Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

I.S. 96 Seth Low

Public | 6-8 | 759 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Unfortunately the saying "one rotten apple, spoils the bunch" applies to Seth Low. I would say this is your typical public school. Not bad but not the best either. Students can do very well here as most teachers, staff and Principal are very good. However, many students have unacceptable behavior issues. These issues take over the class and even the most well adjusted, most well behaved students can become overwhelmed and confused. One has to wonder where what kind of parenting goes on in the home and what these students are exposed to. So yes Seth Low has its share of trouble makers. These behaviors should not be accepted or tolerated in any school. Instead of spending millions of dollars on Common Core, lets put the money in intervention programs!! Now Seth Low is facing a co location that will take away an entire floor, grouping more students together! Not a good idea!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

As other parents and students already said, bullying is rampant. Recent immigrants get a lot of abuse, and the teachers & administration often turn a blind eye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

In response to the parent that wrote "this school is very bad.......students cant wear coats or drink water in class". YES, there are rules in school that must be followed. As a parent it troubles me very much when other "parents" blame schools, like Seth Low, for their child's lack of respect for school and teachers and lack of their ability to function appropriately. Seth Low is a good school in a great diverse community. The teachers go out of their way to support students as does the administration. Its the PARENTS that need to step up their game and get more involved in their childs school and education. Its easier to point fingers and lay blame to the school than to look at your child. Seth Low scores an A which was well deserved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

this school is very bad when my child first went to that school is was OK but then it turned out to be horrible! The teachers were not that good the rules there are stupid like don't where your coat in class or don't drink water in class. The kids are miserable and they teachers don't teach good at all!! If you want your kid to be happy don't send him/her there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

People are right parents should be more involve but overall it isn't a bad school. Right now I am in the 7th grade and I love it actually instead of some of my classmates they get on my nerves a lot. There are barely any fights. I would suggest you not to start drama unless if you wanna start a riot or something. It's like an average school.


Posted November 18, 2013

My child attends sixth grade and from what we have experienced so far, Seth Low is a good school. I am not sure why this school has such a bad rap . It just rec'd an "A" grade up from a "C" while other schools in NYC went down due to the nys exams last year...this school went up. That clearly tells me that both teachers and students are working hard. My son is challenged in school and has plenty to do. FRom what he tells me, he has not seen any bullying or fights and feels safe and my son is a very sensitive kid. Now with any school with almost 800 students, there are bound to be issues. Its up to the parents to be involved with their child's education. One thing I can say is that parental involvement is the lowest I have seen in any school, which is a shame. How can you not be invovled in your child's school? It very baffling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

great school with best teachers and with best staff with all helpers this is what it makes to number 4


Posted August 6, 2013

the school enviroment is good, I have no problem so do my 7 th greater teacher and staff are great, but parents should get involve more , involve just like you did when they were is elementary shools, parents,students and teachers makes the schools better for the future of ours childrens, parents with confident to the student will also have the confidents.thsi school can do better than a 4 out of 10 so good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

im a student at Seth low and its good and bad.The teachers yell at you for no reason and one of the deans likes to curse to the students


Posted May 19, 2012

I'm currently attending this school and I think that this school is WONDERFUL! The teachers challenge kids with hard questions, but explain each and every step carefully, so that all the students understand it. The teachers never give up on their students, and do what they can to help them! I dont know why people say its bad, but its actually GREAT! Students receive grades that they deserve on the report card, and this schools challenges students in many ways. These challenges increases knowledge and can help you achieve many things in high school AND college.


Posted March 14, 2012

This school is horrible. Never send your child here. He/she will get bullied and will not like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

- This is a good school with responsive teachers and administrators. - Teachers are very supportive of students and provide feedback to parents. - The school has a lot of extracurricular activities. - Facilities are clean and taken care of. - This school is also relatively safe as compared to some other public schools.


Posted February 18, 2010

I am a student at Seth Low and all I have to say is that this school has it's ups and downs with the new princabul, Ms.Levinsky, but it is overall wonderful. You make friends easily and there are people of all sorts! But please, we need our cow back! xD
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

I am very unpleased with this school. The school is overcrowded and the students like to fight alot, its a mess. there are alot of bullying going on here. DONT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE.


Posted June 10, 2009

Hello! I am a Freshman at Seth low and I am very satified with this school. I am in one of the top classes whish is 6-1 and they give us a more vicious curiculum.This year was fun but Mr.Fein left and we got a new principal named Ms.Levinsky and she restricted most of our fun activities.Mr.Fein was on my principal for 3 months and then he left.The school is not much fun without him.I understand that we should focus on our school but sometimes we should be able to have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

I am a new teacher at Seth Low, and I am very, very, very impressed with the responsiveness of the guidance counselors and the deans when there is an issue-- or even a hint-- of disruption, violence, bullying or even in-class insubordination. Many administrations I've worked under (as a sub and full-time) would rather blame teachers for not knowing how to deal with students who are openly defiant and have obvious behavioral disorders or are 'at-risk' in the extreme, rather than supply the needed services and risk being perceived as a 'problem school', but schools like are just creating a self-fulfilling prophecy. Seth Low is refreshingly conservative in this respect; they quickly nip issues in the bud with what seems like an army of support, allowing teachers to actually teach! Who'd've thought that a middle school would have the safest and most orderly environment I've ever seen in the NYC DOE?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2009

Seth Low has a new principal now. Mrs.Levinsky. She is great, But when Mr.Fein was there it was more fun. I love my school and I wish the discipline was better. My mom works there and I feel safe not even because of that. You can open up to certain teachers and they will respond the same. I love math and English. I have Mr.Philip and Ms.Ashear who are wonderful. But the kids want their fun back. We had one party each month and we still want that. I knew the circumstances of why things jad to be taken away because of budget issues but this is a school. It has kids and I think we should all speak our mind and be a little more invilved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

My daughter tells me she doesnt like this school. She doesnt like the bullys there. All they do is talk to the bullys but the bullys still do bad things. My daughter is very unhappy about it,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

this is the best school i ever went to it's really nice i have alot of friends there and i learn alot, too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2008

Its a greatt skool i loved it ms brandon is the besttt
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 28% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 34% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2011.

336 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 33% 9%
Hispanic 30% 23%
White 24% 48%
Black 13% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 7%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 4%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1302 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents53680%
Students71798%
Teachers4984%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. DENISE SANDRA LEVINSKY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

99 Ave P
Brooklyn, NY 11204
Phone: (718) 236-1344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yeshivah Ohel Moshe
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT