Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 39 Henry Bristow
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Fantastic, caring, patient, open and engaging teachers in our experience. Teachers are what makes this school great.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
At times it was too much, but the teachers are open-minded about things and listened to parents' concerns.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 4

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Great engaged community of teachers, parents and admin staff. The teachers are what sets this school apart. However, the school is bursting at the seams and in the higher grades we experienced classes where the number of students was just too much for the space available. Sad, because it really is a great school

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
From the PS39 PTA: PS39 is a wonderful school and gem in D15, but it is now facing severe overcrowding with no relief in site. Parents considering moving to the PS39 zone and those already living in the zone must be aware that they are not guaranteed a spot at the school. The DOE is working on trying to find a new school to deal with overcrowding within the zone, but the process is slow.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted December 05, 2012
- a parent
The parent involvement at PS39 is amazing and so supportive! The teachers are creative and motivated to work with their students. My daughter is happy to go to school each day. I feel safe knowing my daughter is in good hands throughout the day. I am so happy to be apart of the PS39 community.


Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted December 01, 2012
- a parent
PS 39 is a wonderful school, perhaps the most well rounded of all the amazing schools in District 15. It is academically excellent, has a tremendous principal, teachers who go above and beyond and a committed parent body. It has small classes and loads of enrichment. Test scores and PTA contributions are rising rapidly. The school just added an after school program in fall 2012. My two children are thriving there.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 5

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
PS 39 is a gem of a school. The teachers are truly dedicated and the parent association is very strong. There are many school events, such as an nternational potluck dinner, Halloween party, and carnival, where the parents and teachers come together to make this school a true community. Ms. De Paz (principal) is super. My daughter feels great about herself, has many friends, and is academically challenged.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 4

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
My son trots off to school happily every morning and comes home every afternoon with accounts of all the interesting events and knowledge he has gained throughout the day. The principal is really really smart, aware, caring and approachable, as are the teachers and staff members. Great combo!


Ps 39 Henry Bristow
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
P.S. 39 is like the good thing in the small package. It is a small building but, the education is huge. Children learn all they need to know to become achievers. We are very proud of all of the children in the school. I personally love them all.

Ps 39 Henry Bristow 4

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
It is a wonderful little school. My daughter is very happy there, and the academic level is excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 39 Henry Bristow
417 6th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (718) 330-9310
Last modified Ps 39 Henry Bristow is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top