Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 724
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted July 07, 2015
- a community member
My cousins here are bullied, the teachers here bully students autistic or not. When my aunt went to complain, the teachers, principal, and the super attendant would not listen to her so she went to the Board of Education which worked but it's still miserable for some students

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 3

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This school is very unorganized, has huge class sizes and no functioning PTA. They have good test scores only because of the parents doing all the heavy lifting..


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
seems like the best school in the area, hard to say anything negative, most teachers are good

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 3

Posted February 25, 2014
- a community member
Unbelievable! To call Russian parents obnoxious. I will report it as a harassment . If u r Russian , you are a shame to the community . If not, then you need to apologize and turn to your own community and examine what is wrong with you Good luck with your miserable attitude

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My child is at this school in K. It is a fight every morning to get her to go to school, I do not know what is going on when I ask her teacher if someone is bothering she tells me no. I feel this school puts a lot of pressure on kids for no reason!
3 people found this helpful


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son attended this school for 2 years, the school as a whole is average. But some individual teachers are very good. The special needs department is pretty amazing! I will say, when Hurricane Sandy hit, the school was affected and they gave out backpacks with supplies to all of the children. That was very thoughtful and showed the schools heart!

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 2

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
I agree with other posts, that biggest problem to the school is its principal Ms Maloney and to lesser extend her right hand Ms. Palicci. Their authoritarian style and vindictive personalities make kids and teachers afraid to say something that might provoke Maloney"s anger. There is a rumor that complaining about her to authorities will not help as she has a supporter (relative or friend) i=very high in administration. A lot of parents chose to move to suburbs only because of the atmosphere in the school. Its funny to see 5 or 6 comments on this board posted on the same day by Maloney and her buddies. School got C rating on school report. Just wondering if DOE sees this messages. My kid will be out of school next year, thanks god.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 2

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
Administration petrifies their students. Extremely hierarchical structure. The principal has her favorites, all others are mistreated. Some very bad teachers. Not healthy social and emotional environment.
1 person found this helpful


Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted September 19, 2012
- a parent
Just like with any school, if the teacher is decent, your child will be more or less happy with the school. Unfortunately, teachers are allowed to raise their voice (more like scream) at kids and there is nothing you can do about it. Many parents have tried reaching out to the school officials without any success. You child can literally hate school after PS100. It is not the same school environment as years ago. The current principal, Ms. Moloney, is extremely rude and will not address any of your concerns unless ofcourse you bring expensive gifts. Even that might not help. If you have issues, save yourself a trip as you will leave the school aggravated with nothing resolved. Just like someone already mentioned, arrival and dismissal times are extremely unorganized and quite honestly, pretty unsafe. Anyone can just walk right up to the school entrance doors where the kids enter the school, causing a lot chaos. The security is non-existant. Some people walk right into the school without the security asking to sign in. I honestly do not understand how this school got an 8/10 ratings. should be a 5 max.

Ps 100 The Coney Island School 1

Posted June 17, 2012
- a parent
Do not attempt. Poor education, no hands on learning. the principal is horrible. Mediocre teachers. Poor socio-emotional environment. Parental voice is not considered.
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 100 The Coney Island School
2951 West 3rd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11224
(718) 266-9477
Last modified Ps 100 The Coney Island School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 100 The Coney Island School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top