Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
seems like the best school in the area, hard to say anything negative, most teachers are good

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 3

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
Unbelievable! To call Russian parents obnoxious. I will report it as a harassment . If u r Russian , you are a shame to the community . If not, then you need to apologize and turn to your own community and examine what is wrong with you Good luck with your miserable attitude


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My child is at this school in K. It is a fight every morning to get her to go to school, I do not know what is going on when I ask her teacher if someone is bothering she tells me no. I feel this school puts a lot of pressure on kids for no reason!

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son attended this school for 2 years, the school as a whole is average. But some individual teachers are very good. The special needs department is pretty amazing! I will say, when Hurricane Sandy hit, the school was affected and they gave out backpacks with supplies to all of the children. That was very thoughtful and showed the schools heart!

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 2

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
I agree with other posts, that biggest problem to the school is its principal Ms Maloney and to lesser extend her right hand Ms. Palicci. Their authoritarian style and vindictive personalities make kids and teachers afraid to say something that might provoke Maloney"s anger. There is a rumor that complaining about her to authorities will not help as she has a supporter (relative or friend) i=very high in administration. A lot of parents chose to move to suburbs only because of the atmosphere in the school. Its funny to see 5 or 6 comments on this board posted on the same day by Maloney and her buddies. School got C rating on school report. Just wondering if DOE sees this messages. My kid will be out of school next year, thanks god.


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 2

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Administration petrifies their students. Extremely hierarchical structure. The principal has her favorites, all others are mistreated. Some very bad teachers. Not healthy social and emotional environment.

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
Just like with any school, if the teacher is decent, your child will be more or less happy with the school. Unfortunately, teachers are allowed to raise their voice (more like scream) at kids and there is nothing you can do about it. Many parents have tried reaching out to the school officials without any success. You child can literally hate school after PS100. It is not the same school environment as years ago. The current principal, Ms. Moloney, is extremely rude and will not address any of your concerns unless ofcourse you bring expensive gifts. Even that might not help. If you have issues, save yourself a trip as you will leave the school aggravated with nothing resolved. Just like someone already mentioned, arrival and dismissal times are extremely unorganized and quite honestly, pretty unsafe. Anyone can just walk right up to the school entrance doors where the kids enter the school, causing a lot chaos. The security is non-existant. Some people walk right into the school without the security asking to sign in. I honestly do not understand how this school got an 8/10 ratings. should be a 5 max.

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted June 17, 2012
- a parent
Do not attempt. Poor education, no hands on learning. the principal is horrible. Mediocre teachers. Poor socio-emotional environment. Parental voice is not considered.


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
I am about to send my youngest to this school. My older son is going to enter 2nd grade. I have to say, I am very impressed about the quality of education here, and the environment of the school. My son is learning so much! Even though the school does not have a g&t program, I feel the quality of instruction is comparable to a gifted program. The only drawback to this school was lack of recess--but that is getting corrected next year as they are building a new playground.

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
There are numerous problem areas in this school, the main one being the principal-Mrs. Maloney. She is rude, unapproachable and condescending. She influences her staff in a negative way and does not help parents resolve any issues that occur between students and their peers, or students and their teachers. Mrs. Maloney has a negative impact on students' grades, as she coerces teachers to lower the grades of students due to lateness or absence, even though the student has straight A's across the board. The teachers my child had thus far have not provided a strong academic foundation what-so-ever. They do not challenge our children and do not support and are not involved with the parent to help the child educationally in any way. The school's overall environment is not a positive one. My daughter has not had a happy moment since she stepped into the school. All 3 teachers have yelled at her and provide no support, nor do they explain thoroughly what is required with an absence of mentoring. Homework assignments are posted late or at the end of the day. I would strongly recommend parents thinking long and hard before considering P.S. 100-Coney Island. Shame on Maloney and staff.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 100 The Coney Island School
2951 West 3rd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11224
(718) 266-9477
Last modified Ps 100 The Coney Island School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 100 The Coney Island School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top