Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 95 The Gravesend
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
Art teacher is a good and fair teacher. She takes care of kids and helps them improve.

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
Based on my experience with the school , some students are being discriminated against. The teacher is not being honest with the parents either.


Ps 95 The Gravesend 1

Posted June 29, 2016
- a community member
Where do I begin? It's an awful school in all aspects. The facilities are terrible, the school is overcrowded, Pre_k and K grades are located outside of the main school building in the trailers with no security whatsoever. These kids have to walk to main building every day for lunch and other activities rain or shine, sometimes with jackets on or no jackets. Nobody cares. Kids hardly go outside irrespective of the weather outside, possibly have to do with the tiny playground they have which needs to be used by the entire overcrowded school. The staff is irresponsive, assistant principal doesn't call back even when promised by their secretaries that they would "definitely" call back on that particular day or the next day. Any attempts to meet with them in person go unsuccessful. The G&T K teacher is unqualified to teach Kindergarten, nevertheless G&T. Her expectation is that parents do all the work. Would highly recommend to stay away!

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
My children have been in this school for two years and are doing very well. They are reading, writing and doing math. I keep a close eye and make sure I am supporting them in any areas they may have trouble. The teachers are very attentive and helpful when I ask questions or when my child needs extra help.

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Homework is a review of what is taught and should not be more than 30/40 minutes. My children come home with appropriate homework and yes at times they need things explained again but a parents job is to be a partner with the teacher to insure my child is successful.


Ps 95 The Gravesend
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
They follow common core standards and everything they teach is living in the standards. Students are taught to reach the standard and as a parent I do my job and help my children reach that level of success.

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Students have expectations that they are to follow and respect is one of them. I also believe that respect starts at home. Schools can uphold the respect that we teach but as a parent your child needs to see you respecting others and authority and they will too!

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
Students are to adhere to expectations of respect and teamwork. They work together academically and in afterschool programs. Everyone is treated equally and given the same opportunities!


Ps 95 The Gravesend 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are caring individuals that have met both my children's needs! My children love this school and look forward going each day! They have wonderful family fun nights and set a warm and nurturing environment for children. Academically the children are challenged and are upheld to high standards. There is no place better to send your children.

Ps 95 The Gravesend
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
The staff are rude, inappropriate and dishonest! They do not consider the needs of the children! They are not helpful when it comes to meeting the diversity of the children and parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 95 The Gravesend
345 Van Sicklen Street, Brooklyn, NY  11223
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. (718) 449-5050
Last modified Ps 95 The Gravesend is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top