Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 369

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
From the PS39 PTA: PS39 is a wonderful school and gem in D15, but it is now facing severe overcrowding with no relief in site. Parents considering moving to the PS39 zone and those already living in the zone must be aware that they are not guaranteed a spot at the school. The DOE is working on trying to find a new school to deal with overcrowding within the zone, but the process is slow.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
PS 39 is a wonderful school, perhaps the most well rounded of all the amazing schools in District 15. It is academically excellent, has a tremendous principal, teachers who go above and beyond and a committed parent body. It has small classes and loads of enrichment. Test scores and PTA contributions are rising rapidly. The school just added an after school program in fall 2012. My two children are thriving there.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
PS 39 is a gem of a school. The teachers are truly dedicated and the parent association is very strong. There are many school events, such as an nternational potluck dinner, Halloween party, and carnival, where the parents and teachers come together to make this school a true community. Ms. De Paz (principal) is super. My daughter feels great about herself, has many friends, and is academically challenged.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 4

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
My son trots off to school happily every morning and comes home every afternoon with accounts of all the interesting events and knowledge he has gained throughout the day. The principal is really really smart, aware, caring and approachable, as are the teachers and staff members. Great combo!

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
P.S. 39 is like the good thing in the small package. It is a small building but, the education is huge. Children learn all they need to know to become achievers. We are very proud of all of the children in the school. I personally love them all.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 4

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
It is a wonderful little school. My daughter is very happy there, and the academic level is excellent.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful family atmosphere; small class size; informed and caring leadership; great enrichment programs; wonderful teachers...I could go on and on!!!!

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
i think the children are learning very well in this school. My compliments.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a community member
Because my grandchild attends it and loves her school and teachers and is obviously learning a great deal.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I am very proud of the progress my granddaughter has made at P.S.39. She is challenged and happy. What more could we ask for?

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 39 Henry Bristow
417 6th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
(718) 330-9310
Last modified Ps 39 Henry Bristow is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 39 Henry Bristow Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top