Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ms 51 William Alexander
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 15, 2016
- a student
Ms.Catapano, Ur awesome! Ms.Catapano makes learning super duper fun, and there are no limits to her patience with kids, she is a truly amazing person!

Ms 51 William Alexander
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a student
AWESOME, as long as you're a good student, and willing to co-operate! The teachers are also super nice


Ms 51 William Alexander
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a student
They have a highly effective program called MINDFULNESS, it helps kids and teachers relax after a tiring day, and brings out awareness of your/our surroundings.

Ms 51 William Alexander 5

Posted February 15, 2016
- a student
This school helps you with anything, as long as you ask for the help. There are amazing, kind teachers too

Ms 51 William Alexander
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I just met Mrs. Catapano. My son is doing well, but I wanted to meet her and let her know how much my son enjoys her Social Studies class. She's a rock star. Old school but clearly knows how to teach and the kids love her. She took time to show me her teaching/writing process—some serious skill building, and I can tell it resonates with my son. There's a hidden gem in the basement of MS51.


Ms 51 William Alexander
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
I am a 8th grader at MS51, and to be honest it was the worst 3 years of my life. The kids are really mean, they will make fun of you for anything! How you look or how you dress, if you don't look a certain way you get picked on. I had only one good math teacher, that was in 7th grade, the other two taught me nothing. I take spanish, but honestly nobody in my class can say a real sentence. I like that we get to go out for lunch. Gym is pretty bad we do the exact same thing every, it gets pretty boring. You don't really get to do labs in science. Overall I can't wait till I graduate and get out.

Ms 51 William Alexander 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a community member
I am currently an 8th grader at this school and its absolutely amazing! MS51 has a good talent program and pushes student to work hard and never give up. If you have a question teachers are always willing to answer and you can come in for zero period or come after school. Everyone is nice to each other and students are in a very safe environment. So if your in 5th grade coming to 6th you should really check this school out!

Ms 51 William Alexander 5

Posted March 01, 2014
- a community member
I am a sixth grader at 51, and so far I have been having an amazing time. MOST of the teachers are really friendly and supportive, and the teachers have pushed me to be on the first honor roll. If you are looking for a school that is gifted and talented, and is supportive, then I recommend this school to you.


Ms 51 William Alexander 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My son is a student at MS51 and he has really thrived academically and also in his talent Chorus. It has been wonderful to see the Choral performances twice a year. One negative is that the school is very large and crowded. The teachers and kids seem to manage well but on Open School Night if your kid is doing well "above 85 on report card" you are discouraged from attending and taking up valuable teacher time. Teachers do respond to emails. The teachers are also available most mornings at 0 period to answer students questions and give help.

Ms 51 William Alexander 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
I am a graduate from PS 321 who is now finishing 6th grade honor roll in MS 51. I love that we get to go out for lunch because I have since the 4th Grade. Not many if none of the elementary and middle schools let students out for lunch. In MS 51 the students and teachers are very friendly and helpful. It is a safe and homely enviroment. If you are looking for a great school which is gifted and talented as well than this is the school for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ms 51 William Alexander
350 5th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (718) 369-7603
Last modified Ms 51 William Alexander is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top