Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 65
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
I have three children and have been in different schools, but in this they feel different are more cheerful and always want to go, learn a lot, and feel like home.

Ps 65 5

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
My child left there very happy at the end of the year..The Saturday program is very helpful, it gives her that extra help.I feel she is very prepared for next year.


Ps 65 5

Posted July 07, 2016
- a community member
Mis hijos fueron estudiantes de ps65 y para mí fue una bendición! Le agradezco a los maestros que ponen todo su empeño para ayudar a los niños en su educación.., Ms.Garcia por todo el apoyo y dedicación en el desarrollo de los niños.. Siempre un ambiente muy limpio y seguro!

Ps 65
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
its all fake . everything is for show for the superintendent .its a terrible school with a terrible principal

Ps 65
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 16, 2016
- a community member
I would like to thank the teachers who have to tolerate this principal. KUDOs and open market is now listing vacancies.


Ps 65 4

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
My son has been in this school since kindergarten. He's in 1 st grade and has been great. The teachers are very nice and dedicated. Ms. Garcia looks very detail- oriented and from what I see she accomplished a lot in this school. It has been good so far.

Ps 65 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
My hijo ha estado en 2 escuelas diferentes, llegó ha esta escuela en el 2013 y ha sido una bendicion, en menos de un año el avance fue increíble lee y escribe en inglés con mucha fluidez, en matemáticas le va fenomenal, y el está feliz de pertenecer a esta escuela, algo que no pudo conseguir en las demás escuelas. Los profesores son excelentes, el staff y la seguridad muy amable, te hacen sentir como casa, la principal Ms. Garcia no tiene comparación una mujer con carácter, tierna, preparada, y siempre está disponible para recibirnos, es exepcional. Lo mejor que me le ha pasado a mi hijo fue encontrar esta escuela.

Ps 65
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
La principal tiene una visión y una disciplina que hace sentir que la escuela funciona como debe funcionar con los estandares


Ps 65 1

Posted October 21, 2014
- a community member
This Principal is a bully!! She bullies her staff. She tries to intimidate teachers and other staff members by using her power to get things accomplish. Shame on the DOE to allow such a principal to run a school!!! She frowns upon Special Ed. Shame Shame Shame!!!

Ps 65 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a teacher
I came to PS 65 as a teacher 12 years ago. In comparison to the other two schools I taught in, this was heaven! The children are courteous and thoughtful. There are few if any real discipline problems. Learning is rigorous and results are apparent. When I cam to PS65, we had the lowest scores in the district in reading and math.When Principal Garcia came, things started to turn around. Within 3 years, PS.65 became the top school in reading and math scores. It had been ranked well developed and given top grades by the Department of Education. Parents and Teachers appreciate the turnaround as evidenced by the A rating given the school by Staff and Parents in the yearly school report card. Yes, the administration had to weed out some ineffective teachers, but that has to be done in all work environments. Teaching grades were changed, teachers were given retraining and some improved and some left....Today PS65 is a model school. I am proud to be part of the staff!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 65
696 Jamaica Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11208
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (718) 235-2223
Last modified Ps 65 is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top