Morris Dance Center, Studio in School, Mighty Milers and others. These enrichment programs open up new worlds to children, many of whom live below the poverty line, eve though the PTA raises a fraction of the money its better off neighboring schools are able to raise. Yet the principal manages to do more with less, fostering a safe and nurturing environment for kids from all backgrounds. One of 38's greatest strengths is its diversity. Students come from a variety of socioeconomic and ethnic backgrounds. They are constantly learning from each other. But P.S. 38 needs help! Computer upgrades, a librarian, basic classroom supplies, school yard renovations, a dance floor... Please show these wonderful children that they are every bit as deserving as their better off neighbors and award them with one of your grants.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

Sad to see that some people take the time to trash someone else's work, especially (and thankfully for the current parents of 38) when they don't even belong to the school community! ps38, as every public school in the area, has its good things and things that need to improve. My experience as a parent of a g&t student for the last 4 years has been incredible; the teachers are excellent (and several of them are in the list of the best teachers of ny); they have a music program with their own composition studio, the african drums classes, guitar, violin, chorus, after school enrichment classes and their own dance company. Plus art classes that are offered by Studio-in-a-school (moma). ah! and all these plus small size classes! that the administration needs improvement? sure it does, but I don't sent my child to this school because I fully agree with the principal! My daughter goes to ps38 because she's getting a good challenging diverse education with excellent teachers and a great group of friends. the administration doesn't make the school, the good teachers do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

how good is the gifted and talented program of this school ...as compared to others?


Posted March 29, 2013

Absolutely, unequivocably agree with the last two reviews. Diabolical is an appropriate description. The Administration is strictly concerned with scores and has no priority for the emotional and physical well being of the students. Thank goodness for the recent PTA leadership. Parents beware while this Administration continues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

The school is currently under the bad leadership of a vision-less principal. She has not been to her "principal's breakfasts" since the school year started (I personally know she has not been to the meeting in September, October, November, December and January). She seems to have some clout in the DOE because she is clearly not qualified for that job. She doesn't suspend kids that deserve it because it would negatively impact her record. Everything is pushed under the rug. There is absolutely no transparency. Such great teachers and parents willing to help, but her bad attitude is a turn off. Once again parents are scrambling to find a much better option for their children. It is such a shame. The entire DOE system is broken because she should have been gone years ago. Hopefully, things can change but that won't happen until the principal LEAVES. Even at the recent library opening the principal did not make an appearance (she closed it when she came to the school in 2007). It is sad when a principal worries about her own ego rather than what is best for the students. Parents should be seen as partners not as enemies which is how she treats us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

I used to teach at 38... Ms. Ramirez is a diabolical, illogical and mean spirited person. She was even on the front page of the daily news for trying to force teachers to rate her and the school well on the yearly report, which is completely illegal. There is a mass exodus of teachers every year. 15 teachers I know have left in the last few years to go on to better schools. At one point teachers got together and listed all of the ways she harassed the staff and his the failures of the school from the parents. We submitted it to the superintendent. Unfortunately she was friends with the superintendent and it wasn't investigated. Avoid the school at all costs. Take it from me ...I saw everything from the inside.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 30, 2009

This school has a great community that works hard to meet the childrens, parents and educators goals. Mrs Ramirez is a great leader in this school and is very approachable. We love PS 38!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

There are great things happening @ P.S.38 Each & every day!!! Enrichment programs... Movie nights.... Fall harvest....Free afterschool programs...Some of the many interesting things happening all for our children!!! We love P.S.38!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

I see many negative comments about teachers here. While I have disagreements with the way the administration runs the school, I can say this: I have a son who is in Ms. Hallinan's second grade class and has Ms. G as a Science teacher. As far as I'm concerned, these two teachers represent private school education at public school prices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

After attending the principals breakfast this week, I can see why the school is changing. Never before have the parents in this school had a voice. The staff and administration are great at these meetings. It was a pleasure to attend. As a parent, I very happy with the school. For our family, it is not always about scores. Its about how our cihild is recieved in his school community. This school lis a family! It is a joy to see the princpal with the children. You can see that it is all about them for her. She too is very different from the traditional at 38. With her comes a chance for children. Ove the past three years she, the teachers and staff have transformed a once stagnant community to one with depth , breath and purpose. The addition of an enrichment coach has proven to be successful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Yeah P.S.38....... Keep up the grest work. Thank you Ms Yolanda for being a caring andnderstanding principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

People say this school has made big strides. That may be true, but that indicates more about how awful the school used to be than what it is now. It's fine for pre-K and K, but after that the families who can are voting with their feet and going elsewhere. The teachers are great. We loved our son's teacher. But the principal is autocratic, widely disliked by teachers and parents (and, yes, we really did approach her and try to work with her, and not just for the benefit of our son alone), and totally focused on test scores. We're frustrated and disillusioned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

Recently our parent coordinator gave our school parent and teacher website information. I wanted to log on to tell people about our sweet, loving community. and choose this site because it seems fair. The school is seriously changing for the better. Our teachers are smart our principal is stern but supportive and our children are great. We have some difficult parents here and there, but all in all, our parents are magnificent. A real shift is taking place and our community needed the uplift. Bravo to the teachers, the adminstration and smart parents who help keep our school moving in a positive direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

As a parent who has been in the school for a decade, there have been some negatives as well as some positives, but I see more of the positive as of recent months. The children seem more motivated to learn, the extra curricular programs are excellent, and the teachers are dedicated to teach. Parents need to be more involved, since I tend to see the same group of parents show up at meetings and events, but I believe that it will improve b/c communication is getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

My daughter has been going to P.S. 38 for 5 years and is about to graduate. Early on it was fantastic. The teachers are were great, and still are. It is the rest of the school leadership team that leaves something to be desired. There is a real lack of communication with the parents. They tend to communicate negative behavior to the children, and have them pass it on to their parents. Even when you call them and leave messages they don't return your calls. The Guidance Dept. is the major problem in terms of communication, the discipline is random, and seems to depend on who is administering it. There is no real system for discipline. The level of academics however, is outstanding. This is the saving grace. The teahers really care, and work very, very hard. If we could resolve the discipline by threat, there will be vast improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

P. S. 38 is a agreat school and great things are happening there. The teachers are fantastic and tireless. They know your child and can tell you how your child is doing in the class and with the subject matter. However, I do feel that the school has an arbitrary view of how to discipline the kids. They seem to make up the rules as they go and not very logically. I would give the school and overall 3.5 stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

P.s. 38 Overall it has a wonderful supportive and caring teaching staff. However, the new principal has been running off the teachers that have helped to build the school's stellar reputation. As a parent I feel that there is a negative climate brewing as I have witnessed many negative messages that seem belittling to the staff as you enter the main office. This makes me question the integrity of the leader who is running the school that I have come to love. I feel as though the focus needs to be more on the positive work and attitude that the teachers have been giving and less on the negative. Leave the teachers to do their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I love this school the teachers are good. my son has learned alot in this school. I recommened this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

We love PS 38- its a friendly, well run school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students27%
Female21%
Male36%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities0%
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant27%

Math

All Students30%
Female20%
Male43%
African American18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities7%
General population36%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female36%
Male23%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students34%
Female40%
Male27%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
African American78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities50%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Female30%
Male37%
African American22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%

Math

All Students36%
Female34%
Male42%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 44% 19%
Hispanic 1 35% 23%
White 2 14% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 37%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 320 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents30068%
Teachers2056%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. YOLANDA RAMIREZ

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Pacific St
Brooklyn, NY 11217
Phone: (718) 330-9305

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Sterling School
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT