Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 575

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 38 The Pacific 4

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
My son has been in Pre-K at PS 38 since September and he LOVES it. The teachers are wonderful. The children seemed to feel at home from day 1. There are many affordable after school programs on offer even for the pre-k kids. There seems to be a good balance of play based learning as well as skill based and the lego room is wonderful. I cannot speak yet as regarding administration or other aspects of the school but so far we are very happy with PS 38.

Ps 38 The Pacific 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been at PS 38 since K (G&T). We came into a class community that we fell in love with (kids & parents). The teachers have been excellent. An incredibly couple have given all to building an outstanding PTA. Over the last 3 years, enrichment pgms/after school offerings are second to none... violin, guitar, dance, cooking, spanish, soccer and more. Truly PS 38 is becoming a school of the arts with dance & recording studios, stellar art pgm, chorus and dance troop. Academically we could not have been happier. Ms. Yolanda is always present. We did torture her a bit when we had an issue with another student's behavior; she never lost patience or love for us. The staff is supportive and we have seen big love at PS 38 when there have been families in need. Our daughter won her 1st prize this year for an academic contest. The PTA came in and added a prize on top. Kids in her class cried. I cried that they all love each other so much. Big thanks to the PTA Pres Chris Brown, the incomparable Ms. Padilla, the teacher aids that know all our kids by name, Mr. Hassan who coddles us nervous parents, and Ms. Yolanda and Ms. DeAnna for fostering an atmosphere of family.


Ps 38 The Pacific 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Diverse, lively, engaging, enriching, progressive, an agent of change... Just a few of the terms that come to mind when describing P.S. 38 (The Pacific School) in Brooklyn. The school has undergone a transition over the past few years, a dramatic improvement thanks to new leadership and a growing faculty coupled with partnerships with outside organizations like the Mark Morris Dance Center, Studio in School, Mighty Milers and others. These enrichment programs open up new worlds to children, many of whom live below the poverty line, eve though the PTA raises a fraction of the money its better off neighboring schools are able to raise. Yet the principal manages to do more with less, fostering a safe and nurturing environment for kids from all backgrounds. One of 38's greatest strengths is its diversity. Students come from a variety of socioeconomic and ethnic backgrounds. They are constantly learning from each other. But P.S. 38 needs help! Computer upgrades, a librarian, basic classroom supplies, school yard renovations, a dance floor... Please show these wonderful children that they are every bit as deserving as their better off neighbors and award them with one of your grants.

Ps 38 The Pacific 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
Sad to see that some people take the time to trash someone else's work, especially (and thankfully for the current parents of 38) when they don't even belong to the school community! ps38, as every public school in the area, has its good things and things that need to improve. My experience as a parent of a g&t student for the last 4 years has been incredible; the teachers are excellent (and several of them are in the list of the best teachers of ny); they have a music program with their own composition studio, the african drums classes, guitar, violin, chorus, after school enrichment classes and their own dance company. Plus art classes that are offered by Studio-in-a-school (moma). ah! and all these plus small size classes! that the administration needs improvement? sure it does, but I don't sent my child to this school because I fully agree with the principal! My daughter goes to ps38 because she's getting a good challenging diverse education with excellent teachers and a great group of friends. the administration doesn't make the school, the good teachers do.

Ps 38 The Pacific 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a community member
how good is the gifted and talented program of this school ...as compared to others?


Ps 38 The Pacific 1

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely, unequivocably agree with the last two reviews. Diabolical is an appropriate description. The Administration is strictly concerned with scores and has no priority for the emotional and physical well being of the students. Thank goodness for the recent PTA leadership. Parents beware while this Administration continues.

Ps 38 The Pacific 2

Posted March 18, 2013
- a parent
The school is currently under the bad leadership of a vision-less principal. She has not been to her "principal's breakfasts" since the school year started (I personally know she has not been to the meeting in September, October, November, December and January). She seems to have some clout in the DOE because she is clearly not qualified for that job. She doesn't suspend kids that deserve it because it would negatively impact her record. Everything is pushed under the rug. There is absolutely no transparency. Such great teachers and parents willing to help, but her bad attitude is a turn off. Once again parents are scrambling to find a much better option for their children. It is such a shame. The entire DOE system is broken because she should have been gone years ago. Hopefully, things can change but that won't happen until the principal LEAVES. Even at the recent library opening the principal did not make an appearance (she closed it when she came to the school in 2007). It is sad when a principal worries about her own ego rather than what is best for the students. Parents should be seen as partners not as enemies which is how she treats us.

Ps 38 The Pacific 1

Posted December 18, 2012
- a teacher
I used to teach at 38... Ms. Ramirez is a diabolical, illogical and mean spirited person. She was even on the front page of the daily news for trying to force teachers to rate her and the school well on the yearly report, which is completely illegal. There is a mass exodus of teachers every year. 15 teachers I know have left in the last few years to go on to better schools. At one point teachers got together and listed all of the ways she harassed the staff and his the failures of the school from the parents. We submitted it to the superintendent. Unfortunately she was friends with the superintendent and it wasn't investigated. Avoid the school at all costs. Take it from me ...I saw everything from the inside.


Ps 38 The Pacific 0
no rating

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
This school has a great community that works hard to meet the childrens, parents and educators goals. Mrs Ramirez is a great leader in this school and is very approachable. We love PS 38!!!!

Ps 38 The Pacific 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
There are great things happening @ P.S.38 Each & every day!!! Enrichment programs... Movie nights.... Fall harvest....Free afterschool programs...Some of the many interesting things happening all for our children!!! We love P.S.38!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 38 The Pacific
450 Pacific St, Brooklyn, NY  11217
(718) 330-9305
Last modified Ps 38 The Pacific is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 38 The Pacific Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top