Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 869

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 58 The Carroll 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Isn't a public school supposed to serve everyone in the community equally? At PS 58, a select few are being offered personal attention in small classes with a unique dual language program while the majority of students are stuffed into classes at maximum capacity with no unique programming. Currently, there are 2 dual language classes on every grade. Dual language class sizes classes start small in K and only get smaller in the upper grades (with only 20+ students). The non-French classes grow and grow to unmanageable levels in the upper grades (with 30+ students). How is this an equitable design?
3 people found this helpful

Ps 58 The Carroll 2

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
This school needs to address the inequities between the dual language and the general program. The dual language program enjoys small classes and extra staff while the rest of school is filled beyond capacity. The overall feeling in this school is that the dual language program is the priority.
2 people found this helpful


Ps 58 The Carroll 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
Great school! We feel lucky to have two kids enrolled in the excellent dual language program, with very dedicated teachers.

Ps 58 The Carroll 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
I have had two children at PS58 for the last 3 years and I have been nothing but happy with their experience. They are learning all things necessary to propel their education. They are also subject to many amazing in-school programs like Opera, Drama, Orchestra with an instrument for every kid, ballroom dancing, and chess. I speak with other parents from districts outside of the city and the basic diversity in programming and opportunity my children have available to them is far superior. I am thrilled to be able to raise my family in an exciting place and have such a positive experience with the public school system.

Ps 58 The Carroll 1

Posted June 27, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended kindergarten this year at ps 58. I really wanted to love it--and I tried to love it but unfortunately it was a miserable year that only taught my child to hate school and be afraid of teachers. It's a very classically based system where kids are expected to behave and listen without question. Curiosity is not only not valued--it is punished. There is 20 minutes of free time a day and they are expected to stand in straight lines and not ask any unnecessary questions. My daughter went from loving school to utterly hating it--and, worse, being constantly afraid of getting in trouble. Individual differences are not valued--at best they are tolerated. I expected kindergarten to be about developing a curious mind and exploring the structure of school; I was badly mistaken. This is not a school that values creativity in any way.
1 person found this helpful


Ps 58 The Carroll 3

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
Everything is not what it seems, unfortunately politics get in the way. In order to keep the grade you have to ween out the children that are not doing so well, that way the school gets the grade and that equals money. At the end of the day its all about the money....Many unethical practices with this school, how unfortunate.

Ps 58 The Carroll 5

Posted November 24, 2011
- a parent
The Dual Language Program is phenomenal. I can't believe how well my daughter writes in French, all while maintaining a high reading level in English. My Daughter LOVES going to school. She feels a strong bond with the school staff. The Principal has created a strong community within the school. Great after school choices! Parents are involved and feel welcomed. My youngest daughter also loves her patients and caring Pre-K teachers.

Ps 58 The Carroll 5

Posted February 25, 2011
- a parent
The Dual language program is awesome and my daughter can speak, read and write very well in both French and English. The school offers a lot of other programs such as music, arts, drama or chess. We couldn't be happier.


Ps 58 The Carroll 5

Posted November 04, 2010
- a parent
Because they want to educate the kids in the region and they make a difference.

Ps 58 The Carroll 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
It's a solid public school that honorably serves its neighborhood

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 58 The Carroll
330 Smith Street, Brooklyn, NY  11231
(718) 330-9322
Last modified Ps 58 The Carroll is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 58 The Carroll Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top