Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 455
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Ps 86 The Irvington 5

Posted March 03, 2015
- a community member
I GRADUATED PS 86 IN 1956. I CANT REMEMBER MY TEACHERS NAMES . I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO FIND OUT SO THAT I CAN FINISH NOTES ON MY LIFETIME REPORT FOR MY GRAND CHILDREN AND MY TWO CHILDREN.ANY HELP WILL BE APPRECIATED. GARY M.

Ps 86 The Irvington 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attended when Ms Verrone there . My grandson also went there ms. Sarduy principal had great teachers Ms Matos Mr Roche Ms Soto than went to 383 now in John Bowne. I would send my granddaughter there without hesitation. No school is perfect nor is any person . I attend a lot of education meeting and am happy with all schools my grandson attended . There were little incidents in all places and were handled correctly.


Ps 86 The Irvington 4

Posted October 28, 2012
- a community member
I attended PS 86, grades 1-6 and "graduated" in 1956. I now live in St. Louis MO. I had a fine education at PS 86. Glad to see the school is still going strong.

Ps 86 The Irvington 4

Posted December 04, 2010
- a community member
ps 86 is a great school i give it a a i graduated from this school great teachers great lessons

Ps 86 The Irvington 5

Posted July 19, 2007
- a community member
I am a former student of ps 86 k i love it there i go and visit all the time .The teachers there take very good care of the children of bushwick.My two brothers and i all graduated on or above grade level.i thank former principle Mr.burns also current princible Mrs Sarduay


Ps 86 The Irvington 3

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
one child graduated in 2006 shes doing great in 6th grade. my second child is in kindergarden i think the lesson plan is ban my daughter was great at spelling in head start but now with out any spelling test she forgot what she learned.am guessing the school is ok parents need to be more involved

Ps 86 The Irvington 3

Posted July 25, 2006
- a parent
My daughter just graduated from this school and now i have my second one going into kindergarden. Overall the school is ok. Also parents need to be more involved with their children activities!

Ps 86 The Irvington 4

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
good school, very small and overcrowded


Ps 86 The Irvington 4

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
Good school, small and overcrowded.

Ps 86 The Irvington 5

Posted February 04, 2004
- a parent
I have 2 children in this school currently. One in 5th Grade and one in 3rd Grade. I think teachers in this school are great and they care. The principal is very involved from my point of view. But I do feel that if not for the shortage of money this school could be even better. Parent involvement could be better. As such a small school I feel that sometimes it gets forgotten.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 86 The Irvington
220 Irving Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11237
(718) 574-0252
Last modified Ps 86 The Irvington is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 86 The Irvington Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top