Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 94 the Henry Longfellow

Public | PK-5 | 1328 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

My son has Adhd , ot issues, speech problems and he is getting all the help he needs in PS94 they have great techers and wonderful programs and paraprofessionals that work with him every day . he is thriving so much ! thank you PS94 you are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

PS 94 is a great school. I'm very happy and satisfy how much my kids have learned there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I like PS 94 but I think the principal should start considering the possibility of having the students wear uniforms for next year. I would love to see my kids in uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter will be in the 4th grade in Sept in this school and my son in the 1st grade. I think P.S 94 is a great school. I like their Duo Program. My daughter has learned to speak, read and write in Spanish good, I hope my son will do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

My son went into this school from a special ed. school and I think the IEP here is better the special ed. program is wonderful and they pay very good attention to all the students .My son has learn more in the 1 year in this school than he did in the 3 years he was in the other. They have caught his attention ad keep it I would tell any parent to send their child here!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Hello :) I stumbled upon this website, and could not help to share my experience, and opinion regarding P.S.94. I am a graduate of The Henry Longfellow School. Of course, it was in the 1970's, but....I had the best education in the world there. If I had all the money in the world, I would not have attended anywhere else! The foundation that I had at P.S94 was solid as a rock! It gave me the know how... to become anything I wanted in life. In addition, the teachers were wonderful, and gave us enthusiasm and motivation to learn!. I was in what was called...The IGC Classes. I graduated in 1977, and would have made it to the top if I hadn't gotten sick over the years. I'm so sorry to hear all the negative talk about P.S.94, cause with the leadership that was there for many years, it would have given any students the opportunity to make it to the stars!!! Thank you in particular Mrs Palamero, and Mr Hitter. I think about you guys all the time :) :) :) Ursula


Posted January 27, 2012

my son had mostly good teachers but I think the school needs a better principal. i sometimes heard the principal yelling on the loud speaker from the street. I live across the street from the school. it seems like she is very mean sometimes and the parents feel like she does not listen or care about what they think. My son's teacher left the school, she was very good. i wonder if is was becuase the principal was hard to work for. But i still think my son got a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

I have three children there and do not know who is the principal. I see one of the crossing guards yells at the Chinese only like if they were not humans. All my children complain that their teachers scream too much. Many parents say they don't feel welcome because some staff turn their heads or make believe they don't see you instead of saying hi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

my name is cynthia a.i h.she made suread a teacher named mrs guberman inthe 4th grade.i am 41 now,so thatmust have been around 1978 or 1979.she was a fantastic teacher.i was an extremly shy chishe made sure i understood each and everything she taught and every lesson she gave.i have excellent reading,writing,comprehension skills that i thank her for,i use those skills to teach my niece and nephew and others.she was a great teach and i wish i could tell her that or she could see this message.thaank you.


Posted November 24, 2010

I like the school because my daughter has learned to speak more Spanish with the duo Program. I am very happy with the quality of education that my daughter is receiving at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I think the Principal in this school needs to keep parents better informed. The Virtual Y afterschool program was cut and no notice was given in advance for working parents. There was also a change in dismissal for all the children attending this school and no memo/flyer was ever given out to let the parents know. I cannot explain what utter chaos and grief this caused the parents trying to search for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

PS 94 has a warm and caring environment. The staff is dedicated and the principal is a wonderful leader. I am very happy with the quality of education that my sons are receiving at 94. The PTA is awesome! They are dedicatedand have been able to fund alot of activities. The school has a wonderful enrichment program that should be expanded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Some teachers are responsive to parents but others were reluctant to respond to parents' questions regarding their children's school performance. One teacher was physically poking her finger repeatedly at my shoulder just because I asked about my child on the day of Teachers/Parents conference that all parents were supposed to ask teachers. Their PTA staff did a good job on fundraising and coordinating PTA meetings. However, there is not much communication with parents at the PTA meeting. We could hardly have our questions answered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

This school is one of the first to have a duo language curriculum offfering and the attendance rate is one of the highest. After carefull consideration I think my daughter will be attending this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

Teachers are caring and dedicated. Staff is wonderful. Some administrators are warm and have good people skills. Class sizes are too large.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 1, 2005

I have put four children through this school and I feel the school focuses on following the curriculum some much that they fail to see what the children are lacking when it comes to their writing and spelling skills. In comparison to my older children, the ones that are attending P.S 94, I see and feel that my fourth grader is lacking her vocabulary skills due to the format use to incourage wordstudy. Extracurricular activities are mainly during early morning hours. Parent involvement is a process that is taking time to build up due to the lack of knowledge and Education and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

164 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 51% 9%
Hispanic 45% 23%
White 3% 48%
Black 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 57%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 34%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 956 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents89376%
Teachers6368%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JANETTE CABAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5010 6th Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11220
Phone: (718) 435-6034

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Saint Agatha School
Brooklyn, NY



P.S. 1 the Bergen
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT